follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Jacks Transmissions
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2013, 11:35 AM   #15
Illusive
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2005 Subaru STi
Location: Sealy, TX
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 73 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sierra View Post
It's a massive difference between your results and the results that Nameless posted here with a peak 12hp gain and that's with the original overpipe. Your test apparently had a different axleback, not the Nameless one but they claimed most of the gains from the downpipe with the HF cat.
Is that difference then due to incorrect dyno operation, meaning that the actual gains are negligible?
http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10011
I can not say for certain. The exhaust combo the customer had did produce a 10-11 hp gain at 7500 rpm over our stock tuned frs.

We have no access to the test procedures the parts companies, nameless and or SRT used for their testing.

We are only trying to provide our test data and want the consumers to draw their own conclusions.

We would be happy to perform unbiased 3rd party testing on a full nameless exhaust free of charge if they would be willing to send us one for testing, as we mentioned in the footnotes on the original post.
Illusive is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Illusive For This Useful Post:
sierra (01-28-2013)
Old 01-28-2013, 11:43 AM   #16
Illusive
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2005 Subaru STi
Location: Sealy, TX
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 73 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkAsphalt View Post
I guess intake and exhaust are really just there for sound and look

Sigh.

At least my car looks better than stock now and sounds better....
We may have another customer lined up for a custom tune with an intake in the next few weeks.

I am looking forward to seeing for my self what gains can be expected with an aftermarket intake.
Illusive is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Illusive For This Useful Post:
SkAsphalt (01-28-2013)
Old 01-28-2013, 12:29 PM   #17
Craig
Senior Member
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Asphalt FRS
Location: Central New Jersey
Posts: 341
Thanks: 242
Thanked 189 Times in 66 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks a lot for this post, it can be hard to accept the gains some companies post on here and it's great to see a shop step up as the unbiased onlooker.

Kudos to you! Only wish you were closer!!
Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:05 PM   #18
FR-S Matt
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S MT
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 3,943
Thanks: 679
Thanked 1,759 Times in 1,109 Posts
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Yeah, getting unbiased advice is pretty difficult. I'm glad something like this came along. I can't wait to get my car dyno'd and tuned now.
FR-S Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:10 PM   #19
Boosted2.0
Senior Member
 
Boosted2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 13 FR-S, 00 Spyder&Celica, 08 Tundr
Location: Sealy, Texas
Posts: 362
Thanks: 2
Thanked 173 Times in 78 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad_sb View Post
Quick question with the "Tuned FRS with a nameless catted overpipe, midpipe with resonator, and SRT axle back" did you do a retune from "scratch" with this car or was this a tuned car that latter added the exhaust parts?
Yes - All of our tunes are scratch tunes. We do have some tools Jason developed when we tuned our stock FRS to make tuning a new vehicle more efficient, but we still explore the full range of VVTi function on every car that hits our dyno. That is why we always ask for the vehicle to stay for days, not hours.
Boosted2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Boosted2.0 For This Useful Post:
mad_sb (01-28-2013)
Old 01-28-2013, 10:40 PM   #20
mad_sb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: 2013 Asphalt FR-S
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,642
Thanks: 632
Thanked 977 Times in 537 Posts
Mentioned: 100 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boosted2.0 View Post
Yes - All of our tunes are scratch tunes. We do have some tools Jason developed when we tuned our stock FRS to make tuning a new vehicle more efficient, but we still explore the full range of VVTi function on every car that hits our dyno. That is why we always ask for the vehicle to stay for days, not hours.
Right on. I totally understand starting from one of your custom base maps, I used to do that all the time on the dyno, saves you and the customer time without hurting the final product in the least since you optimize each tune for that particular vehicle on the dyno.
__________________
mad_sb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:12 AM   #21
Captain Insano
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: 2014 Jeep Wrangler RubiconX
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 110
Thanked 292 Times in 224 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Great thread and info OP! I look forward to seeing more unbiased test results.

Last edited by Captain Insano; 01-29-2013 at 08:53 AM.
Captain Insano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:08 AM   #22
Someguyk
Member
 
Someguyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Alaska
Posts: 38
Thanks: 20
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Great Info! Well compiled!
__________________
2013 AT FRS...Stock... for now...
Someguyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:05 PM   #23
Obja
Senior Member
 
Obja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Raven FRS/c5 Corvette
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 399
Thanks: 213
Thanked 139 Times in 67 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
So all i have to do is unplug my battery for 5 minutes, then let my car idle for 1 minute...?
Obja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:26 PM   #24
FR-S Matt
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S MT
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 3,943
Thanks: 679
Thanked 1,759 Times in 1,109 Posts
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I had my battery unplugged for hours, and I let my car idle for 15 minutes.... probably overkill.
FR-S Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:30 PM   #25
Illusive
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2005 Subaru STi
Location: Sealy, TX
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 73 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obja View Post
So all i have to do is unplug my battery for 5 minutes, then let my car idle for 1 minute...?
To reset your ECU yes, that is what we recommend.
Illusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:31 AM   #26
Anorexic 86
Trim the Fat & add Boost
 
Anorexic 86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: sometimes I fly
Location: Earth
Posts: 180
Thanks: 48
Thanked 125 Times in 58 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
This thread should be a sticky!

Anorexic 86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:13 AM   #27
pdreams
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: Asia
Posts: 63
Thanks: 11
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I notice on my logs that the throttle position is always at 80% even though the pedal is already all the way to the floor.

Is that normal for ECUTEK logging?

Cheers
pdreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 04:31 PM   #28
Boosted2.0
Senior Member
 
Boosted2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 13 FR-S, 00 Spyder&Celica, 08 Tundr
Location: Sealy, Texas
Posts: 362
Thanks: 2
Thanked 173 Times in 78 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdreams View Post
I notice on my logs that the throttle position is always at 80% even though the pedal is already all the way to the floor.

Is that normal for ECUTEK logging?

Cheers
Thats normal for stock ECU and stock scan tool as well. There are two Throttle Position sensors and Two Accelerator Pedal Position sensors, and they are intentionally offset from eachother. The lower of the two will never show 100%. The offset exists so the ECU can diagnose an internal short in the sensor if one occurs.
Boosted2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compilation of Dyno results somewhere??? Scooby South Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 3 01-08-2013 07:51 PM
TRD cat back, any dyno results MTCRX Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 4 11-26-2012 07:26 PM
Pocket Dyno App Results CBR600RR Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 14 09-12-2012 10:45 PM
AT/MT Dyno Results with/without Mods blackfireball5 Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 0 07-04-2012 02:34 PM
My Fr-s Dyno Results!! Surprising if you ask me track_warrior Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 36 07-02-2012 10:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.