follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2019, 04:16 PM   #1
imhereforthecar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Drives: FRS
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Wheel Speed Sensor A P0500

Got this error code. Does anyone know the location of speed sensor 'A?'
imhereforthecar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 03:22 AM   #2
theadmiral976
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Drives: WRB Subaru BRZ Limited 6MT
Location: United States
Posts: 141
Thanks: 17
Thanked 68 Times in 42 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by imhereforthecar View Post
Got this error code. Does anyone know the location of speed sensor 'A?'
IIRC, P0500 is a generic ECM code for a circuit fault within the entire wheel speed sensor system. It is set by the ECM when another module has detected a fault in the vehicle stability and speed sensors network (e.g. ABS, TCM if you have an AT car, etc.). This car has around 14 modules that each set their own codes; if your scanner doesn't read them all, you'll need to find a bi-directional scanner that does.

Once you scan the ABS module, it should point you to the specific sensor and circuit component(s) that aren't reading properly. If the ECM is reporting "A" correctly from the ABS module, I would imagine it is referring to "circuit A," not a particular sensor; however, I don't know for sure.

Last edited by theadmiral976; 09-22-2019 at 03:37 AM.
theadmiral976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 10:09 AM   #3
RZNT4R
Professional Mechanic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Drives: 2017 86 6MT Oceanic
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 285
Thanks: 8
Thanked 180 Times in 112 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
"Speed sensor A" exists only as a numerical value in memory.

It's the speed of the vehicle, derived from all 4 wheel speed sensors as seen by the Stability Control ECU, cleaned up, put in a neat little package and sent over the network to the Engine Control Module.

Admiral is on point, you need a scan tool that can go read DTC and live data from the stability control to know what's actually wrong.
RZNT4R is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wheel Speed Sensor Tire size drama Celigts Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack 0 06-03-2019 02:08 PM
CEL P0500 Vehicle Speed Sensor Malfunction travisb Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 26 03-15-2018 08:42 PM
P0500, speed sensor issue, weird case. darkbluemn Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 5 01-14-2018 01:31 PM
So i broke my wheel speed sensor bkblitzed Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack 9 11-18-2016 05:04 PM
P0500 after wheel stud install theman233 Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 3 05-21-2016 09:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.