follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook. Interested in the FT-1? Check out FT1Club
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB

Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB Problems, issues, recalls, TSBs


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2014, 10:24 AM   #43
zc06_kisstherain
Got Tofu?
 
zc06_kisstherain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: SWP BRZ
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,796
Thanks: 644
Thanked 583 Times in 453 Posts
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to zc06_kisstherain
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjohnx View Post
If its already loose you may be too late for that to work.
??? it works fine. i never said mine isnt working.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Cor10:23 View Post
Don't just extend, get a splitter as well

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
yeah i should get splitter
__________________
13 Subaru SWP BRZ Premium - 1/17/13
97 Mazda Miata M Edition - SOLD 7/23/12
05 NBP RSX-S - SOLD 10/9/10
Visit my blog for DC5
zc06_kisstherain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 10:34 AM   #44
xjohnx
Grip>Slip
 
xjohnx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 13 SWP BRZ Ltd - Innovate Powered!
Location: RVA
Posts: 3,520
Thanks: 655
Thanked 1,677 Times in 1,015 Posts
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zc06_kisstherain View Post
??? it works fine. i never said mine isnt working.
Oops sorry about that, I confused you with someone else.

For those of you that don't have issues yet, definitely grab an extension cable or splitter now in order to keep those pins safe in the future. Re-pinning the connector was less than fun...which reminds me, what kind of jerk puts two black wires with yellow stripes in the same harness, on the same row, separated by only 1 pin? Keep track of which one goes where if you do have to re-pin it. I wrapped the outermost black/yellow wire with a small piece of electrical tape so i could more easily identify one from the other.
xjohnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 03:29 AM   #45
DC2R
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: 2014 Scion FR-S
Location: United States
Posts: 1,011
Thanks: 692
Thanked 158 Times in 131 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjohnx View Post
Oops sorry about that, I confused you with someone else.

For those of you that don't have issues yet, definitely grab an extension cable or splitter now in order to keep those pins safe in the future. Re-pinning the connector was less than fun...which reminds me, what kind of jerk puts two black wires with yellow stripes in the same harness, on the same row, separated by only 1 pin? Keep track of which one goes where if you do have to re-pin it. I wrapped the outermost black/yellow wire with a small piece of electrical tape so i could more easily identify one from the other.
Jesus. Mine is currently not working(sorry for cross post). Flashing with OFT works but no dongles work. Come to think of it I believe it may have stopped working properly when I installed my OBD2 extension. I have since returned it. Anyone got a pic of a damaged plug? Cab we just bend the pins? Here's mine: https://www.dropbox.com/sc/yunstdfah...cF3j675b4FBcha

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
DC2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 02:20 PM   #46
FT-86 SpeedFactory
 
FT-86 SpeedFactory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 7,696
Thanks: 1,298
Thanked 3,524 Times in 1,246 Posts
Mentioned: 335 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
I know this is over a month old. Not sure resolved your issue DC2R, but your image isn't there anymore.

After receiving my personal FR-S back form the dealer, I was concerned about the OBD port as well. Just about to order parts to repin it, and couldn't think of a reason why the OBD fuse might have been blown but..... it was.

It's such a duh thing but:

1) check OBD fuse
2) play around with port

At least I ordered a right angle extension and will be able to leave that in now.

-Chris @ FT
FT-86 SpeedFactory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 05:17 PM   #47
DC2R
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: 2014 Scion FR-S
Location: United States
Posts: 1,011
Thanks: 692
Thanked 158 Times in 131 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT-86 SpeedFactory View Post
I know this is over a month old. Not sure resolved your issue DC2R, but your image isn't there anymore.

After receiving my personal FR-S back form the dealer, I was concerned about the OBD port as well. Just about to order parts to repin it, and couldn't think of a reason why the OBD fuse might have been blown but..... it was.

It's such a duh thing but:

1) check OBD fuse
2) play around with port

At least I ordered a right angle extension and will be able to leave that in now.

-Chris @ FT
Thanks for the reply yes I did fix it. I put a splitter in the board and bent the pins in adapter on the other side of the splitter. Can't get my USB one to work though.....

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
DC2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 05:40 PM   #48
post_break
Professional Smartass
 
post_break's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: White Out FRS
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,126
Thanks: 114
Thanked 606 Times in 308 Posts
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Mine stopped working mid flash once. Bend the pins on your plug *in*. In this pic, bend the top row down, then the bottom row up. Fixed the issue on both of the ecutek cables I had. Only bend them 1-2mm.

post_break is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to post_break For This Useful Post:
TofuJoe (11-23-2016)
Old 08-07-2014, 06:51 PM   #49
Dipstik-sportech
Senior Member
 
Dipstik-sportech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ satin white pearl sportech
Location: Thunder Bay Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,806
Thanks: 842
Thanked 899 Times in 572 Posts
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
K so old thread but, is there any updated or different less flimsy pins you can swap to that will stop this problem?
__________________
2013 SWP BRZ sportech. 11.11sec@129.01mph, 498whp on e68. FullBlown base kit, FullBlown built 9.5:1 engine, PTE5858 turbo, 1000cc Bosch injectors, FullBlown flex fuel kit, FullBlown radiator and oil cooler, FullBlown custom 3" dual exit exhaust, fx400+ clutch, whiteline diff and subframe inserts, h&r super sports, hotchkiss 18mm rear sway, is300 3.73 differential ... Never finished
Dipstik-sportech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 07:01 PM   #50
DC2R
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: 2014 Scion FR-S
Location: United States
Posts: 1,011
Thanks: 692
Thanked 158 Times in 131 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dipstik-sportech View Post
K so old thread but, is there any updated or different less flimsy pins you can swap to that will stop this problem?
My answer is buy an OBD2 extension or y cable and leave it connected. Then just play with the other end. Less risk of breaking factory port. Most of these cheap OBD2 devices have crap pins. I compare to my OFT as the gold standard

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk
DC2R is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DC2R For This Useful Post:
Astroboy (05-30-2016)
Old 12-03-2014, 06:08 PM   #51
Sleepless
Senior Member
 
Sleepless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: 2014 BRZ
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 537
Thanks: 255
Thanked 310 Times in 182 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by post_break View Post
Mine stopped working mid flash once. Bend the pins on your plug *in*. In this pic, bend the top row down, then the bottom row up. Fixed the issue on both of the ecutek cables I had. Only bend them 1-2mm.
This worked for me on two cables. However, I bent them 1mm or less; otherwise I was not able to plug in the cable. Tight tolerances in the connector.
__________________
Pete
14 BRZ | 17 Focus RS | 17 Mustang GT PP | 14 Palatov D2 | 97 Porsche Turbo | 85 Porsche 944 w/LS2
Sleepless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 08:29 PM   #52
dave-
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Drives: 86 GT
Location: Australia
Posts: 88
Thanks: 42
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thread revival!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dezoris View Post
If you run an OBD2 BT adapter like OBD2MX the male pins are very thick and the factory OBD2 female pins will get damaged after only 10 or so connections. Always use an extension cable for these.
Was switching between a scanguage for daily use and tactrix whenever I had to flash, no issues for 12mths. Used an ODBLink MX a dozen times and since had 2 writes fail mid flash, luckily they worked on second attempt. Not to say the MX is the only culprit, the ports really aren't designed for repeat use but interesting that you mention it.

Might try bending the pins a bit next time but probably time to replace the pins and leave an extension cable connected instead.
dave- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2016, 10:27 PM   #53
TofuJoe
Ohne Titel
 
Join Date: May 2015
Drives: 2017 BRZ PP ISM
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 367
Thanks: 572
Thanked 160 Times in 102 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Bringing this thread back from the dead.

I've been using a Veepeak OBD2 Wi-Fi reader with DashCommand on the iPhone. Has worked perfectly, and was only $16. http://amzn.to/2heIwkI

I've also flashed my car with an OFT, and used it for logging a couple of times. Flashed back to stock last weekend, no problems.

Today, my mechanic flashed a Delicious ECUtek tune and that worked fine. When he went to log the tune, the connection to the OBD kept crapping out. We tried 2 different cables, same results. We had to keep jiggling it to keep the connection. He used one of the cables to flash a different FR-S after mine, and it was fine.

So it seems like my OBD2 pins are slightly bent, and are being finicky.

I bought a low profile OBDII extension cable for 10 bucks: http://amzn.to/2ghLoM0
Plugged it in, and now both my ECUtek cable and OBD2 Wi-Fi adapter work fine. Problem solved.

I just leave the cable plugged in, and tuck it up under the panel with the supplied velcro. A small part of the cable is visible where it comes out of the port, but it's not in the way at all. Happy with the solution.

Last edited by TofuJoe; 12-06-2016 at 06:07 PM. Reason: Solved the issue
TofuJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 12:06 AM   #54
ysu
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Drives: Toyota 86 GTS Auto
Location: Australia, Central Coast
Posts: 85
Thanks: 96
Thanked 32 Times in 23 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FT-86 SpeedFactory View Post
I know this is over a month old. Not sure resolved your issue DC2R, but your image isn't there anymore.

After receiving my personal FR-S back form the dealer, I was concerned about the OBD port as well. Just about to order parts to repin it, and couldn't think of a reason why the OBD fuse might have been blown but..... it was.

It's such a duh thing but:

1) check OBD fuse
2) play around with port

At least I ordered a right angle extension and will be able to leave that in now.

-Chris @ FT
Which one is the OBD Fuse if I may ask?
My port has stopped functioning for multiple devices, so I suspect it's not just a connector issue.

Edit: nevermind, found it. I was looking in the main fuse box of course, under the bonnet.
For later reference, it's under the steering wheel on the side, and it's clearly labeled "obd".

And yes, it was blown, which is extremely hard to tell it seems. Only after replacing it I could be sure.
__________________
Toyota 86 GTS A/T, ACE 250/B header + OP, Apexi air filter, Whiteline camber bolts

Last edited by ysu; 02-23-2017 at 01:17 AM.
ysu is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reading OBDII and CANBUS over OBDII-Bluetooth adapter? wparsons Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 8 06-12-2013 07:17 PM
DIY: OBDII plug relocation solma DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides 6 05-30-2013 12:11 AM
OBDII Connector nzer AUSTRALIA 64 05-09-2013 02:44 PM
OBDII (OBD2) Connector nzer Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 35 04-21-2013 12:36 AM
OBDII iPhone app/adapter phanguy Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 2 03-12-2013 12:34 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.