follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting

Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting What these cars were built for!

User Tag List

Old 10-30-2017, 10:14 AM   #1
AndyBRZ

Drives: 2014 Silver BRZ Track Car
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Track Chronicle of my 2014 BRZ

I took the day off Today and I wanted to share some of the lessons learned with my 2014 BRZ after 3 years and 25,000 miles of hard track life in the Midwest, mainly. I am a solid and experienced driver and instructor for more than 25 years and I am also a mechanical and electrical engineer with hands on experience in cars for about the same amount of time.
I will go through improvements in what I consider more to less importance order and then I will end with a list for Maintenance and Important Check ups in your track BRZ/FRS.
Improvements:
1) The car needs more brakes. Not necessarily for stopping power but for long term reliability. The factory brakes with a good rotor (DBA 4000) stop really good but the seals will disintegrate and the XP8 pads will wear fast. Since I have my AP Racing Kit consumables are close to nothing and the car's braking is so reliable and consistent. A good fluid like Castrol SRF works wonders too.
2) The car needs more tires. Read about it and you will find a lot on this subject.
3) The brake booster unit needs to be braced. The firewall is too thin and you will flex it. Cheap and awesome mod.
4) If you track this car, you need an oil cooler. No discussions on this one.