follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB

Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB Problems, issues, recalls, TSBs


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2019, 09:32 PM   #15
Ultramaroon
fun police
 
Ultramaroon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: a 13 e8h frs
Location: vantucky, wa
Posts: 23,477
Thanks: 34,452
Thanked 22,813 Times in 12,631 Posts
Mentioned: 858 Post(s)
Tagged: 9 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by localhost View Post
Yeah, definitely going back to the stock header is a good test - just a real pain haha. And yes, I do have the Ecutek cable and software.

I've emailed my local tuner to see if they can fit me in since I'm fairly certain it just needs to be custom tuned to compensate for the header but I'm not sure if they even do any tuning in the winter.
You can log with that stuff, right? Take a minute or so of cruising when it's all warmed up. Sample all the channels you can and post it up on datazap.me


https://datazap.me/u/ultramaroon/log...?log=0&data=38
__________________
Ultramaroon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 09:35 PM   #16
localhost
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: Edelbrock SC 2015 FR-S 6MT
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultramaroon View Post
You can log with that stuff, right? Take a minute or so of cruising when it's all warmed up. Sample all the channels you can and post it up on datazap.me


https://datazap.me/u/ultramaroon/log...?log=0&data=38
Yep it can log but I don't have a laptop that can run the Ecutek software without being plugged in. But I also have my OFT from when I was still NA, so I'll probably just use that.
localhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 10:05 PM   #17
localhost
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: Edelbrock SC 2015 FR-S 6MT
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Datalog: https://datazap.me/u/rb28dett/nov-17-cruise

Short cruise after everything had warmed up. Very little throttle throughout, with one instance up to 4k RPM with light throttle as well.
localhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 11:31 PM   #18
Decep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Drives: 2013 FR-S Series 10
Location: CA
Posts: 549
Thanks: 34
Thanked 210 Times in 146 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
The edelbrock tune is not for catless headers.
__________________
2013 FR-S 10 Series ~50k
RCE SS-1 Coilovers
Corsa Catback
Edelbrock Supercharger
Decep is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 12:09 AM   #19
Ultramaroon
fun police
 
Ultramaroon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: a 13 e8h frs
Location: vantucky, wa
Posts: 23,477
Thanks: 34,452
Thanked 22,813 Times in 12,631 Posts
Mentioned: 858 Post(s)
Tagged: 9 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by localhost View Post
Datalog: https://datazap.me/u/rb28dett/nov-17-cruise

Short cruise after everything had warmed up. Very little throttle throughout, with one instance up to 4k RPM with light throttle as well.
Certainly shows something out of balance. I'm still an amateur at this but lots of experienced people will see it.
__________________
Ultramaroon is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ultramaroon For This Useful Post:
localhost (11-18-2019)
Old 11-18-2019, 12:59 AM   #20
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 415
Thanks: 23
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Its running very lean you will not smell gas, you will smell pistons burning.

Example: commanded afr 13.8 actual afr 16.33 Your fuel trims are way off in places. Maxed out adding fuel. Example: 3158rpm .8 lbs stft 33.2

Probably should stay off the skinny pedal in till you get it sorted out.

I would look for air leaks between maf and supercharger. Check wires and extension to maf. I had a similar problem when I had a broken maf wire. From the sale pictures of the supercharger the maf wire is laying on the pulley.

If leak was after supercharger you would be killing bugs with gas fumes.

Last edited by solidsnake11; 11-18-2019 at 01:28 AM.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to solidsnake11 For This Useful Post:
kev0 (11-18-2019), localhost (11-18-2019), Ultramaroon (11-18-2019)
Old 11-18-2019, 10:32 AM   #21
toast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 14 BSP Edelbrock BRZ
Location: Lon Gisland
Posts: 643
Thanks: 105
Thanked 349 Times in 199 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
An engine is basically an air pump. Your air pump can now flow about 20% more air because the outlet is less clogged. You can't run the tune designed for 20% less air.

It is difficult to drive because the throttle tables in the Edelbrock tune are left like they are in stock form - a small pedal input results in a large change in throttlebody opening. In stock form this is done so the car doesn't feel like a slug. When you have forced induction available this makes it very tough to keep the engine in vacuum.

Swap the headers or get a real tune ASAP.
toast is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to toast For This Useful Post:
Lantanafrs2 (11-18-2019), localhost (11-18-2019), Ultramaroon (11-18-2019)
Old 11-19-2019, 08:08 AM   #22
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 415
Thanks: 23
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by toast View Post
An engine is basically an air pump. Your air pump can now flow about 20% more air because the outlet is less clogged. You can't run the tune designed for 20% less air.

It is difficult to drive because the throttle tables in the Edelbrock tune are left like they are in stock form - a small pedal input results in a large change in throttlebody opening. In stock form this is done so the car doesn't feel like a slug. When you have forced induction available this makes it very tough to keep the engine in vacuum.

Swap the headers or get a real tune ASAP.
The maf doesn't see extra air entering the engine?
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 11:30 AM   #23
toast
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 14 BSP Edelbrock BRZ
Location: Lon Gisland
Posts: 643
Thanks: 105
Thanked 349 Times in 199 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Headers change the VE. The calculation for load uses VE in the divisor, so for a given measured airflow the ECU will undervalue the engine load and will not add the appropriate amount of fuel until the AFR shows lean and then it will attempt to correct it up to the maximum fuel trim allowed.

I've never seen fuel trims over 27%, I didn't know they could go as high as his log is reporting. I guess that is also determined in the tune.
toast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 11:15 PM   #24
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 415
Thanks: 23
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
What tune changes the ve values? But maybe these maps are not labeled correctly. They don't look like normal ve tables but maybe its because its drive by wire. With further research it seems ve tables are used with map sensor on speed density systems and limp mode. Maf systems rely on air flow and air tempature.
Here is 4 all the same.
Name:  Untitled.png
Views: 105
Size:  676.3 KB
2 more
Name:  Untitled2.png
Views: 102
Size:  477.4 KB

Last edited by solidsnake11; 11-21-2019 at 09:45 AM.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 12:05 AM   #25
thinkV
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Drives: BRZ Turbo
Location: Australia
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by localhost View Post
I double checked the bracket and it was tight. No movement at all. The connectors on the back were all also completely seated and locked in place.

Connectors: https://i.imgur.com/VRWgCsM.jpg

Bracket: https://i.imgur.com/FmrgCLO.jpg

Just FYI there's another hidden bolt on the left of that backet quite far down that goes straight into the block, that one in particular is the grounding bolt, so check that one too.
thinkV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 12:10 AM   #26
localhost
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: Edelbrock SC 2015 FR-S 6MT
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinkV View Post
Just FYI there's another hidden bolt on the left of that backet quite far down that goes straight into the block, that one in particular is the grounding bolt, so check that one too.
Yep, all 3 bolts are nice and tight.

Reading through these comments I'm fairly certain my catless header with a tune that isn't expecting one is the root cause of these issues. I'm going to swap back to the OEM ones this weekend and see if it gets better.
localhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 12:29 AM   #27
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 415
Thanks: 23
Thanked 256 Times in 139 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by localhost View Post
Yep, all 3 bolts are nice and tight.

Reading through these comments I'm fairly certain my catless header with a tune that isn't expecting one is the root cause of these issues. I'm going to swap back to the OEM ones this weekend and see if it gets better.
Hope it fixes your issues.

Anybody here ever have the O2 sensor 1 go bad? Because that would defiantly throw things off.


O2 sensor 2 may be throwing things off without the cat. Ecutek says something about turning it off for boosted application IIRC.

Injector driver defiantly needs grounded. My car came without the bracket and was doing very weird stuff before I grounded it.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 12:50 AM   #28
localhost
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: Edelbrock SC 2015 FR-S 6MT
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 48
Thanks: 13
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsnake11 View Post
Hope it fixes your issues.

Anybody here ever have the O2 sensor 1 go bad? Because that would defiantly throw things off.


O2 sensor 2 may be throwing things off without the cat. Ecutek says something about turning it off for boosted application IIRC.

Injector driver defiantly needs grounded. My car came without the bracket and was doing very weird stuff before I grounded it.
Is there a way to verify that its correctly grounded other than just checking the tightness of those bolts? I'm guessing checking if there's low resistance between the injector ECU housing (or that bracket) and the battery negative should be good?
localhost is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CELs and not cranking 86 driver Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 8 09-28-2017 01:08 PM
Odd CELS. Karl07 Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 4 10-08-2016 07:53 PM
Unichip stock map to avoid CELs pwells Software Tuning 3 12-28-2013 03:57 AM
Engine Mods and CELs Captain Snooze Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 2 04-08-2013 10:13 PM
Cam Gear Related CELs - How many miles? uspspro Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 16 10-22-2012 02:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.