follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides

DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides For all DIYs.

User Tag List

Old 12-06-2015, 11:14 PM   #1
Akya2120

Drives: 2016 Oceanic FR-S
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Arduino Gauge, Looking for Colab

Hey,

Was wondering if there are any code gurus on here that could work with me on building an Arduino oil pressure and temp gauge. I would build and test the circuit you'd have to figure out how to interface with the OBD2 for the oil temp and the oil pressure would have to interface with a oil pressure sensor.

Together we will discuss where to mount the screen and what the design for the bracket is. I am a designer can 3D print the mounts/brackets/fascias for making it fit together.

I already have an arduino mega for testing, but I would imagine we would want to use one of the smaller boards for implementation. We could also allow for extra functionalities like logging, or exhaust temp gauges, intake temps, et cetera. But, I believe for now the base functionality should just be getting temp and pressure for oil.

I propose that once we complete the project we make the 3D model, and code publicly available. That way everyone can have a fairly reasonable access to a sleek looking oil pressure and temp gauge that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. My interest was driven by this unit primarily, and not wanting to spend ~$500 to have it in my car.

Hoping someone can help me make this happen. Thanks for the interest.
Akya2120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 11:30 PM   #2
stugray
Banned

Drives: 2013 GBS BRZ Limited
Thanked 1,445 Times in 711 Posts
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Reading and displaying the oil pressure from an off the shelf pressure gauge is trivial.