follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
RR Racing
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Off-Topic Discussions > Off-Topic Lounge

Off-Topic Lounge For all off-topic discussion topics.

User Tag List
EAGLE5, finch1750, go_a_way1, iManage, KR-S 86, MisterSheep, Tcoat, Ultramaroon

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-01-2017, 10:24 PM   #36989
Cole
Not a troll
 
Cole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Drives: FR-S
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,968
Thanks: 8,209
Thanked 5,137 Times in 2,590 Posts
Mentioned: 263 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by humfrz View Post
Well, OK ...... I suggest you NOT buy the same brand router twice in a row ..... rotate them.

........and quit buying cheap routers ......

Are you on cable there or are you still using dial up .......


humfrz
It's not exactly a cheap router, but compared to fancy "gamer" ones, yes it's cheap. But, the previous one worked for over a year without any issues.

We're on cable.

Quote:
Originally Posted by krayzie View Post
Do they have open source firmware for your router?

I have a Linksys WRT3200ACM and even with the stock firmware it's alright no issues. Had to read thru some forum postings to get it stable tho.
No open source firmware AFAIK, but I put a beta version on it, and it seems to be working better.

Quote:
Originally Posted by x808drifter View Post
Possible solution.
You get an upgrade in internet speeds?

When I changed ISP's a few years ago we had run into a problem with overloading the router itself.

We were asking it to do too much at once and it was making us have to reset the router multiple times a day.

Got a better one and havent had a problem since.
Funny part was it's the ISP's modem/router.
No upgrade, other than moving from my girlfriend's old place (with a whopping 0.8mbps speed) to our new place (7mbps).

From what I read today, it does seem like the router is being overloaded, as someone was having very similar issues to me. Turns out that it's the 5GHz band that's the issue. The chipset seems to not like higher speeds on 5GHz, so after I turned that off (or maybe it was the different firmware version) things have been alright, but time will tell.
Cole is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Cole For This Useful Post:
humfrz (12-01-2017)
Old 12-01-2017, 11:04 PM   #36990
Tcoat
He who smelt it...
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 14 FRS Hot Lava
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 56,803
Thanks: 50,394
Thanked 79,566 Times in 35,929 Posts
Mentioned: 2056 Post(s)
Tagged: 49 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole View Post
It's not exactly a cheap router, but compared to fancy "gamer" ones, yes it's cheap. But, the previous one worked for over a year without any issues.

We're on cable.



No open source firmware AFAIK, but I put a beta version on it, and it seems to be working better.



No upgrade, other than moving from my girlfriend's old place (with a whopping 0.8mbps speed) to our new place (7mbps).

From what I read today, it does seem like the router is being overloaded, as someone was having very similar issues to me. Turns out that it's the 5GHz band that's the issue. The chipset seems to not like higher speeds on 5GHz, so after I turned that off (or maybe it was the different firmware version) things have been alright, but time will tell.
Are you on Rogers? They recently changed the system and we had to trade in our old modem/router because it kept having to be reset. Everybody we know that has Rogers has had the exact same issue you are. We got the new one and all has been good.
__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 11:15 PM   #36991
krayzie
Elite Transmissionist
 
krayzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: BRZ STI Performance
Location: Filth City
Posts: 4,892
Thanks: 2,356
Thanked 3,089 Times in 1,995 Posts
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tcoat View Post
Are you on Rogers? They recently changed the system and we had to trade in our old modem/router because it kept having to be reset.
Same issue here recently even with Bell Fibe. It forced me to finally purchase a dedicated router and run the modem in bridge mode with its router component turned off. No issues since.

Well my Surface Book only has a 2x2 antenna on WiFi-AC was the other reason, it was just too slow on the old WiFi-N router combo. My old trusty ThinkPad has a wicked 3x3 antenna on WiFi-N and it is reasonably fast even on the shit Bell routers.

Thanks Lenovo for ruining the current ThinkPad line I can't even replace my old beat up one with anything decent. They are like the modern Honda of laptops.
krayzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 11:22 PM   #36992
Cole
Not a troll
 
Cole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Drives: FR-S
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,968
Thanks: 8,209
Thanked 5,137 Times in 2,590 Posts
Mentioned: 263 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tcoat View Post
Are you on Rogers? They recently changed the system and we had to trade in our old modem/router because it kept having to be reset. Everybody we know that has Rogers has had the exact same issue you are. We got the new one and all has been good.
I'm with Start, who I believe piggy backs off of Rogers or Bell, depending on where you are, and what type of internet you subscribe for. I want to say I'm with Rogers, but I'd need to double check.

I have a separate modem and router, the modem has been fine throughout, just the router giving me a hassle. Maybe I'll call them in the morning and see what they recommend. Would hate for the girls to run into this issue while I'm on the road, since I can imagine them being deer in the headlights with something like this.

Edit: Speaking of boredom with video games, I got back into Doom this evening, and forgot how absolutely wonderful it is. That's another game I'll likely play through a few times.
Cole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 11:32 PM   #36993
Tcoat
He who smelt it...
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 14 FRS Hot Lava
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 56,803
Thanks: 50,394
Thanked 79,566 Times in 35,929 Posts
Mentioned: 2056 Post(s)
Tagged: 49 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole View Post
I'm with Start, who I believe piggy backs off of Rogers or Bell, depending on where you are, and what type of internet you subscribe for. I want to say I'm with Rogers, but I'd need to double check.

I have a separate modem and router, the modem has been fine throughout, just the router giving me a hassle. Maybe I'll call them in the morning and see what they recommend. Would hate for the girls to run into this issue while I'm on the road, since I can imagine them being deer in the headlights with something like this.
Probably your issue. Not sure what they changed but has messed with a pile of people.
__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 11:38 PM   #36994
Ultramaroon
fun police
 
Ultramaroon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: a 13 e8h frs
Location: vantucky, wa
Posts: 23,349
Thanks: 34,271
Thanked 22,651 Times in 12,553 Posts
Mentioned: 853 Post(s)
Tagged: 9 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole View Post
Here's a question for those who know a little something about routers. I have a TPLink Archer C7 and yesterday, it just entirely shit the bed.

My question is ultimately, did I just end up picking out a really bad router? The reviews I read on it were all positive, so it seems like people are generally happy with it.
Quick google points to an incompatibility with specific wireless NICs. Crazy. I've never heard of this but it makes sense. A bug in all NICs with the qualcomm atheros qca61x4a/QCA6174 chipset does not play nicely with the router. Even open-source firmware authors are/were scrambling.

http://forum.tp-link.com/showthread....Killer-adapter

https://forum.lede-project.org/t/con...-released/1129

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarlacc View Post
U.S. pioneered the moving pictures, television and the VCR which set the whole objectification-of-women industry up for it's heyday.
Both objectification of women and puritanism were brought over from Europe.
Both have survived in Europe, and both are under pressure in Europe today.
The differences aren't that great, really.
That's why I find subtle nuances such as the significance of pictures of women in underwear so interesting.
Excellent point. I appreciate the opportunity to address flaws in my world view.

Hungarians have no issue with "personal space." We freely make eye contact with each other on buses and elevators.

My suggestion is to go with your gut. Never mind the stupid skittish woman at the gas station. It was her loss.
__________________
Ultramaroon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ultramaroon For This Useful Post:
Cole (12-01-2017), Sarlacc (12-02-2017)
Old 12-01-2017, 11:42 PM   #36995
Ultramaroon
fun police
 
Ultramaroon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: a 13 e8h frs
Location: vantucky, wa
Posts: 23,349
Thanks: 34,271
Thanked 22,651 Times in 12,553 Posts
Mentioned: 853 Post(s)
Tagged: 9 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by humfrz View Post
@Ultramaroon may be interested ........that way he can stay focused on reading his GPS .......


__________________
Ultramaroon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ultramaroon For This Useful Post:
humfrz (12-02-2017), new2subaru (12-01-2017)
Old 12-01-2017, 11:46 PM   #36996
Cole
Not a troll
 
Cole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Drives: FR-S
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,968
Thanks: 8,209
Thanked 5,137 Times in 2,590 Posts
Mentioned: 263 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultramaroon View Post
Quick google points to an incompatibility with specific wireless NICs. Crazy. I've never heard of this but it makes sense. A bug in all NICs with the qualcomm atheros qca61x4a/QCA6174 chipset does not play nicely with the router. Even open-source firmware authors are/were scrambling.

http://forum.tp-link.com/showthread....Killer-adapter

https://forum.lede-project.org/t/con...-released/1129


.
Second link is how I kind of pieced together my issue. All good, push comes to shove, I'll splurge a bit on a different router that doesn't run on this chipset.

Bums me out though, since this router is a decent price (120 cad, but I got it on sale for 90 taxes in yesterday) and has good performance.

Edit: I might play around with the dual band settings, and see if I can get stable performance with 2.4 and 5ghz enabled, but that sounds like a vacation kind of thing. ALSO, one thing I failed to mention, is that the wifi started getting REALLY bad after I set up a google home mini. I wonder if that was doing some of the overloading on the 5ghz band that seems to be the achilles heel of this router.
Cole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 11:49 PM   #36997
krayzie
Elite Transmissionist
 
krayzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: BRZ STI Performance
Location: Filth City
Posts: 4,892
Thanks: 2,356
Thanked 3,089 Times in 1,995 Posts
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Back when I used to support workstations at work none of our ThinkPad fleet could keep a decent connection for over 10 mins with D-Link routers of any kind. We kept telling users to switch over to Cisco/Linksys or Belkin and that would fix it lmao!
krayzie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to krayzie For This Useful Post:
Cole (12-01-2017), Ultramaroon (12-02-2017)
Old 12-01-2017, 11:55 PM   #36998
Cole
Not a troll
 
Cole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Drives: FR-S
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,968
Thanks: 8,209
Thanked 5,137 Times in 2,590 Posts
Mentioned: 263 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by krayzie View Post
Back when I used to support workstations at work none of our ThinkPad fleet could keep a decent connection for over 10 mins with D-Link routers of any kind. We kept telling users to switch over to Cisco/Linksys or Belkin and that would fix it lmao!
Sometime's I think about making a switch to IT, since honestly, troubleshooting this stuff is kind of fun to me. But then I think about the times I've been at my wits end and I can't even imagine trying to explain stuff and guide technologically inept people through things.

I think instead maybe I'll try and get a part time job at a Canada Computers for this winter. I saw that the Whitby branch is hiring people when I was at their Kennedy location yesterday.
Cole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 11:55 PM   #36999
Tcoat
He who smelt it...
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 14 FRS Hot Lava
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 56,803
Thanks: 50,394
Thanked 79,566 Times in 35,929 Posts
Mentioned: 2056 Post(s)
Tagged: 49 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultramaroon View Post
Excellent point. I appreciate the opportunity to address flaws in my world view.

Hungarians have no issue with "personal space." We freely make eye contact with each other on buses and elevators.

My suggestion is to go with your gut. Never mind the stupid skittish woman at the gas station. It was her loss.
Dude! If eye contact is an issue then going with your gut is going to get you arrested. Never lead with the gut is scares people.

__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Tcoat For This Useful Post:
Cole (12-02-2017), Sarlacc (12-02-2017), Ultramaroon (12-02-2017)
Old 12-02-2017, 12:02 AM   #37000
krayzie
Elite Transmissionist
 
krayzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: BRZ STI Performance
Location: Filth City
Posts: 4,892
Thanks: 2,356
Thanked 3,089 Times in 1,995 Posts
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole View Post
Someone's I think about making a switch to IT, since honestly, troubleshooting this stuff is kind of fun to me. But then I think about the times I've been at my wits end and I can't even imagine trying to explain stuff and guide technologically inept people through things.

I think instead maybe I'll try and get a part time job at a Canada Computers for this winter. I saw that the Whitby branch is hiring people when I was at their Kennedy location yesterday.
CC peeps look pretty chill to me so it can't be too bad.

I can tell you that the only happy field techs at Big Blow (they supported all of our Lenovo hardware) were from the west coast. Everybody else across the country were really angry mofos.

IT isn't too bad until management decides to pay you peanuts or outsource you to curry land. Ask @soulreapersteve
krayzie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to krayzie For This Useful Post:
Cole (12-02-2017), soulreapersteve (02-23-2018)
Old 12-02-2017, 12:08 AM   #37001
Cole
Not a troll
 
Cole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Drives: FR-S
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,968
Thanks: 8,209
Thanked 5,137 Times in 2,590 Posts
Mentioned: 263 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by krayzie View Post
CC peeps look pretty chill to me so it can't be too bad.

I can tell you that the only happy field techs at Big Blow (they supported all of our Lenovo hardware) was from the west coast. Everybody else across the country were really angry mofos.

IT isn't too bad until management decides to outsource you to India.
The more realistic option is becoming an Uber eats driver. But I really don't want to have to add commercial use to my insurance
Cole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 12:23 AM   #37002
Ultramaroon
fun police
 
Ultramaroon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: a 13 e8h frs
Location: vantucky, wa
Posts: 23,349
Thanks: 34,271
Thanked 22,651 Times in 12,553 Posts
Mentioned: 853 Post(s)
Tagged: 9 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole View Post
Second link is how I kind of pieced together my issue. All good, push comes to shove, I'll splurge a bit on a different router that doesn't run on this chipset.

Bums me out though, since this router is a decent price (120 cad, but I got it on sale for 90 taxes in yesterday) and has good performance.

Edit: I might play around with the dual band settings, and see if I can get stable performance with 2.4 and 5ghz enabled, but that sounds like a vacation kind of thing. ALSO, one thing I failed to mention, is that the wifi started getting REALLY bad after I set up a google home mini. I wonder if that was doing some of the overloading on the 5ghz band that seems to be the achilles heel of this router.
Meh. I wouldn't invest too much time in it. Follow the thread in the tp-link support forum to the last page. It's still active.

My old WRT54GL is a friggin' tank. Been chugging away for almost 10 years now.
__________________
Ultramaroon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ultramaroon For This Useful Post:
Cole (12-02-2017)
Reply

Tags
aching balls, ass or gtfo, germanystrikesback, guff approved, human resources, i don't wanna go to prom, i lurk, i participated, i read this thread, i'm so gay, ichi has crabs, ichi is in denial, imanage can't manage, in god we thrust, member berries, never forget, nothing for you!!!, nsfp, omg i can't catch up! :(, poo on my chest, post #696 review on ichi, specialk watches you post, special_k is a lurker, tcoat is as tcoat does, tcoat is dead, tcoat is jesus, tcoat is risen, tcoat returns, tcoat rules, tig ol bitties, tits or gtfo, touch me, trackmyfarts, wubba lubba dub dubs!!!, y u do dis

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random thoughts thread MrVito Off-Topic Lounge 37188 02-25-2016 11:00 AM
Found some rust on a part... what part is this, and is it a problem? flashburn Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing 3 05-02-2015 09:56 PM
Got hit (bumped)! Need part number for the black part of bumper. scottsampaio.com Cosmetic Maintenance (Wash, Wax, Detailing, Body Repairs) 27 04-25-2014 12:05 AM
Random Rubber Part OoLong Subaru BRZ General Forum 8 01-28-2014 11:31 AM
Crew Carshow : Part Deux 9/7/13 saiyajinimports Great Lakes 0 08-17-2013 05:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.