follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Off-Topic Discussions > Site Announcements / Questions / Issues

User Tag List

Old 11-08-2017, 10:51 AM   #1
runfrodorun

Drives: Red 2013 BRZ Premium 6MT
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
HTTPS

Hi guys,

I'm a senior software developer at my company, and I have to say it's absolutely nuts that this site doesn't use HTTPS. I know we're car guys and not computer guys here, so I just want to tell you what kinds of things happen when you don't use HTTPS:

1. Your password is sent plain text over the internet. Anybody who has access to the packets that are sent here can read your password as plain as day, and you don't have to be a genius to do so. This means your ISP, any trunk line users, the datacenter, anybody performing a man in the middle attack, anybody. And this is more likely to happen than you may think, speaking from experience.
2. Even when we're not sending passwords, somebody can perform something called a man in the middle attack, where they intercept the data that you are sending to the server, and then forward it on your behalf, get the response from the server, but change it when it goes back to you. This could be used to lure people to meets that are actually setups to mug you etc. Again, speaking from experience I had a friend that this happened to, and again, much more likely than you think.
3. Your identity is very obvious to anybody who obtains the packets, so they know who is exactly where and what they are doing.

What's more, any attacker can plainly see that the site isn't using HTTPS, so they're not going to waste their time going after sites who are, they're going to come right for us because we're an obvious and vulnerable target.