follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Drambeenie BRZ/86 Risers
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides

DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides For all DIYs.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2017, 06:50 PM   #29
toyubie
Member
 
toyubie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Drives: 2013 BRZ Limited
Location: Colorado
Posts: 41
Thanks: 4
Thanked 15 Times in 10 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dostoyevsky View Post
Ive been looking for this for quite a while! Thank you!

Is there anyway to make it like newer cars that If I pull the handle from the inside it auto unlocks?
Might be possible by adding a switch or sensor to the handle; AFAIK there's nothing to detect the handle has been pulled right now, but at that point you'e pulling off panels and running wires.

Last edited by toyubie; 12-04-2017 at 07:07 PM.
toyubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 01:35 PM   #30
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dostoyevsky View Post
Ive been looking for this for quite a while! Thank you!

Is there anyway to make it like newer cars that If I pull the handle from the inside it auto unlocks?
You are welcome

For the pull, I've never saw anything like this, could please be more precise ? (Maybe a specific car model that I could look into ?)

But if it needs extra sensors that the frs is not equiped with, you have your answer it's not possible
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 01:53 PM   #31
spike021
Senior Member
 
spike021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: '17 Limited BRZ CWP w/ PP
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,421
Thanks: 3,364
Thanked 1,368 Times in 861 Posts
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by T0rt0r0 View Post
For the pull, I've never saw anything like this, could please be more precise ? (Maybe a specific car model that I could look into ?)
BMW's M2 (2017 MY I think?) has it. You pull twice on the door handle and it unlocks.
spike021 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 02:32 PM   #32
chaoskaze
The Fail Boat
 
chaoskaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Drives: CWP S.B.
Location: LasVegas
Posts: 2,759
Thanks: 4,150
Thanked 1,147 Times in 778 Posts
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks man, This is actually much better then the OBD2 thing most ppl are running.... Cuz I have an iphone LOL.
(aka only wifi with OBD2...means I don't have internet while running those apps that ppl trys to run)
chaoskaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 04:37 PM   #33
dostoyevsky
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Drives: 2017 BRZ
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 118
Thanks: 1
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spike021 View Post
BMW's M2 (2017 MY I think?) has it. You pull twice on the door handle and it unlocks.
My dodge dart had it :L
dostoyevsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 04:53 PM   #34
ermax
Senior Member
 
ermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Drives: 2013 FR-S 6MT Raven
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,051
Thanks: 290
Thanked 727 Times in 457 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaoskaze View Post
Thanks man, This is actually much better then the OBD2 thing most ppl are running.... Cuz I have an iphone LOL.
(aka only wifi with OBD2...means I don't have internet while running those apps that ppl trys to run)


This adapter works with iOS via BLE:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MAURDGG

The key is to get the “Enhanced Version”. This version runs Bluetooth Serial Profile for Android but also runs Bluetooth LE for iOS connectivity. The description on this item fails to explain this but trust me it works. I have this version and it works great on my iPhone. I’ve tested it with Carista, DashCommand and Fusion. Fusion is the best hands down. Very similar to Torque. There is an in app upgrade that adds direct support for Toyota’s which gives it access to a ton of PIDs for our cars.
ermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 01:31 PM   #35
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spike021 View Post
BMW's M2 (2017 MY I think?) has it. You pull twice on the door handle and it unlocks.
Ok thanks I'll look into this when I'll have some time
But I don't remember any information about the door interior handle position so I think it will not be possible
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 02:16 PM   #36
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Not a lot a free time since my last post but did not forgot about improvements

Just to know, has anybody tried the code and succeeded ?
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 12:31 PM   #37
ermax
Senior Member
 
ermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Drives: 2013 FR-S 6MT Raven
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,051
Thanks: 290
Thanked 727 Times in 457 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
It would be interesting to know how you are reverse engineering Techstream. I would love to have access to the tire pressures.
ermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 12:45 PM   #38
darko
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Drives: RAVEN FRS
Location: Canada
Posts: 139
Thanks: 25
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Could it be possible to close the windows when car ignition is turned off?
darko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 03:08 PM   #39
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ermax View Post
It would be interesting to know how you are reverse engineering Techstream. I would love to have access to the tire pressures.
I bought a obd y cable.
Plugged in the car and in a tactrix interface (for techstream) and in parrallel with my arduino board that just listened to the can trafic.

Then simply played with the diagnosis features of techstream and deduced the correct frames to use.

Not too hard but a lot of work when you don't really know what you are looking for

Quote:
Originally Posted by darko View Post
Could it be possible to close the windows when car ignition is turned off?
Is it doable with the windows switches just after you turn off ?
If yes it might be ok as I successfully played with the windows (but with ign on)
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 12:13 PM   #40
ermax
Senior Member
 
ermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Drives: 2013 FR-S 6MT Raven
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,051
Thanks: 290
Thanked 727 Times in 457 Posts
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I just ordered an Arduino UNO R3, the CAN bus shield, serial to OBD2 and a Y cable. My goal is to capture the traffic coming from Techsteam when putting the VSC/TRAC/ABS system into "inspection mode" so I can have a more permanent way (toggle switch) to disable TC/VSC. But I will also have the ability to do other creative things. I saw where someone replaced the clock with a small LCD screen and repurposed the clock buttons for controls to the Arduino. This is going to be a fun project.
ermax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ermax For This Useful Post:
Ultramaroon (03-30-2018)
Old 02-19-2018, 01:10 PM   #41
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Great

Did not mess with the vsc system but you should be able to do what you want
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 02:03 PM   #42
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 38
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Just a quick update: I updated the code a little (better reliability of connexion initialization mostly) and changed the way the system is powered in the car.

Now the arduino is directly plugged in a +12v after ign with two 6800nF capacitors.
This way it has the time to open the doors if needed when turning ignition off and then do not draw any current.

This way no worries about the battery if the car is not driven enough.

I've been using this since a few months and some track days without an issue
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to T0rt0r0 For This Useful Post:
Chimera (03-05-2018)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doors won't lock. mynameis940 Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 9 03-15-2018 02:05 PM
Auto locking doors Thavash AFRICA 13 11-22-2017 01:36 PM
Auto locking doors Magyarman Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 12 11-22-2017 01:35 PM
Auto Lock (Doors) pinoyplaya Subaru BRZ General Forum 67 11-13-2017 11:47 AM
Doors won't automatically lock adan Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 18 03-01-2014 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.