follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2014, 09:32 AM   #491
reeves
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 1,006
Thanks: 268
Thanked 381 Times in 258 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal84 View Post
Hello to all!!

I recently bought an ELM327 Bluetooth obd2 adapter (Amazon.com)...

All work perfectly, torque is fantastic and easy to use...

I have one question... when i leave the adapter on my obd2 port and the car is off, the adapter is a littlebit hot, seem's some current is in it even the car is off...

Do you think i could have problem with the battery of the car?

Thanks!
I left my Elm327 in my car for several months when I used it. I drove mine's to work daily though, but there were a times when I drove my beater car to work instead, so the Elm was left in my car for 3-4 days at a time.

Nothing happened until a month ago... After leaving my car sitting for 4 (very cold) days, I found my battery was dead when I tried to start my car. Had to jump start my car, but the battery's been fine ever since. I don't have any other aftermarket electronics in my car that can drain my battery either.
reeves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 11:13 AM   #492
Jackal84
Member
 
Jackal84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: Toyota GT86
Location: Northern Italy - Veneto - Vicenza
Posts: 35
Thanks: 8
Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by reeves View Post
I left my Elm327 in my car for several months when I used it. I drove mine's to work daily though, but there were a times when I drove my beater car to work instead, so the Elm was left in my car for 3-4 days at a time.

Nothing happened until a month ago... After leaving my car sitting for 4 (very cold) days, I found my battery was dead when I tried to start my car. Had to jump start my car, but the battery's been fine ever since. I don't have any other aftermarket electronics in my car that can drain my battery either.
Hello!

So you think could be the elm327 cause your problem?

Jackal84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 11:27 AM   #493
reeves
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: BRZ
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 1,006
Thanks: 268
Thanked 381 Times in 258 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal84 View Post
Hello!

So you think could be the elm327 cause your problem?

I didn't have anything else on my car that could drain the battery.. and I didn't leave any lights on in my car either. So I can only speculate it had to be the Elm327.
reeves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 12:22 PM   #494
AdrianG
Generally Well Liked
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Drives: '08 FXT, '08 Outback 3.0
Location: Ontario
Posts: 417
Thanks: 43
Thanked 195 Times in 124 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
The cheaper adapters have been known to drain your battery if you leave the car sit too long, if you get a nicer one from scantool.net though they have a power saver mode built in. I have the OBDLink SX that I often leave connected to my car for long periods of time and never had an issue.
AdrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 01:12 PM   #495
Mikeez
Engineering Student
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Drives: Scion FR-S 2015
Location: Montreal
Posts: 628
Thanks: 18
Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to Mikeez
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Cor10:23 View Post
Hi all, really big fan of Torque but I've oft been disappointed at the stock themes that come along with the app. Instead of whining, I decided to be at cause and invest some time in modifying an existing theme to better match our platform.

Essentially the dials are from the "Bulletproof" theme that comes along with the app, only the colours have been changed and the font as well. To install, follow the instructions from Torque here

I've also included the Toyota "T" pseudo-carbon fibre background image, you'll have to install this manually through the app and direct it to the image (move it into your images folder of your device). Thanks to @ML for the share, I duplicated the image to minimize the size of the logo + increased the contrast to make it less noticeable and blend into the background.

Remember that the ".torque" folder is default hidden - go to your files app and menu > show hidden to reveal.



Decided to use Orange/White with minimal Red to be easier on the eyes. I've always really enjoyed the orange accents on the dash (usually the dreaded CEL and other icons as well as our super duper advanced digital clock).

RAR file for theme: FR-S theme

Enjoy!

Can someone help me install this theme? Step by step
Mikeez is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Mikeez For This Useful Post:
SkAsphalt (02-18-2014)
Old 02-05-2014, 04:07 PM   #496
gdrider77
Senior Member
 
gdrider77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 623
Thanks: 243
Thanked 261 Times in 156 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Im working on a custom one right now as well, basically to match the brz instruments..... Will probably work on some custom pieces for each individual gauge...will post here once done.
__________________
gdrider77 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to gdrider77 For This Useful Post:
fstlane (02-05-2014), Lord Peth (05-13-2014), mikalem (02-05-2014), SkAsphalt (04-27-2014), Trap63 (02-05-2014)
Old 02-05-2014, 06:38 PM   #497
gdrider77
Senior Member
 
gdrider77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 623
Thanks: 243
Thanked 261 Times in 156 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeez View Post
Can someone help me install this theme? Step by step
Its really a pain. What i was able to get to work.

Install file expert......https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...cxin.filexpert or the hd version for tablet.

Once installed, go to the top "settings" button. push that.

Now in that screen look for a setting "Show Hidden Folders", make sure that is checked.

Now go back to the main screen and make sure you are on the "folders" tab up top.

Press "SD Card", You should now see the ".torque" folder in the list.

And now you have access to all the folders including the "themeDir" folder that is needed for a theme update.
__________________

Last edited by gdrider77; 02-05-2014 at 07:37 PM.
gdrider77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 07:30 PM   #498
1Cor10:23
Senior Member
 
1Cor10:23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: '13 Whiteout FR-S (M/T)
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,203
Thanks: 492
Thanked 390 Times in 237 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdrider77 View Post
Im with you buddy. I cannot figure out how to get to the themes directory.....tried all kinds of things, probably spent an hour trying, still no luck..

The torque website is a joke, so no luck there, hopefully someone here can give detailed instructions..
It's in your root apps folder but you have to go to your Android settings to show hidden folders first

Go to My Files app >settings >show hidden. Then navigate to all files. You'll see the torque folder. Then unzip and drop the file I uploaded (instructions are in my previous post on how to drop the files in)

Sent from my SGH-I317M using Tapatalk
1Cor10:23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 07:38 PM   #499
gdrider77
Senior Member
 
gdrider77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 623
Thanks: 243
Thanked 261 Times in 156 Posts
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
yeah, what i found is that not all file managers have the "show hidden" option. So i actually went through a few before finding one that allows this. That is why its so confusing.
__________________
gdrider77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 01:02 AM   #500
1Cor10:23
Senior Member
 
1Cor10:23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: '13 Whiteout FR-S (M/T)
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,203
Thanks: 492
Thanked 390 Times in 237 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdrider77 View Post
yeah, what i found is that not all file managers have the "show hidden" option. So i actually went through a few before finding one that allows this. That is why its so confusing.
Gotcha.. Sorry didn't know that My Files isn't stock android... It's on the galaxy models

Sent from my SGH-I317M using Tapatalk
1Cor10:23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 11:39 PM   #501
CBR600RR
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Raven Black
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,322
Thanks: 416
Thanked 551 Times in 265 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
How do I reset the "fuel remaining" widget?

The latest torque update said that they added a button for this, but I can't seem to figure it out. (I currently have -230% fuel remaining lol)

edit: I figured it out this morning. when you add a new display item, just scrool all the way to the bottom. There they have an actual reset fuel button which you place on the torque dash.

Last edited by CBR600RR; 02-13-2014 at 09:34 AM.
CBR600RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:42 AM   #502
Trac Toy
Senior Member
 
Trac Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Durham Region, Canukistan.
Posts: 506
Thanks: 224
Thanked 154 Times in 111 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBR600RR View Post
How do I reset the "fuel remaining" widget?

The latest torque update said that they added a button for this, but I can't seem to figure it out. (I currently have -230% fuel remaining lol)
You better fill up soon! Lol.
__________________
.o0+Eric+0o.
2016 Chrysler 200S 3.6
2013 FRS 6MT
Trac Toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 09:48 PM   #503
melon
Member
 
melon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: Toyota 86
Location: Tuguegarao City, Philippines
Posts: 57
Thanks: 207
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Opening up a new Topic that's related to use of OBD-II:

Anyone already used OBD's for Trouble Shooting or Diagnosis on their FRS/BRZ?
What Fault codes appeared and what action did you take?
Torque PRO for it?
melon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2014, 05:02 PM   #504
todor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: Celica convertible
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Hey guys, I'd like to ask someone with an ELM327 and an FR-S/BRZ/86GT to try my Android app, Carista OBD2. It should be compatible with those models, but I haven't confirmed it yet. Don't worry, if it's NOT compatible, nothing bad will happen - it just won't do anything.

So, what I need you to do is get the app from Google Play Store, open the swipe-out menu from the left of the screen, and tap 5 times on the "Version 2.0" label. This will launch a hidden debug feature that collects technical data related to supported settings/customizations from the car. When it's done, it'll prompt you to send a report directly from the app - please do that (and make sure you note what car it's from).

The first one to send me a report will get free access to the paid features in the app (which are to change vehicle customizations and do diagnostics on Toyota-specific ECUs, not just OBD2 stuff). Just send me a PM here to let me know you've submitted a report. Thanks in advance.

Any takers?
todor is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
android, app, boost, gauges, torque

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque app for android question Brody602 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 8 01-08-2015 05:53 PM
Torque for Android Freeman Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 7 11-23-2012 12:05 AM
Android Torque app questions Craig Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 1 11-12-2012 05:14 PM
Bluetooth OBD scanner and Android Torque - less than 25 shipped whataboutbob Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 7 10-20-2012 01:15 PM
Android Tablet + torque CharlieChaos Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 3 10-04-2012 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.