follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Forced Induction

Forced Induction Turbo, Supercharger, Methanol, Nitrous

User Tag List

Old 10-19-2013, 06:02 PM   #1
Ludacrits

Drives: 2007 Porsche Cayman S MT
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
400hp build and other turbo questions.

I've decided that my new goal is to turbocharge my FRS and pump out a good 400hp. I've never done any kind of tuning or forced induction before. I'm trying to learn as much as I can before I blow up my car. I'm new to FI so If I ask any stupid questions or really basic stuff forgive me.

Supposedly it's not a problem doing this on a stock engine. Some people prefer to change fuel pumps and injectors, other say it's not necessary.

I decided that I would prefer the AVO or FA20club turbo kits.
I like the AVO because of the turbo position. Hide it down low and no one will notice which can be fun. I also like what it comes with.

I like the fa20club because of the price and I like how it's setup in terms of choosing what you want with the kit. Right now I'm still looking into and considering what options I would need with this kit. I don't know too much about the Oilpan, thermal coating, powder coating options. I'm also unsure if I want a high flow cat or not.

Anyway, I was just wondering about a few things.

Turbo trim:
50/57/60

I know choosing a bigger turbo would mean more power but with power comes more lag. I heard all of these could hit the 400 bhp mark. How much lag am I looking at with the 60 on a good 400+ hp tune? OH I forgot to mention I'll be running E85 Only.

Oil cooler:
Is an Oil cooler needed? Most of the stuff I've read comes from other forums for different cars.

Tuning and ECU: