follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Xero Limit
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2019, 10:50 AM   #1
HRLQN
WTB Stuff
 
HRLQN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2016 Scion FR-S
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to HRLQN
Question Blown 2016 FA20 swap 2017 FA20

Hello everyone!

I've read a few similar threads and just wanted to check a question or two. I have an AT 2016 FRS whos motor blew on the highway for some unknown reason at 64k miles. Theres a hole in the block. (Picture below)

I'm not comfortable doing anything of this scale myself or with friends so we went to a shop a few of us have been to. First they got a 2014 motor with 40k mile but it was no good to use. Now they sourced a used 2017 FRS AT motor with 18k miles.

I read the threads here so I know 13-14 and 15-16 are plug in play within themselves but 17+ is a different way. We have both the 16 (mine) and the 17 car in the shop, we are swapping the whole engines intact.

Question:
1. Are the sensors that will cause incompatibilities within the motor itself or in the wiring harness or in the bay?

2. The wiring harness from the older or the new motor should be kept?

3. If they move the ECU from the other car into mine, will it freak out my 16'computer since the 17+ has more features?

4. The whole incompatibility with a whole engine swap is the ECU and connectors not matching between 13-16 and 17+ ? Or is there more even though I'm doing the whole engine?



The car is in the shop and I just want to make sure I'm understanding what they are talking about fully, sorry if I'm slow and missed an answer to this in the other threads. Trying to grasp it all, I trust both my friend and the shop, I'm new to the car scene and car mechanics scene so I'm still getting it.


Some info for why:

** I'm a 27yr old girl, my buddy is helping guide me and explain this all as the car is getting worked on so I put an FA20 and didn't do anything crazy. The car is mine and I've only done Vland headlights, CAI, wheels, tires, coilovers, carbon wrapped interior, strut bars, louvers, side skirts, exhaust, cat/reso delete, OFT flash (I wasn't on a tune when the motor blew),cute radiator hoses, fancy engine bay caps. **

** The car is financed, the $$ this swap cost was a cheaper option then selling/parting the car; its financed and I would be upside down more then the swap $$. Not a huge difference but I like my car and want to keep it. **

Hole in the block


Towed off the highway

Last edited by HRLQN; 09-17-2019 at 11:03 AM. Reason: Fixing
HRLQN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 12:07 PM   #2
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, Ca
Posts: 2,056
Thanks: 1,297
Thanked 912 Times in 616 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Just curious, are you asking questions to understand their process, or are you asking for them because they don’t know? If it is the latter then isn’t that concerning that the shop doing the work doesn’t know?

To your concerns, I believe the motors are very similar between the refreshes, but do have compatibility differences. It was only the manual transmissions that got the red intake manifold and 5hp bump in power, so the automatic transmissions motors should be more compatible, but I would defer to these resources.

https://www.ft86club.com/forums/show...=119729&page=6


http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/file...17MY_BRZ_1.pdf
__________________
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 12:31 PM   #3
HRLQN
WTB Stuff
 
HRLQN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2016 Scion FR-S
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to HRLQN
It's just for my understanding, I know the basic like components/process and my friend explained it well but I'm just trying to actually get where the hangup is myself lol when they explained it it sounded pretty easy to "fix" the incompatibility since we have both cars. But when I came online to try and understand what they were talking about, it sounded waaaaaaaaaaaay more complicated then just a harness and ECU.

Edit: Checked the link, and what CSG Mike said is what actually made me make the post. I don't have a great understanding of it but all of you do, and if its not a venue worth doing then I can tell them to pass on it and wait for another 13-16 motor.

I don't plan on doing any turbo/supercharger crazy engine mods to it so thats why I wanted another stock FA20 and not a built engine or anything. Its not a project swap lol its a "oh shit gotta fix my car" swap.
HRLQN is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HRLQN For This Useful Post:
Irace86.2.0 (09-17-2019)
Old 09-17-2019, 02:37 PM   #4
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, Ca
Posts: 2,056
Thanks: 1,297
Thanked 912 Times in 616 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
It seems like the long block has some hardware differences and sensor differences that would suggest the ECU should stay with the motor, but it also sounds like the ECU has incompatibility with the security language, so it was suggested to refresh the old ECU with the new software. Like CSG Mike said, it may not be worth the headache. Unless a shop has performed this exact swap multiple times and is confident, I wouldn't risk having them experiment on your car.
__________________
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Irace86.2.0 For This Useful Post:
soundman98 (09-22-2019), Tcoat (09-17-2019), wparsons (10-15-2019)
Old 09-17-2019, 05:13 PM   #5
Tcoat
He who smelt it...
 
Tcoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Drives: 14 FRS Hot Lava
Location: London, Ont
Posts: 56,286
Thanks: 50,013
Thanked 78,615 Times in 35,552 Posts
Mentioned: 2043 Post(s)
Tagged: 49 Thread(s)
I am going to jump in with yet another "not worth it" the differences are not huge but there are enough that it would stake some finesse to get it all working right. Also stay away fro 13 engines if you can. They are just bad news for many people.
__________________
Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar, because Racecar.
Tcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tcoat For This Useful Post:
soundman98 (09-22-2019), wparsons (10-15-2019)
Old 09-18-2019, 10:12 PM   #6
Cubix
Member
 
Cubix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Drives: 2015 FR-S
Location: Canada
Posts: 94
Thanks: 20
Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Do you know the reason a stock engine blew?
Cubix is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Cubix For This Useful Post:
8inchAzN (09-19-2019)
Old 09-19-2019, 03:35 AM   #7
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,385
Thanks: 958
Thanked 4,594 Times in 2,733 Posts
Mentioned: 508 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
A couple of people jave sucessfully swapped a 2017+ motor into a 2012-2016 car.


1 its not a direct swap, you will need to swap a lot of sensors , wiring harness.


2. You will need to retain your 2016 ecu and the 2016 ecu calibration. The 2027 calibration is not compatable with the early car security.


3. Also you may need to ise the earlier model cam phasors as it seems they are diffrent , this im not sure on.


4 You will need to retune the ecu s the newer mptors wont run well with the older model tune, they dont seem to take as much ignition riming as older motors.


It will be far easier to swap in a 2016 motor
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
mrg666 (09-22-2019), soundman98 (09-22-2019), Tcoat (09-19-2019), wparsons (10-15-2019), YamahaR86 (10-14-2019)
Old 09-22-2019, 06:58 AM   #8
mrg666
pessimistic skeptic
 
mrg666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Drives: '14 FR-S Monogram AT JRSC
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,218
Thanks: 1,040
Thanked 664 Times in 437 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
A couple of people jave sucessfully swapped a 2017+ motor into a 2012-2016 car.


1 its not a direct swap, you will need to swap a lot of sensors , wiring harness.


2. You will need to retain your 2016 ecu and the 2016 ecu calibration. The 2027 calibration is not compatable with the early car security.


3. Also you may need to ise the earlier model cam phasors as it seems they are diffrent , this im not sure on.


4 You will need to retune the ecu s the newer mptors wont run well with the older model tune, they dont seem to take as much ignition riming as older motors.


It will be far easier to swap in a 2016 motor
Only a part of 2017+ engine revisions are included with AT models, right? There can be additional complications.

Last edited by mrg666; 09-22-2019 at 07:24 AM.
mrg666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 05:55 PM   #9
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,385
Thanks: 958
Thanked 4,594 Times in 2,733 Posts
Mentioned: 508 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrg666 View Post
Only a part of 2017+ engine revisions are included with AT models, right? There can be additional complications.

Im not sure on the auto motors, but i suspect most of the engine and sensor mods same ans manuals, maybe take away manifold
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 01:17 PM   #10
HRLQN
WTB Stuff
 
HRLQN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2016 Scion FR-S
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to HRLQN
Not the slightest. I bought the car used 1 owner at 19k clean car fax. I was on the highway and it stopped accelerating, we checked the hood and oil was splattered in the back wall of the engine bay and we saw the hole. I’ve always been up to date with maintenance and miles but I travel a lot for work. I bought the car in 2017 @ 19k and it has 64k right now.

I step on it sometimes but I don’t beat it to the ground, spirited driving every now and then with other like minded on the streets is about it.
HRLQN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 11:26 AM   #11
RZNT4R
Professional Mechanic
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Drives: 2017 86 6MT Oceanic
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 289
Thanks: 8
Thanked 182 Times in 114 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I was going to say it works, but reading up on the differences, the cam and crank sensor plates from 2017 will confound a 2016 ECU. Swapping the ECU may be more trouble than it's worth: 2017 has a different charging system (controlled by the ECU over a one wire network), different battery sensing and wiring, same with the revised fuel pressure sensor and crank sensor. I don't know how the ECU will jive with the rest of the car from a wiring/compatibility standpoint, but slapping ECUs around (assuming you've got the full harness to go with it) prepare to deal with the engine immobiliser not wanting to go.

Last edited by RZNT4R; 10-14-2019 at 11:44 AM.
RZNT4R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 07:17 AM   #12
DBW
Motorsports
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Drives: 19BRZ PP, 16 M4
Location: ATLANTA, GA
Posts: 63
Thanks: 35
Thanked 54 Times in 26 Posts
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I just did a 2019 engine swap into a 2015 BRZ for a customer. Its mostly a straight forward swap but the newer gen motors run different crank/cam pick up strategy along with a different high-pressure fuel sensor.

Things that need to be change:

-The reluctor wheels on all the cam gears
-Crank trigger ring that goes between the flywheel and crankshaft
-The crank sensor bracket that bolts to the back of the block
-DI fuel rail on the passenger side with the older gen rail so it has the correct fuel pressure sensor

Other then that all you will need to do is use your old engine harness and coil packs on the new motor.
__________________
Douglas W.
DBW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DBW For This Useful Post:
YamahaR86 (10-15-2019)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performing FA20 swap with new FA20 Ctoner2653 Engine Swaps 5 09-04-2019 08:56 AM
Taking apart blown fa20 Toxicmilk45 Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 12 11-10-2017 11:01 PM
Free blown stripped FA20 C130NAV NY / NJ / CT / PA 4 07-19-2016 05:56 PM
For Sale; blown FA20 or parts PolishFrs13 Engine, Exhaust, Bolt-Ons 4 12-29-2015 06:33 PM
F/S FA20 Blown Rod C130NAV NY / NJ / CT / PA 2 02-23-2015 09:48 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.