follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > FT86CLUB Shared Forum > Member's Car Journals

Member's Car Journals Car journals by our members.

User Tag List

Old 07-29-2012, 09:06 PM   #1
Shinobi2u

Drives: '13 WRB BRZ Limited
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Thumbs up I've got the World Rally Blues...

...and it's not a bad thing.

First off, I will state that I am nowhere as familiar with or a savant on cars compared to many on the forum. I've been driving a '98 Impreza Outback Sport for 12 years now and anything else I've driven has been rare and not that exciting, so coming into a BRZ was quite an experience for me. I picked up my car, a WRB Limited M/T, on Wednesday afternoon and have put about 200 miles on it so far in the LA area.

This can is definitely an upgrade for me on all fronts, so it's going to be a bit hard to not gush about the BRZ. So here are some bullets on my impressions of the car so far, many of which are reiterations of many of the members on here:

-This is definitely a lively and spirited car. I can tell this car is not super fast, but it is fast enough for me. I enjoy the acceleration and if I decide I need more power down the road, I am sure the after-market will have me covered. It's responsive and picks up well. That left odometer really is useless as many have stated, but it does look nice.

-The clutch took some getting used to as it goes down like a hot knife through butter when pressed, but it is growing on me.

-Staying under 4K RPM has been....difficult. I have hit about 5K on 3 occasions when I wasn't paying close enough attention. I am trying to stay good during the break in period.