follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
RR Racing
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-23-2013, 12:46 AM   #1
Yruyur
Senior Member
 
Yruyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Scion fr-s asphalt M/T
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,192
Thanks: 1,416
Thanked 1,629 Times in 941 Posts
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Customize Your Car ECU Settings - My TechStream Experience

Just posting my experience using Techstream to customize settings on the car.

-Where did I get the cable and software?
Ebay. I got it from this guy http://www.ebay.com/itm/300885728069



-How much did it cost
$24.99 Free Shipping

-Where did it ship from
China

-How long did it take to receive?
About 2 Weeks

-Was it hard to install
No, the install CD comes with a video of a walkthrough of the entire process. Includes how to install the driver, use the supplied software patch to disable activation, how to access the car.

-What OS are you running
Windows 7 32 bit on an older laptop and HP mini netbook

-Is this actual Toyota TechStream software
It looks like it is, just a copy of it

-Can you program the ECU maps like a Ecutek Cable
no - I believe this is for customizing settings only like a dealer would use.

-Can I use an ECUTek cable to change the same settings
no - It has a chip in the cable for only flashing tunes

-Do I need this cable?
No, these settings are supposed to be changed by going to the dealer. In fact there is a page in your owners manual that describes the settings. I just wanted to try and do it myself and learn more about the car

-Can I do this with the Torque app on my android phone
No, Torque is cool for monitoring live details from the car, logging and clearing error codes but does not let you change settings on the car

-Is the FRS listed?
Yes the FRS for 2013 and 2014 was available in the drop down



-What settings can you change
A Bunch

Here are the screenshots of the main selection screen once it connects to the ECU

From here I clicked the customize settings



Here is the window that shows the settings you can customize



You select each one then click the right arrow at the bottom to continue to the following screens that allow you to change the settings

Wireless Control

As you can see mostly has to do with the remote keyfob

I changed the wireless autolock to off, I keep getting locked out when im dusting my car off in the morning

I changed the wireless buzzer volume which is the alarm chirp to 7, much nicer now, I can actually hear it

I changed the trunk unlock to a double tap instead of a long press



-The security screen is blank so has no options to change



-The Warning Customization

I shut off the passenger side seatbelt warning, hopefully this will disable the stop the cell phone on the seat from setting off the annoying warning



- Air Conditioner

Not sure what these settings do in an FRS but I can see doing something with the BRZ climate controls



-Others

This has something to allow for detection of the vehicle. Not Sure what this does



- Door Lock

Wish it allowed you to turn on auto lock on the car but it is blank



- Illuminated Entry

Allows interior lighting changes




- Light Control
Used this to shut off the DRL'S




- Display
This page is blank



What other features does the tech stream have

Has some pretty cool live monitoring of values from the ECU.



Also has some ABS and TPMS but I believe its for viewing only



-Another cool diagnostic feature I played with is being able to toggle the dash lights on individually to test functionality.
__________________

Last edited by Yruyur; 04-29-2013 at 10:18 AM.
Yruyur is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 43 Users Say Thank You to Yruyur For This Useful Post:
37 (09-02-2013), arghx7 (04-23-2013), Asphalt~86 (04-23-2013), Bristecom (06-13-2013), Calum (04-23-2013), Captain_Awesome_Pants (04-23-2013), Chaetagnath (04-23-2013), Chewie4299 (04-23-2013), Dadhawk (04-29-2013), danthedirt (06-02-2013), Deepseadiver (04-23-2013), djdnz (04-23-2013), dsgerbc (04-23-2013), enouf (05-30-2013), flippy (04-23-2015), Fly Guy (04-26-2013), Freeman (06-07-2013), GeorgeJFrick (06-23-2013), Guff (07-25-2013), Imperius (02-15-2017), lazyluka (05-29-2013), LeeMaster (07-20-2013), Lonewolf (04-23-2013), mach330 (04-23-2013), Mike86 (04-23-2013), Mikem53 (05-29-2013), myd_lyf_crysys (06-05-2013), normancw (12-23-2013), P@ul (07-18-2014), Pacific (04-04-2014), pheoxs (04-23-2013), sandman126 (04-23-2013), scary alien (04-26-2013), Scooby South (07-21-2013), Sonolin (04-29-2013), Spartan65 (04-29-2013), Suffa (04-24-2013), Synack (04-28-2013), TRD-X (04-27-2013), VakaGT (04-16-2015), whataboutbob (05-30-2013), xxscaxx (04-23-2013), zoomzoomers (04-23-2013)
Old 04-23-2013, 01:35 AM   #2
Yruyur
Senior Member
 
Yruyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Scion fr-s asphalt M/T
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,192
Thanks: 1,416
Thanked 1,629 Times in 941 Posts
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
-Where can I read more about tech stream and these settings
This great thread that got me interested in getting one

http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14629&highlight=tech+stream
__________________
Yruyur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:16 AM   #3
Retro86
Senior Member
 
Retro86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: Awesome
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 295
Thanks: 167
Thanked 78 Times in 61 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
this is awesome! do you have an alarm on your car?? because i wanna silence mine, i hate having it honk everytime i lock/unlock the car.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yruyur View Post
-Where can I read more about tech stream and these settings
This great thread that got me interested in getting one

http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14629&highlight=tech+stream
__________________
Retro86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 11:29 AM   #4
Yruyur
Senior Member
 
Yruyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Scion fr-s asphalt M/T
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,192
Thanks: 1,416
Thanked 1,629 Times in 941 Posts
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I do not but another local member has had one installed by the dealer so I will try it next time I see him.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Yruyur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 12:14 PM   #5
Chaetagnath
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: Whiteout FRS
Location: Florida
Posts: 313
Thanks: 150
Thanked 260 Times in 118 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
Is your windows 7 32 bit or 64 bit?
Chaetagnath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 12:25 PM   #6
dsgerbc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: BRZ(sold), STI
Location: A2, MI
Posts: 1,915
Thanks: 176
Thanked 416 Times in 241 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Good post.
Software also works with Openport V2, just in case someone has it already. Techstream can be downloaded off the torrentz.
dsgerbc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dsgerbc For This Useful Post:
Yruyur (04-23-2013)
Old 04-23-2013, 12:37 PM   #7
xxscaxx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2013 SWP BRZ
Location: New York
Posts: 2,240
Thanks: 458
Thanked 872 Times in 555 Posts
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks for this post. Timely too as I purchased the same from that ebay seller and am just waiting for it to arrive.

I bought it because I had to get some module replaced inside my BRZ when I first bought it, and ever since then, my DRL's will only come on now with my headlights? I'm hoping I can go in and change the settings to make it normal again. Unlike most I like the DRL's so I just want them to work properly.
xxscaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 02:50 PM   #8
Yruyur
Senior Member
 
Yruyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Scion fr-s asphalt M/T
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,192
Thanks: 1,416
Thanked 1,629 Times in 941 Posts
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxscaxx View Post
Thanks for this post. Timely too as I purchased the same from that ebay seller and am just waiting for it to arrive.

I bought it because I had to get some module replaced inside my BRZ when I first bought it, and ever since then, my DRL's will only come on now with my headlights? I'm hoping I can go in and change the settings to make it normal again. Unlike most I like the DRL's so I just want them to work properly.
I'd enjoy my drl too if I had a brz

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Yruyur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 02:52 PM   #9
Yruyur
Senior Member
 
Yruyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Scion fr-s asphalt M/T
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,192
Thanks: 1,416
Thanked 1,629 Times in 941 Posts
Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I must say I'm liking the double tap on the trunk release and the no autolock

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Yruyur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 03:01 PM   #10
swift996
Senior Member
 
swift996's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Drives: Subaru BRZ Limited 6MT
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,433
Thanks: 712
Thanked 947 Times in 544 Posts
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I just need to turn off those last two, this is cool! Thanks for sharing!



I had some issues with an OBDII cable from China on my windows 8 laptop. I ended up giving up. I probably just need the software loaded on a Win7 laptop.
__________________
Innovate Supercharged Black Limited BRZ 6-Speed MT(Build Thread)
2010 Cadillac CTS-V Sedan M6 w/550whp (Build Thread)

swift996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 03:46 PM   #11
naikaidriver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S AT Asphalt
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 771
Thanks: 145
Thanked 673 Times in 289 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
This is FANTASTIC!!!

Thanks for sharing!

I wonder if there is a setting that FULLY turns off ABS,VSC. It sure would beat doing "the pedal dance" every time I start my car at the track! If that software has that capability, it would be HUGE!

Scott
__________________
naikaidriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 03:48 PM   #12
xjohnx
Grip>Slip
 
xjohnx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 13 SWP BRZ Ltd - Innovate Powered!
Location: RVA
Posts: 3,540
Thanks: 655
Thanked 1,687 Times in 1,021 Posts
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by naikaidriver View Post
This is FANTASTIC!!!

Thanks for sharing!

I wonder if there is a setting that FULLY turns off ABS,VSC. It sure would beat doing "the pedal dance" every time I start my car at the track! If that software has that capability, it would be HUGE!

Scott
There isn't, unfortunately.
xjohnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 03:55 PM   #13
naikaidriver
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S AT Asphalt
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 771
Thanks: 145
Thanked 673 Times in 289 Posts
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjohnx View Post
There isn't, unfortunately.
That's it! I'm done waiting!

I am going to design a box that sends these EXACT "pedal dance" signals to the ECU that I can activate with a simple, plunger-button on my dash!

Shouldn't be too hard.

Scott
__________________
naikaidriver is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to naikaidriver For This Useful Post:
D K (07-16-2014)
Old 04-23-2013, 04:04 PM   #14
Tim_Asphalt_FRS
Is it fast? No.
 
Tim_Asphalt_FRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S Manual-Asphalt
Location: Vista, CA
Posts: 604
Thanks: 824
Thanked 162 Times in 121 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Does anyone know the differences between the different versions that are on eBay? (V7.31.003 & V8.00.034)

And, is that a normal size CD or the mini ones?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

2013 (Rebadged) Toyota GT-86 {Perrin intake tube, aFe dry air filter, custom 2.5" exhaust, PLM overpipe, Kartboy crank pulley, Hotchkis springs, custom Flossy grip tape shorty, TRD shifter, Berk HFC, Whiteline Sway-bars}
[Wanted: Delicious Stg 2 tune, Bilstein struts]
Tim_Asphalt_FRS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toyota Techstream xjohnx Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 204 09-16-2016 07:00 PM
TechStream TIS - No work FRSFirestorm Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 19 07-10-2014 03:14 AM
Techstream/ECU customizations phanguy Northern California 60 10-05-2013 11:12 PM
Techstream ECU Options mrjester Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 10 03-18-2013 10:24 AM
86 TRD Customize Concept JDMrolla Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 6 01-11-2013 01:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.