follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing

Suspension | Chassis | Brakes -- Sponsored by 949 Racing Relating to suspension, chassis, and brakes. Sponsored by 949 Racing.

User Tag List

Old 03-09-2015, 05:49 PM   #1
Hyper4mance2k
Shadetree Project Ratchet

Drives: series.Blue
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Brake firmness/pedal feel

Okay so you may have seen me complain about our stock brakes in other threads. I don't really like the stock pedal feel. I have always thought it was way too squishy, then I read a forum member compare his brakes to his stock 993, and I though there must be something wrong with my car. I've been racing Rx-7s for over 15 years and the 4 pot FC brakes are bulletproof and work damn well, especially on a 2100 lb first gen.

Well, I took the car out for a flogging this weekend, and I noticed something odd. When I first hit the brakes they are mushy, and the pedal travels way too far. If I quickly release them and press again they are nice and tight with great feedback and a good pedal feel. They feel much more like they way they should.

I did some digging and the only thing I could find on the web was that I may have a bad master cylinder. I've never experienced this before in all my years of driving & racing.

My question is, is your car the same way, are these just modern brakes and I need to get used to it, or should I take it into the dealer before I start upgrading the brakes?
Old 03-09-2015, 07:27 PM   #2
CSG David

Drives: S2000 CR
Thanked 1,721 Times in 956 Posts
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Did you change brake fluid and pads? If not, you may want to start there first...
CSG David is offline   Reply With Quote