follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2020, 10:49 AM   #1
gt7877
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Drives: turbo frs
Location: worldwide
Posts: 115
Thanks: 82
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question shifting turbo kit from MT to auto

Dear



I need to shift my turbo kit and every parts from

2014 FRS to 2016 auto FRS



What I have to do first



My plan to remove all turbo parts

With ecu

To new car



But the issue is at the tune
I have bin file i tuned it by HRI
Onle tune



Any recommendations

Any ideas

What I have and what I should do



Thnx in advance 👍
gt7877 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 11:41 AM   #2
86TOYO2k17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 toyota 86
Location: PNW
Posts: 991
Thanks: 73
Thanked 415 Times in 302 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You will not be able to switch the ECU from the 2014 MT to the 2016 AT if that is what you are asking. You will need to get a new ecutek license, and a new tune specific to the 2016 AT ROM. Have to work with your tuner on getting that setup.
The physical turbo kit itself should be relatively easy to switch over.
86TOYO2k17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 11:44 AM   #3
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 237
Thanked 339 Times in 282 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Maybe if you switch ecu and do the marry procedure and before starting the engine, you flash an AT tune, could work
Steve will probably know the answer
tomm.brz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
gt7877 (01-23-2020)
Old 01-23-2020, 02:19 PM   #4
gt7877
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Drives: turbo frs
Location: worldwide
Posts: 115
Thanks: 82
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
Maybe if you switch ecu and do the marry procedure and before starting the engine, you flash an AT tune, could work
Steve will probably know the answer

Steve is a great man
He hepe alot

Am waiting his reply



Thnx to all
gt7877 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 07:04 PM   #5
86TOYO2k17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 toyota 86
Location: PNW
Posts: 991
Thanks: 73
Thanked 415 Times in 302 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You can physically swap ECUs but you will still need a new 2016 auto rom tune. So i do not see the point in swapping ecu it is a tedious process outlined here http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=102810
But again you will lose your tune, because you will need a entirely different rom a tuner will need to setup as if its a brand new tune file.
I am not 100% what will happen to the ecutek license it may be possible to keep it in this scenario. But idk if it is worth the headache and potential issues over a 300$ license. Note you will need tactrix cable which is about 180$, so if your lucky you save 120$.
86TOYO2k17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 07:10 PM   #6
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 237
Thanked 339 Times in 282 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
if he already has the old ecu that has the paid license in it, why should he throw away?
he can ask his tuner to set up an auto Rom based on the old manual tune
it takes few time

Also i don t know where you saw 200, a license costs at least 300 dollars, most of time ever more
tomm.brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 07:26 PM   #7
86TOYO2k17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 toyota 86
Location: PNW
Posts: 991
Thanks: 73
Thanked 415 Times in 302 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
if he already has the old ecu that has the paid license in it, why should he throw away?
he can ask his tuner to set up an auto Rom based on the old manual tune
it takes few time

Also i don t know where you saw 200, a license costs at least 300 dollars, most of time ever more
Huh? Reread post more clearly.

Its possible. But a tedious process to save roughly 120$, if its even possible to save license. Unless it can somehow be done without a tactrix cable but I doubt it.
86TOYO2k17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 08:36 PM   #8
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 237
Thanked 339 Times in 282 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Sorry, read wrong
Why would he need tactrix? he just need his ecutek kit and marry the old ecu to new car before that.. does he need tactrix for making this? I thought it is just about bridging 2 pin in the obd port
tomm.brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 08:50 PM   #9
86TOYO2k17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 toyota 86
Location: PNW
Posts: 991
Thanks: 73
Thanked 415 Times in 302 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
Sorry, read wrong
Why would he need tactrix? he just need his ecutek kit and marry the old ecu to new car before that.. does he need tactrix for making this? I thought it is just about bridging 2 pin in the obd port
Based on the link i posted where Steve outlined the procedure. Step 2 You have to get the vin id onto ecu. Although he says you may not have to but idk donít have the time or desire to research this more.
@steve99 would be the best bet to answer all this.
86TOYO2k17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 10:40 PM   #10
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,533
Thanks: 973
Thanked 4,668 Times in 2,792 Posts
Mentioned: 518 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gt7877 View Post
Dear



I need to shift my turbo kit and every parts from

2014 FRS to 2016 auto FRS



What I have to do first



My plan to remove all turbo parts

With ecu

To new car



But the issue is at the tune
I have bin file i tuned it by HRI
Onle tune



Any recommendations

Any ideas

What I have and what I should do



Thnx in advance 👍

The ecu in all cars is same hardware


But different models years and auto or manual requires different calibratio\tune in ecu to work.


Are both cars auto ? And if both from say USA then a 2014 auto ecu will straight swap into a 2016 auto same country no problem


Just use the ECU resync proceedure i posted up. No need to chage vin numbers


If one is auto one manual the you can swap ecu but you will need to reflash with a compatable tune to suit new transmisdion type, auto and manual tunes not compatable. You will be able to preserve your ecutek licience but you will need new tune
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
gt7877 (01-25-2020)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jerky Shifting with Auto trans? coolguy1o1 Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 6 07-07-2019 04:11 PM
Noise when manually shifting auto Impureclient Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 5 02-13-2018 05:49 PM
auto shifting question. VoltsFRS2013 Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 5 09-02-2017 09:13 PM
Auto Shifting in Manual Mode phantasticity Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 22 06-16-2016 09:56 PM
FR-S turbo auto already sold GTA wbradley CANADA 11 11-13-2012 08:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.