follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-30-2018, 09:43 AM   #1
CokeZero
Member
 
CokeZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: 2015 brz
Location: Florida
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Wiring question?

I was just reading into canbus stuff because Iím LS swapping my brz. It seems like a huge headache.

I had planned to run both the brz oem computers to control all factory stuff like lights ac abs ps windows all that good stuff and I was going to run the ls oem ecu with a stand alone harness to run the engine stuff. I know I would have to do something special to get the factory gauges working but thatís all I thought?
CokeZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 10:20 AM   #2
spitsnaugle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Drives: LS Swapped Scion FRS = 440HP
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 279
Thanks: 31
Thanked 226 Times in 114 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CokeZero View Post
I was just reading into canbus stuff because Iím LS swapping my brz. It seems like a huge headache.

I had planned to run both the brz oem computers to control all factory stuff like lights ac abs ps windows all that good stuff and I was going to run the ls oem ecu with a stand alone harness to run the engine stuff. I know I would have to do something special to get the factory gauges working but thatís all I thought?
to run AC and Cruise Control right now your option is to go PureAutomotive Motec & pnp harness.

Colin @ MRS electronics is working on getting it to work with with our cars via his canbus module, using my car as a development mule, but I cant speak to when or if it'll work.

If youre still going the canbus module route, get a stand alone LS harness, from something like SpearTech or WiringSpecialities, then see my post #51 here for some wiring help: http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showt...=128216&page=2
spitsnaugle is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to spitsnaugle For This Useful Post:
Axis2011KR (12-18-2018)
Old 11-30-2018, 11:33 AM   #3
wutsaiu
Senior Member
 
wutsaiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Drives: 2015 Raven V8
Location: Aurora
Posts: 194
Thanks: 111
Thanked 262 Times in 81 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Good luck.
__________________
2015 Scion FRS w/ Turbo 6.2L V8 & 7 Speed

Last edited by wutsaiu; 11-30-2018 at 09:00 PM.
wutsaiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 11:59 AM   #4
CokeZero
Member
 
CokeZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: 2015 brz
Location: Florida
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I don’t understand how that won’t work? Why can’t I have the factory car stuff ran from it’s own computer like the signals lights radio and all of that and just use the ls ecu with its own harness to run the engine and anything else motor related?

Also I need to get my cars oem computer programmed because I replaced security stuff and it doesn’t start right now. If I HAVE to ditch the stock unit should I just forget that? Because the Toyota dealer in my town said they can’t reprogram it and Subaru dealer is a few towns over.
CokeZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 12:40 PM   #5
spitsnaugle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Drives: LS Swapped Scion FRS = 440HP
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 279
Thanks: 31
Thanked 226 Times in 114 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wutsaiu View Post
I don’t think dual ecu setups are common. Every setup I’ve seen is either a fancy ecu like motec or basic standalone with canbus module like MRS or arduino. I have seen no documented setups that actually make use of the stock ecu. I pulled mine out and chucked it.
Standalone + MRS is usually dual ecu setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by CokeZero View Post

1. I don’t understand how that won’t work? Why can’t I have the factory car stuff ran from it’s own computer like the signals lights radio and all of that and just use the ls ecu with its own harness to run the engine and anything else motor related?

2. Also I need to get my cars oem computer programmed because I replaced security stuff and it doesn’t start right now. If I HAVE to ditch the stock unit should I just forget that? Because the Toyota dealer in my town said they can’t reprogram it and Subaru dealer is a few towns over.

1. The factory Subaru computer will handle most everything OUTSIDE of the engine-- BUT AC and cruise control are controlled by the GM or aftermarket ECU is controlling the engine because -- for AC it'll need to activate the fans and increase idle speed -- and Cruise will need to modulate the throttle. So that needs to be communicated by some more intricate canbus work than is currently available (again being worked on by MRS electronics- but no guarantees from me) or a new, more capable ECU (IE Motec).

2. You do not need to have the subaru ECU reprogrammed to my knowledge. I did not need to with my stand-alone setup with my FRS.

Last edited by spitsnaugle; 11-30-2018 at 02:44 PM.
spitsnaugle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 02:31 PM   #6
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,745
Thanks: 19,974
Thanked 8,297 Times in 4,347 Posts
Mentioned: 437 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by CokeZero View Post
I don’t understand how that won’t work? Why can’t I have the factory car stuff ran from it’s own computer like the signals lights radio and all of that and just use the ls ecu with its own harness to run the engine and anything else motor related?

Also I need to get my cars oem computer programmed because I replaced security stuff and it doesn’t start right now. If I HAVE to ditch the stock unit should I just forget that? Because the Toyota dealer in my town said they can’t reprogram it and Subaru dealer is a few towns over.
The factory dash communicates with the engine via Canbus. The canbus communications are used throughout the car systems (ABS, PS, CC, Dash, etc..) in order to report accurate information (basically to work). Furthermore, some of those systems use engine sensors communicating via canbus to work. Because of this, this is not a swap like it happened in the past, where you could just control the engine apart from the car systems and they would just work. The canbus system needs some integration between both parts. This is where a canbus translator or standalone ECU is required to get these systems to function properly.

Yes, some stuff works aside from canbus integration. But CC, PS, Dash, AC, ABS, among others, all need canbus communication to function.

If you go standalone, you won't need the factory ECU at all. I don't know if MRS canbus passes through the security information from the stock ECU or if you can also disregard it, but with the MRS canbus you do need the factory ECU plugged in.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 03:15 PM   #7
CokeZero
Member
 
CokeZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: 2015 brz
Location: Florida
Posts: 42
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Basically I just want the push to start to work, the AC and ABS to work. The dash to work. Couldn’t care less about cruise or anything else
CokeZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 03:29 PM   #8
spitfire481
Senior Member
 
spitfire481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: 2JZ FRS
Location: Pure Automotive Performance
Posts: 1,381
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,347 Times in 621 Posts
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
That's pretty much everything unfortunately. ABS module, body control module, keyless module, ecu (or a standalone that is talking the right canbus language), cluster all have to be talking and happy for everything to work and not error out.
__________________
Pure Automotive Performance
MoTeC
Build Thread
@spitfire481
spitfire481 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2018, 09:13 PM   #9
Zer0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Drives: 2015 frs
Location: Ca
Posts: 478
Thanks: 362
Thanked 179 Times in 137 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spitfire481 View Post
That's pretty much everything unfortunately. ABS module, body control module, keyless module, ecu (or a standalone that is talking the right canbus language), cluster all have to be talking and happy for everything to work and not error out.
Do you guys know any shops that have done a complete rewire to remove the can bus system?
I'm looking to keep power windows door locks, and lights. Power steering may be handled with a module and stock motor or aftermarket electric power steering.
I will just run a custom harness and a GM ecu for the engine.

I want to use a power distribution module to eliminate the fuse blocks and relays as well. Gain some room loose some weight.
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 09:27 AM   #10
spitfire481
Senior Member
 
spitfire481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: 2JZ FRS
Location: Pure Automotive Performance
Posts: 1,381
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,347 Times in 621 Posts
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
Do you guys know any shops that have done a complete rewire to remove the can bus system?
I'm looking to keep power windows door locks, and lights. Power steering may be handled with a module and stock motor or aftermarket electric power steering.
I will just run a custom harness and a GM ecu for the engine.

I want to use a power distribution module to eliminate the fuse blocks and relays as well. Gain some room loose some weight.
our racecar has nothing but a custom harness and a motec pdm/keypad in it. none of the things you are looking for still work or are installed though.
__________________
Pure Automotive Performance
MoTeC
Build Thread
@spitfire481
spitfire481 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to spitfire481 For This Useful Post:
Zer0 (12-03-2018)
Old 12-03-2018, 10:17 AM   #11
Zer0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Drives: 2015 frs
Location: Ca
Posts: 478
Thanks: 362
Thanked 179 Times in 137 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks for the reply. Looks like I may be on my own going this route.
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 03:08 PM   #12
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Thanked 105 Times in 57 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
Thanks for the reply. Looks like I may be on my own going this route.
Since you got push start it will get a bit more complicated. I think MRS controller passes though security stuff though canbus so the use of the factory ecu will be needed for push start. IF you want everything to work go with the motec option.

If you want important creature formorts to work use MRS. But not sure if he has AC working. He has support for push start. but you need to keep your factory ECU.
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2018, 09:02 PM   #13
Zer0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Drives: 2015 frs
Location: Ca
Posts: 478
Thanks: 362
Thanked 179 Times in 137 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Im removing so many components. I think it's better to do a complete rewire on the car.
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 09:08 AM   #14
spitfire481
Senior Member
 
spitfire481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: 2JZ FRS
Location: Pure Automotive Performance
Posts: 1,381
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,347 Times in 621 Posts
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
Im removing so many components. I think it's better to do a complete rewire on the car.
thats what we did on our green car. much nicer in the end
__________________
Pure Automotive Performance
MoTeC
Build Thread
@spitfire481
spitfire481 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to spitfire481 For This Useful Post:
Zer0 (12-10-2018)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tail light wiring question andrew_l_s Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 0 08-14-2015 10:13 PM
DRL Wiring Question afoust50 Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 6 08-14-2014 04:25 PM
headlight wiring question Lydin Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 0 04-11-2014 10:02 PM
Wiring Harness Question Sigh-on-Rice Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 0 08-10-2013 10:46 PM
New Head Unit Wiring Question sikest Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 2 01-17-2013 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.