follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack Specific topics relating to wheels and tires.

User Tag List

Old 09-18-2019, 09:23 PM   #1
LateralGsIfYouPlease

Drives: 13FRS
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question Why RE-71R's torn up after one event?

Hey y'all, appreciate any input here. This is my first time posting, though I've been reading for years. I was so excited to get my new RE-71R's for my birthday. I put them on a second set of wheels just for autocross so I could make them last longer. This is my first significant jump into "performance level" autocross.

But to my dismay, after one event one of the tires got torn up pretty bad. This can't be normal can it? It's worn down the middle section like this:

Name:  RE71R_Wear_1c.jpg
Views: 861
Size:  105.8 KB

Name:  RE71R_Wear_1b.jpg
Views: 816
Size:  450.5 KB

You can see how uneven it is. That edge is worn down about halfway already compared to the rest of the tire.

The other three tires aren't as bad. They look like this:

Name:  RE71R_Wear_2b.jpg
Views: 809
Size:  340.8 KB

So weird how it only happened to one tire, and only down the middle. Like I said, any input would be appreciated, any experiences you can share. I'm just trying to figure out how to avoid this in the future.

thanks

More details below: