follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
ACE Headers
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Forced Induction

Forced Induction Turbo, Supercharger, Methanol, Nitrous


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-26-2018, 11:25 AM   #8093
xjohnx
Grip>Slip
 
xjohnx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 13 SWP BRZ Ltd - Innovate Powered!
Location: RVA
Posts: 3,537
Thanks: 655
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,021 Posts
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad86 View Post
I'm going on the dyno this weekend to get my tune dialed in. Is the tune file locked from Moto-East?
Yes. You're gonna have a hard time finding a tuner that will sell you an unlocked tune.
xjohnx is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to xjohnx For This Useful Post:
Chad86 (01-26-2018)
Old 01-26-2018, 12:13 PM   #8094
Chad86
DrivinginDreams...Cloud86
 
Chad86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: Toyota GT86
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 1,173
Thanks: 1,481
Thanked 266 Times in 178 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodename47 View Post
I would imagine so, yes. Have you got an EcuTek dongle, the software and tune file? If so when you open it up you'll only be able to see the logging parameters.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjohnx View Post
Yes. You're gonna have a hard time finding a tuner that will sell you an unlocked tune.
Yes, I have the dongle, software & tune file from @moto-mike.
If it is locked what are my options with the local shop's dyno & tuner?
__________________
Chad86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2018, 07:39 PM   #8095
Kodename47
Senior Member
 
Kodename47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: UK GT86
Location: UK
Posts: 2,639
Thanks: 168
Thanked 1,347 Times in 927 Posts
Mentioned: 130 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad86 View Post
Yes, I have the dongle, software & tune file from @moto-mike.
If it is locked what are my options with the local shop's dyno & tuner?
You get Moto-East to remote tune on the dyno or you get the shop's tuner to do you a custom tune of his own.
__________________
.: Stealth 86 :.
Abbey Motorsport/K47 Tuned Sprintex 210 Supercharger

Litchfield Springs / Abbey MS Geo
Kodename47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2018, 01:05 PM   #8096
xjohnx
Grip>Slip
 
xjohnx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 13 SWP BRZ Ltd - Innovate Powered!
Location: RVA
Posts: 3,537
Thanks: 655
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,021 Posts
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodename47 View Post
You get Moto-East to remote tune on the dyno or you get the shop's tuner to do you a custom tune of his own.
Yep. Talk to @moto-mike and see if/how he wants to do it. I recently reached out to them to buy an update to a tune I purchased from them a while ago and got no response despite multiple attempts contacting them.

I do see he hasn't been active on the boards for a month and a half now, so I'm not sure if he's still tuning, if i'm somehow on a blacklist or wires just got crossed.

Good luck.
xjohnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2018, 11:33 PM   #8097
moto-mike
Tuner
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Drives: 335SC BRZ (ret), STI, RB25 S13
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 860
Thanks: 344
Thanked 1,451 Times in 494 Posts
Mentioned: 368 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjohnx View Post
Yep. Talk to @moto-mike and see if/how he wants to do it. I recently reached out to them to buy an update to a tune I purchased from them a while ago and got no response despite multiple attempts contacting them.

I do see he hasn't been active on the boards for a month and a half now, so I'm not sure if he's still tuning, if i'm somehow on a blacklist or wires just got crossed.

Good luck.
Definitely still tuning, but unfortunately not as much time to hang out here these days as it has been super busy. I did look through the email accounts and I do not see anything from you recently, you can send a PM if you'd like or resend the email. Sometimes our spam filtering groups some addresses in there.
moto-mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 10:30 AM   #8098
xjohnx
Grip>Slip
 
xjohnx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 13 SWP BRZ Ltd - Innovate Powered!
Location: RVA
Posts: 3,537
Thanks: 655
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,021 Posts
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by moto-mike View Post
Definitely still tuning, but unfortunately not as much time to hang out here these days as it has been super busy. I did look through the email accounts and I do not see anything from you recently, you can send a PM if you'd like or resend the email. Sometimes our spam filtering groups some addresses in there.
Thanks, PM incoming.
xjohnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 11:27 AM   #8099
Lakitu
Senior Member
 
Lakitu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: 2017 Halo 86
Location: Florida
Posts: 288
Thanks: 60
Thanked 71 Times in 58 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
How does remote tuning even work? Do they use software to simulate your build and create a tune that works best for what you have installed? If so, how prone would that be to error?
__________________
Build Thread / Daily Driver
OFT Stage 2+ Tune, GrimmSpeed CAI, JDL Catless UEL/Over Pipe/Catted Front Pipe, FT86 SF Resonated CBE, Enkei 18x8.5 +45 245/35, BC Racing Coilovers
Lakitu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 11:30 AM   #8100
xjohnx
Grip>Slip
 
xjohnx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 13 SWP BRZ Ltd - Innovate Powered!
Location: RVA
Posts: 3,537
Thanks: 655
Thanked 1,685 Times in 1,021 Posts
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakitu View Post
How does remote tuning even work? Do they use software to simulate your build and create a tune that works best for what you have installed? If so, how prone would that be to error?
They send you a tune that should be close to what you need, based on your mods. Then you go out and datalog a number of situations (cold start, cruising, 3rd gear WOT pulls) and send those back to your tuner. The tuner examines the logs and adjusts the tune accordingly.
xjohnx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 06:32 PM   #8101
Joeyb860
Member
 
Joeyb860's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Drives: 2017 860 SPRINTEK
Location: Puyallup Wa
Posts: 51
Thanks: 44
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Ok I think I'm screwed, I installed my 210 intercooled and flashed the hard drive and it ran like Shit with 4 dtc codes. So I started looking around and found that I pinched some wires under the super charger. The codes were for coil b and d and o2 bank 1 sensor one. I repaired the wires and now it will not start at all. Just turns over but no start. Any ideas?
Joeyb860 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 06:56 PM   #8102
riboyster
Senior Member
 
riboyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: 2013 Scion FRS
Location: Maui, HI
Posts: 346
Thanks: 133
Thanked 102 Times in 86 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Any codes?

If it doesn't start now, and you were messing with your coils then that is probably the problem. Maybe you did something wrong and blew the ignition fuse.
__________________
ScreamingElectron - SnakeShit
riboyster is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to riboyster For This Useful Post:
Joeyb860 (02-04-2018)
Old 02-04-2018, 11:10 PM   #8103
Joeyb860
Member
 
Joeyb860's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Drives: 2017 860 SPRINTEK
Location: Puyallup Wa
Posts: 51
Thanks: 44
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by riboyster View Post
Any codes?

If it doesn't start now, and you were messing with your coils then that is probably the problem. Maybe you did something wrong and blew the ignition fuse.
I got it I sotterd the wires and found the ignition fuse blown. Replaced the fuse car started no problem. Thank God.
Joeyb860 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Joeyb860 For This Useful Post:
CK_Bladesmith (02-04-2018), riboyster (02-05-2018)
Old 02-05-2018, 12:53 AM   #8104
sroby
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Drives: 2015 Firestorm 08/05/15
Location: Dallas Ga
Posts: 193
Thanks: 11
Thanked 73 Times in 45 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Joey glad you got it squared away. Keep a chk on your oil level in the charger at least once every 7 days. Don’t forget to chk the level with the car raised in the rear to get an actual good reading. You won’t have any issues. If you ever do once your out of warranty, Jon Bond performance is the best in the business with supercharger. Look up his website and keep it handy. He does have a couple of great mods, that are very affordable for the sprintex platform. I’m loving mine. With ecutek and on E85 I’m at 287 whp and 230 torque with the 210 series. Best of luck to you. Steve
sroby is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sroby For This Useful Post:
CK_Bladesmith (02-05-2018), Joeyb860 (02-07-2018)
Old 02-05-2018, 05:54 PM   #8105
riboyster
Senior Member
 
riboyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: 2013 Scion FRS
Location: Maui, HI
Posts: 346
Thanks: 133
Thanked 102 Times in 86 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I've run my supercharger with no oil for the last year. There was a drop on the sight glass that threw me. It handles just fine but you do lose performance.
Needless to say, I have replaced the oil lol
__________________
ScreamingElectron - SnakeShit
riboyster is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to riboyster For This Useful Post:
Joeyb860 (02-07-2018)
Old 02-07-2018, 09:34 PM   #8106
revaholic
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Drives: 2016 Ablaze Scion FR-S
Location: Toronto
Posts: 66
Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Hey all, wanted your opinion on something. I'm having a Sprintex intercooled installed on my FRS, as well as a perrin oil cooler. The car is completely stock except for an axleback, which means the headers are stock and I'm running 91 octane. The tuners is getting lower than expected power on the dyno, about 170whp, compared to an non-intercooled version also with stock headers and 91 which they say are making about 185whp. I never noticed any issues with the car otherwise, and will probably get a header down the road, just didn't want to do it right now with the money I'm spending. Any ideas on what the problem could be if not the gas and headers?
revaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
2 whp better than n/a e85, 2 whp? you're an idiot., 2screwsbetterthan0screw, 65 whp better than na e85, bspt fittings ftl, hate u all me no have sc, im just here for the tags, inorite!, it's no turbo but, only big numbers matter, screwyou, whine sexier than turbo, whines_more_than_your_gf, wts grey market butthurt.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Innovative ideas to increase interior storage capacity? swift996 Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 0 01-30-2013 11:45 PM
AVO vs Innovative diss7 Forced Induction 32 01-21-2013 07:15 PM
Not another need to drive topic Sargy Mid-Atlantic 5 11-27-2012 01:18 PM
Technical topic sub-forums OrbitalEllipses Site Announcements / Questions / Issues 1 07-17-2012 11:38 PM
Can you close the topic please? Standardsuspension Brakes, Suspension, Chassis 14 06-26-2012 05:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.