follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-02-2018, 02:42 PM   #1
letsteyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Drives: GT86 turbo FA20DIT
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Toyota GT86 FA20DIT swap

Hi guys. A topic to show you my swap which is allmost finished.
The original engine of my GT86 was broken. So i bought a wrx 2015 FA20DIT (new).

Here are the mods which are finished:
- exhaust towards driver side
- FMIC (same volume as WRX TMIC)
- a complete intake manifold to integrate dual injector ports
- GT86 PI injectors + FA20DIT DI injectors
- lambdas, maf moved
- evaporative valve removed
- intake depressure + bypass for mastervac brakes

Remaining work : engine tuning.
- i ve kept the GT86 wiring (almost plug n play with FA20DIT sensors)
- the engine starts but doesn t sounds well even with playing on the tune (100% PI, 100% DI, lean, rich...)
- tactrix OP2 + ecuflash write/read sucessfull

I ve seen WRX2015 roms and ignition tables (and AVCS) are very différent from GT86. So i m thinking about buying a complete WRX2015 ECM + keys.
letsteyr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to letsteyr For This Useful Post:
Alltezza (07-02-2018), CxG (09-18-2018), ermax (07-02-2018), HKz (07-03-2018), Lorico (07-04-2018), tehShirt (07-03-2018)
Old 07-02-2018, 02:55 PM   #2
letsteyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Drives: GT86 turbo FA20DIT
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
See attached pictures !
Attached Images
     
letsteyr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to letsteyr For This Useful Post:
arkanist (07-02-2018), CxG (09-18-2018), Draco_PR23 (07-03-2018), ermax (07-02-2018), FRSBRZGT86FAN (07-02-2018), ILLSMOQ (07-02-2018), Joesurf79 (07-02-2018), Leonardo (07-02-2018), Lorico (07-04-2018), PuslarBrrrz (07-02-2018), spike021 (07-03-2018), tehShirt (07-03-2018), Teseo (08-16-2018), toast (07-02-2018), weederr33 (08-10-2018), yelsew (07-02-2018)
Old 07-02-2018, 09:22 PM   #3
FRSBRZGT86FAN
Senior Member
 
FRSBRZGT86FAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: 2015 FR-S AT, 2016 CX-5
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,976
Thanks: 2,918
Thanked 1,888 Times in 1,267 Posts
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by letsteyr View Post
See attached pictures !

Thats actually really cool man, may I ask how much that costed you after you were all said and done?
__________________
OFT Stage 2 UEL E85/Nameless Performance 3 inch axleback with 5 inch mufflers/ TRD CAI / CNT UEL/ Cusco Strut BAR & LHD Brake Stop / "JDM" Toyota Badges / WinJet JDM headlights - DRL MOD from fteightysix.com - 5000K Diode Dynamics HID kit / Diode Dynamics LED interior Lights and sidemarker bulbs / JDM Clear Sidemarkers / Diode Dynamics LED switchbacks/ OLM LED rear turn signals / Tap Turn Relay
FRSBRZGT86FAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 05:15 AM   #4
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,942
Thanks: 936
Thanked 4,358 Times in 2,605 Posts
Mentioned: 476 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Impressive work.


If you try to use dit ecu your going to run into al sorts of issues intergrating it into existing security system and to abs\vsc systems power steering dash cluster. Their an imobilier authentications unit as well that keys and engine ecu talk to and in key start cars the dash is linked.


Also you said you used the dit direct intectors they may be differnt flow rates and pressires requored tjan with the fa20 direct injectprs and the fa20 injectpr driver ecu under bonnet is set up for fa20 direct injectprs and is not programmable with known tools.


You probably going to need to get a motec brz86 ecu to try to intergrate the two systems
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 04:34 PM   #5
letsteyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Drives: GT86 turbo FA20DIT
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks for comments !

Price: i bought the full fa20dit for 6500euros and a friend of mine is the king off welding inox ! So just bought the FMIC.

Tune: thanks for advice !
- i completly agree, with fa20dit ECM, even with keys+transponder+dahsboard, it will be hard to make can modules communicate together.
- about using GT86 ECM: does someone knows if motec os pnp ? Will i be able to set FA20DIT AVCS ?

Thanks for help !
letsteyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 05:49 PM   #6
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,942
Thanks: 936
Thanked 4,358 Times in 2,605 Posts
Mentioned: 476 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by letsteyr View Post
Thanks for comments !

Price: i bought the full fa20dit for 6500euros and a friend of mine is the king off welding inox ! So just bought the FMIC.

Tune: thanks for advice !
- i completly agree, with fa20dit ECM, even with keys+transponder+dahsboard, it will be hard to make can modules communicate together.
- about using GT86 ECM: does someone knows if motec os pnp ? Will i be able to set FA20DIT AVCS ?

Thanks for help !

Motec do make a plug and play ecu for brz\86 however i do not know if it can drive dit avcs or dit direct injection systems have to ask motec. They do sell a specific engine swap ecu for brz\86





https://www.motec.com.au/Toyota86201...862012FA20D-O/
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 07:15 PM   #7
Alltezza
Senior Member
 
Alltezza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: WRB Limited BRZ
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 657
Thanks: 437
Thanked 257 Times in 163 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
That looks amazing! Please keep us updated!
Alltezza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 06:35 AM   #8
Kodename47
Senior Member
 
Kodename47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: UK GT86
Location: UK
Posts: 2,691
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,377 Times in 948 Posts
Mentioned: 131 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
Also you said you used the dit direct intectors they may be differnt flow rates and pressires requored tjan with the fa20 direct injectprs and the fa20 injectpr driver ecu under bonnet is set up for fa20 direct injectprs and is not programmable with known tools.
I'm sure your could compensate in the OEM GT86 ECU. The DIT does indeed have larger DI injectors. If you go EcuTek you might find they can help as they also do the DIT ECU so might be able to provide info required to get the DI injectors running. At the end of the day the DI ECU just primarily operates the IPW.
__________________
.: Stealth 86 :.
Abbey Motorsport/K47 Tuned Sprintex 210 Supercharger

Litchfield Springs / Abbey MS Geo
Kodename47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 12:06 PM   #9
letsteyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Drives: GT86 turbo FA20DIT
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I ve many tables ti tune with the oem GT86 ECM.
I ve tried to force all ipw to PI (it works) but engine not very well.
I ve tried to force all ipw to DI (it works too) but still engine not going well.
I ve tried to enrich and lean same result.

I m afraid cams and AVCS are hugely different and maybe their offset/zero and synchronisation cannot be dealed with GT86 parameters. This kind of parameters are not in tables but included in the code and hard to modify.
letsteyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 06:33 PM   #10
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,942
Thanks: 936
Thanked 4,358 Times in 2,605 Posts
Mentioned: 476 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodename47 View Post
I'm sure your could compensate in the OEM GT86 ECU. The DIT does indeed have larger DI injectors. If you go EcuTek you might find they can help as they also do the DIT ECU so might be able to provide info required to get the DI injectors running. At the end of the day the DI ECU just primarily operates the IPW.

Yeah true i was more thinking along the lines of the dit injectors probably wont physically fit. And the brz ecu software is expecting the brzdi control ecu. And im not sure if the dit and fa20 injectprs are electricly same if require s same voltages and currents to operate. Think its just going to get difficult. That di control ecu looks lile it would have a bit nore electronics and smarts in it given the number of wires going into it . I suspect it interacts with ecu firmware maybe.

The dit ecu is hitachi unit and brz ecu is denso completly differnt hardware and firmware, i think intergration will be difficult. Maybe ecutek can help but would be timeconsumng task

Last edited by steve99; 07-04-2018 at 06:46 PM.
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 07:08 PM   #11
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,942
Thanks: 936
Thanked 4,358 Times in 2,605 Posts
Mentioned: 476 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by letsteyr View Post
I ve many tables ti tune with the oem GT86 ECM.
I ve tried to force all ipw to PI (it works) but engine not very well.
I ve tried to force all ipw to DI (it works too) but still engine not going well.
I ve tried to enrich and lean same result.

I m afraid cams and AVCS are hugely different and maybe their offset/zero and synchronisation cannot be dealed with GT86 parameters. This kind of parameters are not in tables but included in the code and hard to modify.



I think what's happening and im only guessing, is that as the brz ecu is not seeing the correct signals from sensors like cam position oxygen or DI injector driver is likey running in "limp home mode" where the ecu just run a very basic safe set of parameters fueling and timing and leaves cams disabled In this mode most of the normal fueling and timing tables cam tables are not used, so thats likely why your changes have no effect.


The ecu runs diagnistics on vvti system throttle system amd many other sensors for example if it doesnt see normal signals it wont try to use vvt system or take inpits from that sensor, and oftem go into limp mode

Last edited by steve99; 07-04-2018 at 10:52 PM.
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 11:27 AM   #12
letsteyr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Drives: GT86 turbo FA20DIT
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
What is strange is that i got no trouble code remaining.
I had only the evaporative valve (that i removed) and i have remove perfectly the corresponding DTC.

So if injectors were'nt recognized or a huge problem of synchronisation, i would see it!
letsteyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 03:55 AM   #13
Kodename47
Senior Member
 
Kodename47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: UK GT86
Location: UK
Posts: 2,691
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,377 Times in 948 Posts
Mentioned: 131 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
This is where having a decent amount of logging capability would help. You should be able to start and idle on PI. The DI parameters will need changing to suit the larger injectors and then go from there. Unless the cams are really out then the idle should be OK but it helps to log the positions/voltages of the CPS and OCVs.
__________________
.: Stealth 86 :.
Abbey Motorsport/K47 Tuned Sprintex 210 Supercharger

Litchfield Springs / Abbey MS Geo
Kodename47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 02:20 PM   #14
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Where are you exactly in France ?

Great project if it could be achieved in an almost p'n'p way (let's say intake, exhaust and a remap... i'm dreaming ^^)
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GT86 transmission swap from the WRX STI sman Engine Swaps 1 10-17-2016 08:45 AM
Toyota left a nice surprise if you're doing a Toyota motor swap.. Manji Engine Swaps 15 01-07-2015 02:48 AM
My GT86 headlights swap Drull Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 0 11-24-2014 10:46 AM
FA20DIT parts glorydays Forced Induction 8 03-14-2014 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.