follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2015, 10:50 PM   #85
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,570
Thanks: 907
Thanked 4,146 Times in 2,476 Posts
Mentioned: 445 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucasFT86 View Post
@steve99 @jamesm @Shiv@Openflash

So a month after switching back from E85 tune to stage 1 tune, I decided to plug in my OFT and noticed my adv multiplier was down from 1 to 0.80 . It's pretty much always been at 1 even when I was running E85 on the stage 2 tune. I took a short datalog with a decently hard pull and adv multiplier increased by .01 after the pull. Heres the link to datazap:

http://www.datazap.me/u/lucasft86/lo...-9-10-12-13-14

any ideas why its down to 0.8?
No knock correction in that log and flkc is returning timing arround 3000 rpm area,and iam is 0.8, knock must have occurred prior to that log, you will need to log some more.

try some light partial throttle runs 3000 to 6000 to get the iam back to 1 then some full throttle runs and some driving in the 1500 to 4000 rpm area in high gear high load and se if it knocks.

might have been a bad batch of fuel.
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
LucasFT86 (04-13-2015)
Old 04-13-2015, 10:53 PM   #86
LucasFT86
86ONE Member
 
LucasFT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Drives: 2014 Scion FRS
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 31
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
No knock correction in that log and flkc is returning timing arround 3000 rpm area,and iam is 0.8, knock must have occurred prior to that log, you will need to log some more.

try some light partial throttle runs 3000 to 6000 to get the iam back to 1 then some full throttle runs and some driving in the 1500 to 4000 rpm area in high gear high load and se if it knocks.

might have been a bad batch of fuel.
ok thanks, I'll do another log and get back to you.
__________________
LucasFT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 02:56 AM   #87
JB86'd
Senior Member
 
JB86'd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Drives: JAWS
Location: socal
Posts: 703
Thanks: 753
Thanked 434 Times in 224 Posts
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
So if your IAM is at 1, can FLKC still be stored so even though you're at IAM 1, timing is being pulled in certain spots?
__________________
JB86'd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 06:09 AM   #88
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,570
Thanks: 907
Thanked 4,146 Times in 2,476 Posts
Mentioned: 445 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JB86'd View Post
So if your IAM is at 1, can FLKC still be stored so even though you're at IAM 1, timing is being pulled in certain spots?
Its fairly complex see here this was for 16 bit ecu but appears similar to our 32 bit ecu nore their iam was 0 to 16 where ours 0 to 1 and our correction value is 0.35 not 1 or two degrees ( oft tunes changes values from stock)
http://www.romraider.com/forum/topic1840.html

If IAM is 1 then flkc can only be negitive, if iam is less than one it can be positive or negitive.Appears when your iam increments or decrements then flkc table is cleared.
Dont worry i had to read it ten times bgefore it started to make sense
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 06:46 AM   #89
Kodename47
Senior Member
 
Kodename47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: UK GT86
Location: UK
Posts: 2,545
Thanks: 167
Thanked 1,305 Times in 902 Posts
Mentioned: 129 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JB86'd View Post
So if your IAM is at 1, can FLKC still be stored so even though you're at IAM 1, timing is being pulled in certain spots?
Yes. It's because of consistent FLKC or FBKC that will cause the IAM to reduce.
__________________
.: Stealth 86 :.
Abbey Motorsport/K47 Tuned Sprintex 210 Supercharger

Litchfield Springs / Abbey MS Geo
Kodename47 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kodename47 For This Useful Post:
JB86'd (04-14-2015)
Old 04-14-2015, 06:57 AM   #90
JB86'd
Senior Member
 
JB86'd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Drives: JAWS
Location: socal
Posts: 703
Thanks: 753
Thanked 434 Times in 224 Posts
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kodename47 View Post
Yes. It's because of consistent FLKC or FBKC that will cause the IAM to reduce.
So what I'm trying to get at is, even if your IAM is 1 (ECU is making no changes over entire timing table), your ECU can still be pulling timing in certain ranges due to stored FLKC, and add the timing back if it sees fit at some point, all without IAM changing? In simpler terms, if your IAM is 1 it doesn't mean you're 100% knock free?
__________________
JB86'd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 07:20 AM   #91
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,570
Thanks: 907
Thanked 4,146 Times in 2,476 Posts
Mentioned: 445 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JB86'd View Post
So what I'm trying to get at is, even if your IAM is 1 (ECU is making no changes over entire timing table), your ECU can still be pulling timing in certain ranges due to stored FLKC, and add the timing back if it sees fit at some point, all without IAM changing? In simpler terms, if your IAM is 1 it doesn't mean you're 100% knock free?
Yes even if iam is 1 flkc can still be active as can fbkc.

you can have low levels of either type of knock detection occasionally and iam will say at one. The ecu has some weird algorythm where if it sees certian levels of knock in a certian period it will decrement iam, if knock is under these levels of size duration and frequency then iam is not decremented, conversly if it sees levels of knock below these thresholds it will try to increment the iam if it is less than 1
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
JB86'd (04-14-2015)
Old 04-14-2015, 09:33 PM   #92
LucasFT86
86ONE Member
 
LucasFT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Drives: 2014 Scion FRS
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 31
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
UPDATE: So I got the adv multiplier up to 1.0 shown in log 1 with partial throttle pulls. In log 2 I was commuting to school attempting to cause knock not sure if it knocked at all. Log 3 was during my commute from school to work. I noticed adv multiplier started to drop while on the highway. It went down as low as 0.64

log 1: http://www.datazap.me/u/lucasft86/lo...10-11-12-13-14

log 2: http://www.datazap.me/u/lucasft86/lo...10-11-12-13-14

log 3: http://www.datazap.me/u/lucasft86/lo...10-11-12-13-14

@steve99 @Shiv@Openflash @jamesm
__________________
LucasFT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 10:33 PM   #93
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,570
Thanks: 907
Thanked 4,146 Times in 2,476 Posts
Mentioned: 445 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucasFT86 View Post
UPDATE: So I got the adv multiplier up to 1.0 shown in log 1 with partial throttle pulls. In log 2 I was commuting to school attempting to cause knock not sure if it knocked at all. Log 3 was during my commute from school to work. I noticed adv multiplier started to drop while on the highway. It went down as low as 0.64

log 1: http://www.datazap.me/u/lucasft86/lo...10-11-12-13-14

log 2: http://www.datazap.me/u/lucasft86/lo...10-11-12-13-14

log 3: http://www.datazap.me/u/lucasft86/lo...10-11-12-13-14

@steve99 @Shiv@Openflash @jamesm
Ok what happening is pretty normal on 91 fuel, some brands are better or worse but if you want to fix it either

A ask one of the california guys for a copy of their modded 91 rom or Base Timing B changes

B read the knock correctio links below
from a quick look if you pull about 1 degree from your Base Timing B table , rpms from 2600 to 3400 and loads 0.8 to 1.4 should fix it.
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
LucasFT86 (04-14-2015)
Old 04-14-2015, 10:37 PM   #94
LucasFT86
86ONE Member
 
LucasFT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Drives: 2014 Scion FRS
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 31
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
Ok what happening is pretty normal on 91 fuel, some brands are better or worse but if you want to fix it either

A ask one of the california guys for a copy of their modded 91 rom or Base Timing B changes

B read the knock correctio links below
from a quick look if you pull about 1 degree from your Base Timing B table , rpms from 2600 to 3400 and loads 0.8 to 1.4 should fix it.
I only use 93 octane since day one
__________________
LucasFT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 10:48 PM   #95
LucasFT86
86ONE Member
 
LucasFT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Drives: 2014 Scion FRS
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 31
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
@steve99 now that I think about it I usually use Shell 93 and I think I'm running Sunoco 93 right now. I'll fill up with Shell and see if it goes away.
__________________
LucasFT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to LucasFT86 For This Useful Post:
steve99 (04-15-2015)
Old 04-15-2015, 07:36 AM   #96
wparsons
Senior Member
 
wparsons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2013 Asphalt FR-S Manual
Location: Whitby, ON, Canada
Posts: 5,759
Thanks: 5,695
Thanked 2,672 Times in 1,736 Posts
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
I get more knock on a 91 octane tune with 91 octane gas commuting on the highway than I do beating on it on a track. It's the light-mid load lowish rpm range that's the worst, right about where the RPM's sit at highway speeds.

I don't find I'm getting anywhere near as much knock on a 93 octane tune with 94 octane under the same driving conditions.
__________________
Light travels faster than sound, so people may appear to be bright until you hear them speak...
flickr
wparsons is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wparsons For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (04-15-2015)
Old 04-15-2015, 05:20 PM   #97
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,570
Thanks: 907
Thanked 4,146 Times in 2,476 Posts
Mentioned: 445 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wparsons View Post
I get more knock on a 91 octane tune with 91 octane gas commuting on the highway than I do beating on it on a track. It's the light-mid load lowish rpm range that's the worst, right about where the RPM's sit at highway speeds.

I don't find I'm getting anywhere near as much knock on a 93 octane tune with 94 octane under the same driving conditions.
Correct as 91 &93 tunes are same except for timing above 5000 rpm. So below 5000 it same tune your running on 91 vs 94 octane
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
LucasFT86 (04-18-2015), wparsons (04-15-2015)
Old 04-17-2015, 11:05 PM   #98
LucasFT86
86ONE Member
 
LucasFT86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Drives: 2014 Scion FRS
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 31
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
@steve99 I just put in a K&N drop in filter today and idle afr switches from 14.7 to 14.8. Am I running a tiny bit lean? Should I reflash the stage 1 tune?
__________________
LucasFT86 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
K&N Air Filter installed, MPG dropping? HATED1 Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 32 02-14-2018 01:37 AM
Santa keeps dropping the BRZS off HeubergerMotors Subaru BRZ General Forum 11 12-19-2013 07:26 PM
Displaying the Adv Multiplier sw20kosh Software Tuning 12 12-09-2013 11:42 PM
Multiplier and offset for OMNI 2.5 bar map sensor? ATSAaron Forced Induction 2 10-28-2013 11:16 AM
Dropping car off Friday for TSB service.. some questions pgeist Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 6 07-15-2013 02:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.