follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
86SPEED
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2014, 08:23 AM   #169
4wheelinls1
Tuner
 
4wheelinls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Drives: GT 86
Location: Carrum Downs
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
If you look at the tunes in first post OFT TUNES, they changed the ignition maping and cam timings extensivly compared to stock map

Found same thing with iat and knock , have made the iat vs timing retard tables cut in slightly earlier and increased retard around 3000 rpm where stoch table applied no retard
Yep definite differences. I have less in the base but more in ignition advance table. than the 100 oct. I removed more from the transient ignition retard around 2000 to 3000 rmp and made IAT/coolant multiplier more aggressive from 40 deg c. I'm using BRZ edit. Still messing with the cams around the torque dip
4wheelinls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 4wheelinls1 For This Useful Post:
steve99 (07-01-2014)
Old 07-01-2014, 09:43 AM   #170
Kodename47
Senior Member
 
Kodename47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: UK GT86
Location: UK
Posts: 2,674
Thanks: 171
Thanked 1,374 Times in 946 Posts
Mentioned: 131 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Don't forget there's a table for the amount of IAT retard dependant on load and rpm as well as the base temperature table.
__________________
.: Stealth 86 :.
Abbey Motorsport/K47 Tuned Sprintex 210 Supercharger

Litchfield Springs / Abbey MS Geo
Kodename47 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kodename47 For This Useful Post:
steve99 (07-01-2014)
Old 07-07-2014, 02:52 AM   #171
myioz86
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Drives: gt-86 2013
Location: cairns qld australia
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
Anything to boost the octane should help, as long as you follow manufacturers (torco) directions should be fine.

Have you tried united 100 octane fuel ??

If you have non-ethanol 98 octane you can add 10% or so of E85 this can boost your octane rating a couple of points.
steve99 i tried some of that torco in the tank 1/2 what the manfactors rec and the difference is amazing . i raised the fuel octane by+2 and even that amount made a difference. the car runs smoother ,quiter and pulls much harder. i might just use the least amount possible and make the most of the tune with that in it. i think shives stage 2 uel tune works well with this in it. now all i have to do is maf setting.this stuff can raise your octane up to +14 that would be wild but wont go there
myioz86 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to myioz86 For This Useful Post:
steve99 (07-07-2014)
Old 07-07-2014, 03:38 AM   #172
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,908
Thanks: 933
Thanked 4,335 Times in 2,592 Posts
Mentioned: 472 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by myioz86 View Post
steve99 i tried some of that torco in the tank 1/2 what the manfactors rec and the difference is amazing . i raised the fuel octane by+2 and even that amount made a difference. the car runs smoother ,quiter and pulls much harder. i might just use the least amount possible and make the most of the tune with that in it. i think shives stage 2 uel tune works well with this in it. now all i have to do is maf setting.this stuff can raise your octane up to +14 that would be wild but wont go there
Basicly once you IAM is 1 and no other significant knock then that is the max power your going to make with that tune as the ECU will not advance timing any more it running the max advance in the tables , you could use 130 octane and no further gains would result , you then have to change mapping to take advantage of the higher octane fuel, but even then their are limits

scaling your MAF is worth it even on stock intake as its often "out" by about 8% or more so if you can get fueling error down to less than 3% you will have a smoother drive and tighter control over your AFR over whole rev range which can also help reduce knock. It also means the tune is running closer to what the original tuner set in terms of AFR.

Last edited by steve99; 07-07-2014 at 04:16 AM.
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 06:48 PM   #173
myioz86
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Drives: gt-86 2013
Location: cairns qld australia
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks for that steve99 , have not made any changes yet just feels like the fuel octane ratting is matching the tune of shivs much better now. will check what you told me to and see how it looks tonight.As its only costing me $7.50 extra for a tank of 38lt bp ultamate with 240ml of torco to raise octane up +2 = 100ron fuel i think its well worth it.
myioz86 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to myioz86 For This Useful Post:
steve99 (07-07-2014)
Old 07-17-2014, 08:11 PM   #174
Turdinator
Seņor Member
 
Turdinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: 86 GT/'74 TA22 Celica/Kangaroo
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,351
Thanks: 960
Thanked 553 Times in 343 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesm View Post
Whenever i change the port ratios i just change all 3 tables at once. I've found that always running the minimum amount of port ratio necessary for a given setup will allow for significant gains in terms of knock suppression on pump gas.

I essentially monitor Direct Injection Time Final and/or DI requested volume (the latter of which is only available in an unreleased RaceRom beta, so not much use to most folks). I'll then gradually bring down the PI ratio until i'm ~10-20% under what i consider to be a safe limit (1ml or 6.5ms depending on the param that i have access to).

I used this technique on an NA tune last night and was able to make considerable horsepower up top in the most knock-proned area of the curve. With stock port ratios knock up there was an issue @ ~15-17whp over stock (can't remember the actual timing or AFR values, i'd have to look), and by the time i brought down the port ratio and added a couple other tricks we were at 29whp over stock with no knock in sight.

something to consider trying if you're fighting knock above 6500rpm or so. On an NA car you'll never get close to any limitation, even with 0% port ratio across the board.
@jamesm posted this in the MAF scaling thread but I thought it might be something for those of us exprerincing knock due to shitty fuel to think about.
__________________
1974 TA22 Celica
2013 86 GT
Turdinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 05:39 AM   #175
Wayno
Senior Member
 
Wayno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: Toyota 86 GTS
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,099
Thanks: 446
Thanked 849 Times in 405 Posts
Mentioned: 198 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Here's Steve's changes made to G and I 700, A00 and A01 series roms for Stage 1.
Attached Files
File Type: zip OFT v1_59 Stg1 AU98RON 2014-08-07.zip (2.97 MB, 59 views)

Last edited by Wayno; 08-07-2014 at 06:09 PM.
Wayno is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wayno For This Useful Post:
steve99 (08-07-2014)
Old 08-07-2014, 08:30 PM   #176
keen as
Senior Member
 
keen as's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Drives: 86 GT MT
Location: Sydney
Posts: 172
Thanks: 252
Thanked 79 Times in 44 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Any further info about the detail of the changes? Thanks
keen as is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 09:08 PM   #177
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,908
Thanks: 933
Thanked 4,335 Times in 2,592 Posts
Mentioned: 472 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by keen as View Post
Any further info about the detail of the changes? Thanks
As I understand it @Wayno copied in the Base_Timing_B ingnition map changes I did for Manual car ie A01G roms as per Ist post in this thread and copied them to the automatic "I" series roms as well at the earlier 700 and A00 roms
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
keen as (08-07-2014)
Old 08-09-2014, 11:16 PM   #178
dtek
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Drives: 86 A00I
Location: Next door to Wayno
Posts: 33
Thanks: 20
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayno View Post
Here's Steve's changes made to G and I 700, A00 and A01 series roms for Stage 1.
I'm seeing an error when I add map to OFM:

"The checksum of ...A00I... is wrong"

Tried resaving the bin out of RomRaider where it prompts to correct the checksum, does the same error. Any tips?
dtek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 12:24 AM   #179
Wayno
Senior Member
 
Wayno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: Toyota 86 GTS
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,099
Thanks: 446
Thanked 849 Times in 405 Posts
Mentioned: 198 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtek View Post
I'm seeing an error when I add map to OFM:

"The checksum of ...A00I... is wrong"

Tried resaving the bin out of RomRaider where it prompts to correct the checksum, does the same error. Any tips?
I didn't modify this one personally, I just pulled it from the aussie oft facebook group. I think only one person is using it there.

If you can use romraider then it's easy enough to do your own using steve's first post, copying the table from his G map.
Wayno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2014, 01:36 AM   #180
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,908
Thanks: 933
Thanked 4,335 Times in 2,592 Posts
Mentioned: 472 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtek View Post
I'm seeing an error when I add map to OFM:

"The checksum of ...A00I... is wrong"

Tried resaving the bin out of RomRaider where it prompts to correct the checksum, does the same error. Any tips?
+1 on what @Wayno said above.

Open the ron in romraider and check a table like the timing table and see it look ok , the OFT should correct the checksum when it writes

Check yo have latest version of RR the rearly old ones did not do checksums correctly and the OFT had to do it for you but the current version should sort out checksums make sure you save rom after you click fix checksum
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 11:51 PM   #181
Wayno
Senior Member
 
Wayno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: Toyota 86 GTS
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,099
Thanks: 446
Thanked 849 Times in 405 Posts
Mentioned: 198 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
+1 on what @Wayno said above.

Open the ron in romraider and check a table like the timing table and see it look ok , the OFT should correct the checksum when it writes

Check yo have latest version of RR the rearly old ones did not do checksums correctly and the OFT had to do it for you but the current version should sort out checksums make sure you save rom after you click fix checksum
As far as I know, when Dean edited them, he didn't fix any checksums, at least that's what he told me to do for the powerblock ones.
Wayno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 03:17 AM   #182
dtek
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Drives: 86 A00I
Location: Next door to Wayno
Posts: 33
Thanks: 20
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
+1 on what @Wayno said above.
Open the ron in romraider and check a table like the timing table and see it look ok , the OFT should correct the checksum when it writes
OK, thanks for the input but not having any luck.

In RR (version 0.5.8) I can open the BINs, it warns of a corruption or checksum issue but still opens the tables, all looks OK. Then when I do a 'save as' it prompts to proceed to correct checksums, which I 'ok' of course.

In OFM, when I try to import the new BIN, I get these three pop ups in sequence:

https://imgur.com/a/8dqFg

So end result is, no adding of the map to OFM possible. Pretty frustrating.
dtek is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Knock Correction vs Knock Correction Learn values? swift996 Software Tuning 19 11-03-2015 11:09 PM
Dynosty Fuel System Upgrades- Billet Fuel Rails!!! Dustin@Dynosty Forced Induction 4 10-08-2014 10:00 AM
FuelLog (Android) App:~10k miles of MPG, Range, Fuel Prices, Fuel Qty, Etc. MmmDieselFumes Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 28 02-02-2014 09:19 PM
Fuel gauge misreading actual fuel in tank. Scionshaun Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 19 10-09-2013 03:39 PM
Dynosty FR-S/BRZ Fuel System Upgrades! Deatschwerks DW65C Fuel Pump Dustin@Dynosty Engine, Exhaust, Bolt-Ons 3 08-21-2012 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.