follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > FT86CLUB Shared Forum > FR-S / BRZ vs....

FR-S / BRZ vs.... Area to discuss the FR-S/BRZ against its competitors [NO STREET RACING]

User Tag List

Old 02-03-2013, 11:38 PM   #1
Caustik

Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
RWD Coupe vs AWD Sedan vs FWD Hot Hatch

So guys, I'm currently trying to decide on what car I want to get. I currently drive a 1996 Honda Accord coupe that I've been driving since high school (I graduated college last May and have a full time job atm). I've been saving up for a new car and want to get something fun to drive, as it is a good time for me to do so not having any kids yet and whatnot. My price range is 20-30k, preferably somewhere in the middle. I have identified a lot of cars that seem interesting/fun in this price range, and they all seem to fit inside one of the three categories listed in the title.

RWD Coupes:

Scion FRS/Subaru BRZ
Hyundai Genesis Coupe

AWD Sedans:

Subaru WRX
Mitsubishi Lancer Ralliart

FWD Hot Hatches:

Volkswagen GTI
Mazdaspeed 3

Problem is, I don't know which kind of car is the best for me. I don't have an overwhelming preference for any of the three, although I tend to lean towards RWD or AWD over FWD as from an engineering perspective (I'm a mechanical engineer) I know using a FWD platform for a sports car is a poor choice (torque steer, understeer, weight distribution, etc). I am learning how to drive a manual car on my friend's beater and would prefer to get a manual car if I get any of the above (although some come only in manual anyway).