follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.

User Tag List

Old 01-22-2019, 03:39 PM   #1
Stang70Fastback
A.K.A. Starlord

Drives: 2015 Series.Blue
Thanked 2,099 Times in 834 Posts
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
ACE Header/Overpipe, and STI Engine Mounts: Looking for Tips

Hey folks. I've never done any of this stuff on a car before, so I'm just looking for some tips before I get started. I have installed coilovers, swapped to a BBK, installed a catback, and done other stuff, so I consider myself mechanically competent, but I've not done these mods specifically ever before.

A few questions:

1. Sounds like all I really need to do is remove the medal skid plate (and maybe the fiberglass one as well) in order to make everything "accessible" under the car.

2. Do I need any special tools, and are there any special precautions I need to take, when removing the O2 sensor(s)? Still unsure if it's one or two sensors I'll be removing. It's just one, right? I keep hearing the wires are fragile, and the sensors are sensitive. Will a normal wrench/socket work for removing these?

3. Removing the header sounds simple enough - undo a bunch of bolts. I know it won't be because the car has seen 5 salty winters, and almost 70,000 miles, so I'm sure lots of PB blaster will be involved (hopefully nothing more), but the physical removal sounds simple enough.