follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-02-2019, 06:49 PM   #141
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 6,492
Thanks: 428
Thanked 4,057 Times in 2,629 Posts
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Ran a trigger test. No cam signal. Either sensor is bad or the wiring is wrong. One wire checks to ground, the other 2 have 5v. Pretty sure one should have 12v so I suspect wiring problem. Fixing this will likely since my idle/start issues
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 11:23 PM   #142
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 6,492
Thanks: 428
Thanked 4,057 Times in 2,629 Posts
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
So the Hydra Nemesis doesn't use the cam sensor. So I checked cam timing (this is a massive fucking pain in the ass. 100% check this before installing your engine) it seemed to me to be misaligned so I got a new timing kit. Trick Flow, double chain
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Ashikabi For This Useful Post:
nos145 (06-10-2019), Sportsguy83 (06-10-2019), Zer0 (06-10-2019)
Old 06-10-2019, 10:15 PM   #143
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 6,492
Thanks: 428
Thanked 4,057 Times in 2,629 Posts
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
FYI it's "possible" to remove and replace the oil pump without removing the oil pan. But you have to get at this bolt and remove/replace it without dropping it in the oil pan. I used a standard 10mm wrench, a brake bleeder wrench (the more enclosed ones, the head was at an angle) a wire noose(prevent the bolt from being lost if it fell, a couple screwdrivers and picks.

Get it out halfway then get the noose around it, remove the bolt.

Do your shit before the motor is in. This was awful.

Use a file or grinder to cut little notches in the flange on the bolt.(the girlfriend cut the notches in the head, not the flange)

Move the oil pickup O-ring from the pump onto the male end of the pickup.

Use tension on your wire and a screwdriver to work the screw into it's hole. Use a screwdriver to hold the bolt up in place while you use another screw driver(in the notches you cut) to turn the bolt. Once you are halfway in you can switch to the wrenches if you like. Use the picks to disengage the noose and remove the wire

This was a huge fucking pain and the risk of dropping the bolt is pretty high. Again I highly recommend checking your cam timing/upgrading your chain while you can remove the oil pan

Last edited by Ashikabi; 08-05-2019 at 10:11 PM.
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ashikabi For This Useful Post:
M1K3 (06-12-2019)
Old 06-11-2019, 09:07 PM   #144
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 6,492
Thanks: 428
Thanked 4,057 Times in 2,629 Posts
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
I drove it again. New chain apparently made a huge difference. I've still got the same throttle body problem though: idle is very high and there is pretty intense suction on the throttle plate. Idle AFR is about 17. Maybe there is so much suction because of how fast the motor is turning? But how can it turn that fast with no air? When you get on the throttle the pedal is SIGNIFICANTLY stiffer when the motor is running until you get it cracked open a little then it frees up. But only when the motor is running. Also, when you first get on the throttle the RPM dips significantly as if that initial throttle opening is actually choking the motor. After being opened, the throttle plate doesn't really want to close again. But only while the car is running. How can I fix this guys?
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 04:42 AM   #145
Zer0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Drives: 2015 frs
Location: Ca
Posts: 429
Thanks: 315
Thanked 165 Times in 124 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Is your throttle position sensor adjustable. Its possible if its sending out the wrong signal, and the ecu is dumping in more fuel than it needs at idle. I would check tps, map, and maf or whatever your using any other signals that send info to the ecm to control fuel.
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 06:38 AM   #146
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 6,492
Thanks: 428
Thanked 4,057 Times in 2,629 Posts
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
Is your throttle position sensor adjustable. Its possible if its sending out the wrong signal, and the ecu is dumping in more fuel than it needs at idle. I would check tps, map, and maf or whatever your using any other signals that send info to the ecm to control fuel.
I can calibrate my TPS. MAP is internal in the computber. I don't believe I have a way to check it. I think I might recalibrate the wideband though
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 07:01 AM   #147
Zer0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Drives: 2015 frs
Location: Ca
Posts: 429
Thanks: 315
Thanked 165 Times in 124 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
This is just me thinking outloud. I had a Honda swap with a miss wired tps, and it revved out at start up with closed throttle. Yours isn't as extreme but mine was wired in backwards so closed was full throttle. If you have a way to plug into the nemesis to view data that would be best or you could ohm out the sen. manually to test them. Just an idea. Good luck
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 07:05 AM   #148
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 6,492
Thanks: 428
Thanked 4,057 Times in 2,629 Posts
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
This is just me thinking outloud. I had a Honda swap with a miss wired tps, and it revved out at start up with closed throttle. Yours isn't as extreme but mine was wired in backwards so closed was full throttle. If you have a way to plug into the nemesis to view data that would be best or you could ohm out the sen. manually to test them. Just an idea. Good luck
I can see my TPS in the software. It reads a low angle when shut and a higher number when open so it's at least moving the right way. I could put an ohm meter on it though
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 08:10 AM   #149
Zer0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Drives: 2015 frs
Location: Ca
Posts: 429
Thanks: 315
Thanked 165 Times in 124 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
That sounds good. Did you verify the vacuum line going to the nemesis is unobstructed, and has no holes? Pull it off at the computer for a second to test for vacuum signal
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 08:42 AM   #150
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 6,492
Thanks: 428
Thanked 4,057 Times in 2,629 Posts
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
That sounds good. Did you verify the vacuum line going to the nemesis is unobstructed, and has no holes? Pull it off at the computer for a second to test for vacuum signal
That's a good idea, I'll try that
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 08:57 AM   #151
Zer0
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Drives: 2015 frs
Location: Ca
Posts: 429
Thanks: 315
Thanked 165 Times in 124 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Have you taken it in for a tune yet? Not sure what the base tune is like when you receive the unit. You may want to contact customer service for advice as well. I could see the fuel maps causing you some issues if they are off.
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:16 AM   #152
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 6,492
Thanks: 428
Thanked 4,057 Times in 2,629 Posts
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zer0 View Post
Have you taken it in for a tune yet? Not sure what the base tune is like when you receive the unit. You may want to contact customer service for advice as well. I could see the fuel maps causing you some issues if they are off.
I'm tuning myself. Base map is likely robbed from an LS3 and modified so it may very well be way off. Customer service is pretty sketchy
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:31 PM   #153
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,734
Thanks: 19,951
Thanked 8,277 Times in 4,340 Posts
Mentioned: 437 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashikabi View Post
I'm tuning myself. Base map is likely robbed from an LS3 and modified so it may very well be way off. Customer service is pretty sketchy
Local shop did a swap with a Nemesis from Element Tuning and customer service was awful. They also had an issue with idle.

You could try contacting the shop, and see if they can help remotely (not with tuning software but what did they do hardware wise to correct the idle issues). Lookup KAB customs in FL.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sportsguy83 For This Useful Post:
Zer0 (06-12-2019)
Old 06-12-2019, 01:32 PM   #154
Ashikabi
Senior Member
 
Ashikabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Northwest Iowa
Posts: 6,492
Thanks: 428
Thanked 4,057 Times in 2,629 Posts
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportsguy83 View Post
Local shop did a swap with a Nemesis from Element Tuning and customer service was awful. They also had an issue with idle.



You could try contacting the shop, and see if they can help remotely (not with tuning software but what did they do hardware wise to correct the idle issues). Lookup KAB customs in FL.
Thanks. I appreciate it
Ashikabi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ashikabi For This Useful Post:
Sportsguy83 (06-12-2019)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.