follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides

DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides For all DIYs.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-13-2017, 10:46 AM   #1
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 92
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Adding doors auto-lock and oil t° display to your FRS / BRZ / 86

Hello everyone !

Since I bought my FRS a year ago, I was really missing two features : automatically closing the doors after starting to drive AND the oil temperature !
My old car that is almost 20 years old already had it ... so why Toyobaru did not make it from factory ?? Why !!? We'll never know ...

Seeing this, and because I didn't wanted to buy some chinese OBD plug to do that, I started to work on an open source solution based on Arduino.
For who's that don't know, an Arduino is like a "microcomputer" that you can program to do many things, and, in this case, to dial with the onboard CAN network.
Why using an Arduino ? Because it costs almost nothing and could be used for many other things than just locking/opening doors (like showing Oil t°, etc.).

I will not cover all the steps in this post, but just the main ones, so feel free to ask any questions, so others and I can respond to your requests accurately
I'm assuming that you are aware of Arduino development, C++ and CAN/OBD protocols. If not, ask your friend that knows ^^


Step 1: Getting all the needed parts
First, you have to get an Arduino UNO !
For the Arduino to be able to read/write through CAN, you have to add an "extension" to it (a CAN shield) : http://www.ebay.fr/itm/SPI-MCP2515-E...8AAOSw2gxYrWH~
And then, you need a RS232/OBD cable (ebay again)

Depending on where you get the parts, you might have to do some (really easy) soldering.
You could add a nice box if you want to.

Step 2: Uploading the software to the Arduino
Once you have all the parts, you can download the CAN library and projects I've developped at : https://github.com/fontaromain/CANHelperLibrary
Choose the Arduino project of interest and open it with the ArduinoIDE.
You will have to copy the folder "CANHelperLibrary" next to the project ".ino" file in order to compile the project.
Then upload it to the Arduino and you are done.

Step 3: Install in car
Plug it to your car with the shield configured to get it's power from the OBD link (it's the car that will power the Arduino directly through the OBD cable) and drive !
You can put the Arduino behind the glove box or anywhere you want, it's up to you.

Explanation videos:
[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xC93xSPRaQE"]FRS/BRZ/86 oil temperature display - YouTube[/ame]
[ame="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yW65quZttV8"]FRS/BRZ/86 Automatic doors lock - YouTube[/ame]

Future:
I'd like to get a cluster indicator to blink until the oil reach its correct temperature and to flash the shilftlight when too hot (to keep it plug and play with no needed car modifications).

So I'm also requesting some help: does anyone knows which are the ODB messages to use to:
- Make the shiftlight to blink ? (oil too hot)
- Turn on / off various led indicators on the cluster (I was thinking "snow" indicator on MT as it is never user but there are others...)
- Identify distant lock / unlock of the car so I can develop a power saving mode ?

I could reverse engineer Techstream OBD messages (that's what I already did) but it's not a fun task, so any help is appreciated

Sorry if some engrish is present in this post (don't hesitate to correct me )

And have fun !

Last edited by T0rt0r0; 11-16-2017 at 01:40 PM.
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to T0rt0r0 For This Useful Post:
bcj (11-13-2017), chaoskaze (11-18-2017), tintumz22 (04-13-2018), Ultramaroon (11-14-2017), voyager2285 (11-18-2017), Wyattkb (11-16-2017)
Old 11-13-2017, 10:06 PM   #2
J Greg BRZ
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Drives: 2016 Subaru BRZ
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 39
Thanks: 5
Thanked 24 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Not much help, but there is a product similar to what you are trying to do. Has an OEM look to it, as well.

Oh, and it's not Chinese. lol.

Here's a link:
http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47749
J Greg BRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 12:24 PM   #3
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 92
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Well, your solution cost is really far from mine ($15) and don't lock the doors
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to T0rt0r0 For This Useful Post:
Chimera (03-05-2018)
Old 11-14-2017, 01:14 PM   #4
ermax
Senior Member
 
ermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Drives: 2022 BRZ Limited Silver
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 882
Thanked 2,045 Times in 1,188 Posts
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
This is a very interesting project. So am I understanding correctly that you are able to manipulate the coolant temp gauge through the OBD2 port?
ermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 01:52 PM   #5
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 92
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Yes, but only by 1/4, I did not found the way to drive it smoothly by little steps.
But for this particular application this is not an issue, for me at least (it's nice to know that the oil is not cold / too hot, the exact temperature does not matter as long as it stays in normal ranges)
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 03:56 AM   #6
Wyattkb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Drives: 2014 Whiteout FRS
Location: United States
Posts: 444
Thanks: 56
Thanked 159 Times in 87 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
This is really cool. I had no idea you could do this type of thing with an Arduino.

Time to start learning how to do this. I have had an Arduino laying around forever with no use.
Wyattkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 01:42 PM   #7
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 92
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks !
And you can do many more things through obd...

Updated first post to have a nicer youtube integration
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 02:13 PM   #8
spike021
Senior Member
 
spike021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: '17 Limited BRZ CWP w/ PP
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 5,774
Thanks: 14,054
Thanked 6,471 Times in 3,207 Posts
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by T0rt0r0 View Post
Hello everyone !

Sorry if some engrish is present in this post (don't hesitate to correct me )

And have fun !
As a software engineer, this is super cool.

Are you able to get the speed from the car as MPH or only KPH?

I have a spare Uno lying around. Think I finally have a project for it
spike021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 02:43 PM   #9
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 92
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by spike021 View Post
As a software engineer, this is super cool.

Are you able to get the speed from the car as MPH or only KPH?

I have a spare Uno lying around. Think I finally have a project for it
The obd2 standard allows to get it in kph only but it's easy to do the conversion in the source code (obd2 standard pid).

If you are a software engineer I hope that my work matches you quality standards
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to T0rt0r0 For This Useful Post:
spike021 (11-16-2017)
Old 11-16-2017, 03:41 PM   #10
spike021
Senior Member
 
spike021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: '17 Limited BRZ CWP w/ PP
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 5,774
Thanks: 14,054
Thanked 6,471 Times in 3,207 Posts
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by T0rt0r0 View Post
The obd2 standard allows to get it in kph only but it's easy to do the conversion in the source code (obd2 standard pid).

If you are a software engineer I hope that my work matches you quality standards
Haha it’s alright, I don’t code in C/C++ normally

I didn’t get a chance to read through all the docs yet. Can you use the e-brake engagement for the unlocking mechanism?
spike021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 04:04 PM   #11
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 92
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Yes the e-brake could be done (because i saw the information in techstream).
However, I did not reverse engineer this specific obd message so it's not present in the current code.

As a side note, I use the e-brake in traffic jams everyday, so I'm not sure it's a really good option
But I can note that down for my future experiments.
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to T0rt0r0 For This Useful Post:
spike021 (11-17-2017)
Old 11-17-2017, 09:58 AM   #12
socal_48
Senior Member
 
socal_48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Drives: '15 FR-S RS 1.0
Location: Lemoore, CA
Posts: 110
Thanks: 11
Thanked 31 Times in 20 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Can I use the new arduino r3 boards that they have now and attach the db9 serial port on top and get power through the serial to the board? This is what I was looking at adding. Really interested in this project.
https://www.amazon.com/MakerFocus-CA...BK7M303R553HZZ
socal_48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 12:28 PM   #13
spike021
Senior Member
 
spike021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: '17 Limited BRZ CWP w/ PP
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 5,774
Thanks: 14,054
Thanked 6,471 Times in 3,207 Posts
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by T0rt0r0 View Post
Yes the e-brake could be done (because i saw the information in techstream).
However, I did not reverse engineer this specific obd message so it's not present in the current code.

As a side note, I use the e-brake in traffic jams everyday, so I'm not sure it's a really good option
But I can note that down for my future experiments.
Hmmm, fair enough. Maybe e-brake engaged and power off? Just trying to think of the most natural way and right time to unlock the doors to make sure it's when I'd actually need them unlocked .
spike021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 12:31 PM   #14
T0rt0r0
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Drives: European gt86
Location: France
Posts: 92
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by socal_48 View Post
Can I use the new arduino r3 boards that they have now and attach the db9 serial port on top and get power through the serial to the board? This is what I was looking at adding. Really interested in this project.
https://www.amazon.com/MakerFocus-CA...BK7M303R553HZZ
You can ! In the video it's already how it's done
T0rt0r0 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to T0rt0r0 For This Useful Post:
socal_48 (11-17-2017)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto locking doors Thavash AFRICA 21 02-12-2019 01:23 PM
Auto locking doors Magyarman Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 13 01-23-2019 08:25 PM
Doors won't lock. mynameis940 Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 9 03-15-2018 02:05 PM
Auto Lock (Doors) pinoyplaya BRZ First-Gen (2012+) -- General Topics 67 11-13-2017 10:47 AM
Doors won't automatically lock adan Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 18 03-01-2014 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2024 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.