follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack Specific topics relating to wheels and tires.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2013, 11:34 AM   #1
EL7
Senior Member
 
EL7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Drives: 13 BRZ Limited 6MT SWP
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 90
Thanks: 50
Thanked 24 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Unable to program TPMS if you have Ecuteck?

I had a new set of TPMS sensors installed with my new wheels two weeks ago. I left the original set with the OEM wheels since I want to be able to swap back and forth.

Discount Tire claims when they first installed the wheels they were able to program the new TPMS but it is a "drive to learn" system and it would be acting up for a few days before completely turning off. I went back in today to have one of the rims replaced since the first one was scratched upon arrival. I told them that my TPMS still hasn't "settled in" and that the light flashes during start up sometimes and some days it's off but most days it remains on no matter what conditions are present.

After an hour of attempting to rescan and reprogram the TPMS they told me they spoke with Subaru and they are following all the correct procedures but since I have a flashed ECU, that is the reason the ECU isn't able to read the sensors. They told me they spoke with Subaru and I can go to the dealer and try there but the last option is to remove them and refund my money.

This sounds ridiculous but after three separate techs and two handheld units being unsuccessful this morning, I'm turning to the forums to see if anyone else has heard if having a custom tune has any bearing on TPMS.
EL7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 12:55 PM   #2
WolfsFang
Scrape Master
 
WolfsFang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: Goal: Oldest FRS State Side
Location: North NJ
Posts: 1,161
Thanks: 238
Thanked 411 Times in 237 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
duck tape the light, problem solved.
__________________
You do realize comparing the BRZ to the FR-S is like comparing which hand you love masterbating too right?
WolfsFang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:12 PM   #3
EL7
Senior Member
 
EL7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Drives: 13 BRZ Limited 6MT SWP
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 90
Thanks: 50
Thanked 24 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks for the useful suggestion.
EL7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:15 PM   #4
NotSoJDM
Senior Member
 
NotSoJDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Drives: '13 BRZ | '04 E55
Location: Wake Forest, NC
Posts: 916
Thanks: 401
Thanked 713 Times in 284 Posts
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
I call bs. As long as they are the same OEM frequency they should be fine. I'm willing to bet that their cheap aftermarket tpms sensors are not the right frequency to pair.

I wouldn't make any mention of your ECU flash to the dealer. I would just take it in and have them relearn the tpms sensors. I would think an ecutek flash has 0 impact. PM @Visconti or have him reply here.
NotSoJDM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 04:00 PM   #5
SkAsphalt
Ridge Racerrrrrrrrr
 
SkAsphalt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S, 2004 Toyota Coroll
Location: Regina, Sk
Posts: 3,516
Thanks: 5,785
Thanked 1,362 Times in 953 Posts
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
Sounds like BS
__________________
SkAsphalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 04:07 PM   #6
Foobar
SLO NO MO
 
Foobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: '19 Tesla Model 3 Performance
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 2,961
Thanks: 224
Thanked 1,062 Times in 738 Posts
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
This is definitely BS. I have ECUtek and my own TPMS quick programmer. I swap between summer and winter without any issues.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
Foobar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 04:20 PM   #7
Willsonk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: Scion FR-S Asphalt AT & XB
Location: Virginia Beach,VA
Posts: 123
Thanks: 15
Thanked 30 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
yeah i'm thinking they might not have the software update yet for your BRZ. Got my update 2 months ago.
Willsonk is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to hold idle. CSG Mike Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 22 05-20-2013 06:00 PM
Service Program WQC-39 BoxeRZ Subaru BRZ General Forum 3 12-08-2012 10:40 AM
Track Video: BRZ Passes worked Miata, unable to be passed by prepped s2000 gmookher Photos, Videos, Wallpapers, Gallery Forum 1 11-06-2012 02:01 PM
Changed to new wheels w/o TPMS, car still thinks I have TPMS sensors? Ahz Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 9 11-06-2012 09:25 AM
What does it take to program your own ECUs? BuBlake Other Vehicles & General Automotive Discussions 14 10-17-2012 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.