follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Software Tuning

Software Tuning Discuss all software tuning topics.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2019, 11:12 PM   #1
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 583
Thanks: 76
Thanked 329 Times in 194 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Lean after 5500rpm

What am I missing my ipw drops off after 5500rpm my maf Gs is increasing but pulsewidth just keeps going down. I have mrp compensation setup even without this the pulse width should increase.
22lbs of boost, virtual dyno says 497whp at 6500rpm but it was leaning out, I lifted afr at 14.6. 93 Pump gas



https://datazap.me/u/turbotoy2791/lo...&data=10-13-21
Name:  datazap-chart (1).png
Views: 167
Size:  61.1 KB

Last edited by solidsnake11; 12-07-2019 at 11:44 PM.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 02:17 AM   #2
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 583
Thanks: 76
Thanked 329 Times in 194 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I think maxing out my load limit.
Engine load multiplier what exactly is this used for.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 05:22 AM   #3
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,076
Thanks: 237
Thanked 339 Times in 282 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Ecutek pdf of gt86 tuning just says it is used internally by Ecu and there should be no need of adjusting

If you raised the Engine load limit, did you raise also the Mass airflow limit?
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (12-08-2019)
Old 12-08-2019, 06:01 AM   #4
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,533
Thanks: 973
Thanked 4,668 Times in 2,792 Posts
Mentioned: 518 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Ok whwn you do FI on tjese cars you need to rescale the MAF load limit AandB tables, the maf max load limit, thte maf air flow limit. And rescale a bunch of fueling timing vvt, pi\di ratio tables.


You also donrt want to run the di max pulse width past about 6.5 ms and the port injectors past about 15 ms.


You might also want to change the di max quantity allowed table to allower higher flow at higher rpm


If you dont rescale load limit ravles and !ax load and max flow rate tavles the ecu calculates the true load but it get truncated at those limits and will cause lean runnng once limits exceeded
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
gt7877 (12-08-2019), solidsnake11 (12-08-2019)
Old 12-08-2019, 06:09 AM   #5
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,076
Thanks: 237
Thanked 339 Times in 282 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
More than 4 of engine load and more than 500 grams of air of maf, lol
And I thought my 2.5 of load with 1 bar of boost was high..
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (12-08-2019)
Old 12-08-2019, 06:15 AM   #6
steve99
Senior Member
 
steve99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Drives: FT86
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,533
Thanks: 973
Thanked 4,668 Times in 2,792 Posts
Mentioned: 518 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Ok jad a look at the log


Id say max load is still at 4 it might need to be increased you hit 4 load at 15 psi , avout 450 g\s od air flow the air flow and boost keep increasing to 21 psi and 670 g\air flow but load stays at 4.


So looks like its hitting load limit or air flow limit


Your also very close to maxing maf sensor at 5v


Check the max load limit i think stock it 4 and mas air flow limits stock is 200 from memory
steve99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to steve99 For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (12-08-2019)
Old 12-08-2019, 10:55 AM   #7
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 583
Thanks: 76
Thanked 329 Times in 194 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Is A and B holding me at 4. I can not increase these past 4. The wrx guys were changing the engine load multiplier to raise their cap on the ejs
Name:  load limt.jpg
Views: 130
Size:  140.6 KB

Last edited by solidsnake11; 12-08-2019 at 11:13 AM.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 11:08 AM   #8
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 583
Thanks: 76
Thanked 329 Times in 194 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve99 View Post
Ok jad a look at the log


Id say max load is still at 4 it might need to be increased you hit 4 load at 15 psi , avout 450 g\s od air flow the air flow and boost keep increasing to 21 psi and 670 g\air flow but load stays at 4.


So looks like its hitting load limit or air flow limit


Your also very close to maxing maf sensor at 5v


Check the max load limit i think stock it 4 and mas air flow limits stock is 200 from memory
I decided to put my diy boost controller on it.(spring and ball) sat it up like normal and first thing hit 20+ something, then adjusted down and it still hit 22 I wasn't really trying to go that high. Well it was also to test how high the maf would go.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to solidsnake11 For This Useful Post:
steve99 (12-09-2019)
Old 12-08-2019, 11:13 AM   #9
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,076
Thanks: 237
Thanked 339 Times in 282 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsnake11 View Post
Is A and B holding me at 4. I can not increase these past 4. The wrx guys were changing the load multiplier to raise their cap on the ejs
Attachment 183313
Ecutek adds a new engine load limiter table that overwrites those 2 oem tables
It s like a racerom patch so it doesn t cap at 4

That s another reason for you to upgrade to ecutek
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 11:18 AM   #10
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 583
Thanks: 76
Thanked 329 Times in 194 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
Ecutek adds a new engine load limiter table that overwrites those 2 oem tables
It s like a racerom patch so it doesn t cap at 4

That s another reason for you to upgrade to ecutek
Ecutek product line makes me feel like Im playing a video game and buying map packs.
What's the price to tune your own car?
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 11:21 AM   #11
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,076
Thanks: 237
Thanked 339 Times in 282 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Unfortunately is expensive, I know well, I spent those 1000€ it costed me
But it has his advantages
Also the kit and racerom license are highly resellable

You can also put failsafe strategies, you certainly can t with tactrix
Not gonna save a weak rod to snap like in my case, but you get to save the engine if something out of your control fails
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (12-08-2019)
Old 12-08-2019, 12:07 PM   #12
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 583
Thanks: 76
Thanked 329 Times in 194 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Airflow and Load Limits
Because most of the factory logic is retained for COBB SD, factory limits that cap airflow and load are still applied. It is critical that these limits are double checked for your tune. Otherwise, it could cause a dangerous lean condition where the calculated airflow/load is capped even though actual airflow/load is still increasing. This is true regardless of whether SD airflow or MAF sensor-based airflow is being used. The following outlines how to check and raise the airflow/load limits:
Raising Factory Airflow Cap This is as simple as raising the value in the "MAF Limit (Max)" table, located in the "Miscellaneous Limiters" table group. This should be raised to a value that the car will never hit under any circumstances. For SD ECUs, the default for this table has been raised to 2000 g/s (from the factory 300 g/s), although this can be overridden by the map you are opening, so be sure to double-check this limit.

Raising Factory Load Cap If the ECU you are tuning only has a single load limit table ("Load Limit (Max) Primary" under the "Miscellaneous Limiters" group), then raising the load cap is as simple as raising the value in this table. If, however, the ECU has the second load limit table ("Load Limit (Max) Secondary"), the process is more involved. First, raise the "Load Limit (Max) Primary" to your new limit. Second, raise all the "Load Limit (Max) Secondary" load values to their max of 4.0 g/rev. Third, raise all the "Load Limit (Max) Secondary Compensation (Barometric)" values to 100%. Do the same for "Load Limit (Max) Secondary Compensation (Intake Temp)" table. The 100% compensation across both tables will result in doubling the secondary load limit twice. For example, if the secondary load limit was 4.0 g/rev, the new load limit (with 100% in all cells of secondary compensation tables), would be 4 * 2 * 2 = 16 g/rev.
Can we do this? Is this the maps in our ecu?


Name:  load comp.jpg
Views: 123
Size:  245.4 KB
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 12:20 PM   #13
tomm.brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Drives: brz 2017
Location: italy
Posts: 1,076
Thanks: 237
Thanked 339 Times in 282 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I think it s a different logic there, but don t know.. I wouldn't know how to convert that "100%" in our tables
I just use the load comp table just to make small adjustments to the afr without modifying the maf, scaling, and the maf oat comp to make the ecu correct the afr based on charge temp (not really necessary as I use forced closed loop even when car is supposed to be in open loop state, but it makes the fuel trims similar in every ambient temperature)

If 4 of engine load is your invalicable limit, I would make the maf scaling a lot leaner than then real needed, to make engine load calculation smaller, and then make the afr richer directly from the primary open loop table and by offsetting the port injection scaling, like putting a smaller "cc" value
But seems sketchy and not sure it would work
tomm.brz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tomm.brz For This Useful Post:
solidsnake11 (12-08-2019)
Old 12-08-2019, 01:25 PM   #14
solidsnake11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: brz
Location: nc
Posts: 583
Thanks: 76
Thanked 329 Times in 194 Posts
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomm.brz View Post
I think it s a different logic there, but don t know.. I wouldn't know how to convert that "100%" in our tables
I just use the load comp table just to make small adjustments to the afr without modifying the maf, scaling, and the maf oat comp to make the ecu correct the afr based on charge temp (not really necessary as I use forced closed loop even when car is supposed to be in open loop state, but it makes the fuel trims similar in every ambient temperature)

If 4 of engine load is your invalicable limit, I would make the maf scaling a lot leaner than then real needed, to make engine load calculation smaller, and then make the afr richer directly from the primary open loop table and by offsetting the port injection scaling, like putting a smaller "cc" value
But seems sketchy and not sure it would work
The wrx guys was doing that before they decided the engine load multiplier would work better.
solidsnake11 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to solidsnake11 For This Useful Post:
tomm.brz (12-08-2019)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car Running Lean MyGT86Yas Software Tuning 9 09-24-2019 07:46 PM
16 or 32 bit ECU? Should I lean the air if.... chazmuska Software Tuning 2 07-12-2017 06:48 PM
Running lean ? Maybe ? lizbrayan Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 35 06-19-2016 12:16 AM
lean at idle only woode Forced Induction 5 05-03-2014 04:48 PM
running lean EZWood Engine, Exhaust, Transmission 26 10-18-2013 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.