follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-04-2018, 08:11 AM   #43
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,745
Thanks: 19,975
Thanked 8,297 Times in 4,347 Posts
Mentioned: 437 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by In4kickz View Post



The bottom line is this is a one of a kind product for this swap. With years of proven performance on the platform and about 1.5 years racing our LS swap FRS, there really aren't any surprises. The EMS with the engine harness is about $2500.



Has anybody used this EMS?


Very interesting, he is saying everything works. I guess it hasnít been widely used because most people have swapped other LSs, would be cool if someone showed a video of everything working on the car. Iíll add this information to the OP when I get on a computer
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2018, 12:57 PM   #44
In4kickz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 2015 FRS
Location: Florida
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportsguy83 View Post
Very interesting, he is saying everything works. I guess it hasnít been widely used because most people have swapped other LSs, would be cool if someone showed a video of everything working on the car. Iíll add this information to the OP when I get on a computer


I agree, some video would be awesome! Iíve tried to find some video of it but havenít found any.
In4kickz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 06:32 AM   #45
Pearl_Brz
Junior Member
 
Pearl_Brz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Drives: 2013 Brz
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Its been over a year with no updates???
My Mrs is still working flawlessly in my 6.2 Brz!

Just about to start a 2JZ swap on a 2017 GT86...
Ive been assured by ECUMASTER that they have the CAN figured out for everything but the cruise control for now...

Any thoughts? New people? New Solutions?
Lets revive this thread as swaps are only becoming more popular!!!

-Pearl Brz
__________________
'13 Brz Drift Build - Junkyard 6.2 LS swap 396whp - CD009 Trans - R200 G35 3.5 diff and axles - Modded knuckles - FA500 Coilovers 10k/6k F/R - RIP FA20

'17 GT86 2JZ Build coming soon!!

Last edited by Pearl_Brz; 12-20-2019 at 06:45 AM.
Pearl_Brz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Pearl_Brz For This Useful Post:
DustinS (12-20-2019)
Old 12-20-2019, 10:34 AM   #46
DustinS
Senior Member
 
DustinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,873
Thanks: 2,388
Thanked 1,289 Times in 749 Posts
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pearl_Brz View Post
Its been over a year with no updates???
My Mrs is still working flawlessly in my 6.2 Brz!

Just about to start a 2JZ swap on a 2017 GT86...
Ive been assured by ECUMASTER that they have the CAN figured out for everything but the cruise control for now...

Any thoughts? New people? New Solutions?
Lets revive this thread as swaps are only becoming more popular!!!

-Pearl Brz
Not a lot going on in the canbus world I don't think.

unfortunately my MRS has caused a CEL from the beginning. No codes, just a continual light, and it goes into limp mode while turning at parking lot speeds. Not big issues, just slight annoyances. I'm interested if it's just my car, or my device.

That being said, switching to a 2jz and I also contacted ECU master. Hoping they are correct and it will just be connecting two of the wires.

Wiring Specialties apparently has a new canbus converter/harness coming out for the LS swap into twins. Interested to see if they come out with a 2jz harness. I am an ecu/harness, and bellhousing away from having it in the car.
__________________
DustinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 01:53 PM   #47
all4spl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 346
Thanks: 55
Thanked 72 Times in 56 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinS View Post
Not a lot going on in the canbus world I don't think.

unfortunately my MRS has caused a CEL from the beginning. No codes, just a continual light, and it goes into limp mode while turning at parking lot speeds. Not big issues, just slight annoyances. I'm interested if it's just my car, or my device.

That being said, switching to a 2jz and I also contacted ECU master. Hoping they are correct and it will just be connecting two of the wires.

Wiring Specialties apparently has a new canbus converter/harness coming out for the LS swap into twins. Interested to see if they come out with a 2jz harness. I am an ecu/harness, and bellhousing away from having it in the car.


where did you hear about wiring specialties?
all4spl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 02:23 PM   #48
DustinS
Senior Member
 
DustinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,873
Thanks: 2,388
Thanked 1,289 Times in 749 Posts
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by all4spl View Post
where did you hear about wiring specialties?
__________________
DustinS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DustinS For This Useful Post:
Sportsguy83 (12-21-2019), Zer0 (12-21-2019)
Old 12-20-2019, 04:25 PM   #49
all4spl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 346
Thanks: 55
Thanked 72 Times in 56 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I wonder why nobody is doing anything for 24x...
all4spl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 04:30 PM   #50
DustinS
Senior Member
 
DustinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,873
Thanks: 2,388
Thanked 1,289 Times in 749 Posts
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by all4spl View Post
I wonder why nobody is doing anything for 24x...
More resolution in the crank sensor and newer engine is my guess. Probably just a start, enough interest and they may go to 24x
__________________
DustinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 11:49 PM   #51
Pearl_Brz
Junior Member
 
Pearl_Brz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Drives: 2013 Brz
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinS View Post
Not a lot going on in the canbus world I don't think.

unfortunately my MRS has caused a CEL from the beginning. No codes, just a continual light, and it goes into limp mode while turning at parking lot speeds. Not big issues, just slight annoyances. I'm interested if it's just my car, or my device.

That being said, switching to a 2jz and I also contacted ECU master. Hoping they are correct and it will just be connecting two of the wires.

Wiring Specialties apparently has a new canbus converter/harness coming out for the LS swap into twins. Interested to see if they come out with a 2jz harness. I am an ecu/harness, and bellhousing away from having it in the car.

Im thinking that CEL might just be an issue with your car/adapter or just a fluke! Who knows... Im happy with mine and its staying with the v8 in my car.

As for the 2JZ Ecumaster setup, ive heard ther same thing for them... Just plug in 2 wires.

As for the Wiring specialties, they are making a cantrolls harness that will basically satisfy the canbus of the car, while using a non canbus ECM such as stock or whatever else.
They told me they wont be offering a swap harness yet specifically for Canbus Ecus, all the harness will have the cantrolls module.

Sorry for my jumbled up paragraphs haha
__________________
'13 Brz Drift Build - Junkyard 6.2 LS swap 396whp - CD009 Trans - R200 G35 3.5 diff and axles - Modded knuckles - FA500 Coilovers 10k/6k F/R - RIP FA20

'17 GT86 2JZ Build coming soon!!
Pearl_Brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2019, 10:17 PM   #52
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 174
Thanks: 1
Thanked 105 Times in 57 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pearl_Brz View Post
Im thinking that CEL might just be an issue with your car/adapter or just a fluke! Who knows... Im happy with mine and its staying with the v8 in my car.

As for the 2JZ Ecumaster setup, ive heard ther same thing for them... Just plug in 2 wires.

As for the Wiring specialties, they are making a cantrolls harness that will basically satisfy the canbus of the car, while using a non canbus ECM such as stock or whatever else.
They told me they wont be offering a swap harness yet specifically for Canbus Ecus, all the harness will have the cantrolls module.

Sorry for my jumbled up paragraphs haha
well here is the thing when it comes to canbus solutions. or engine swaps in general. Their are so many caveats to how a engine swap will be. What are your requirements, what do you need to work, what engine ecu you will be using for the engine side, what car do you have (push start vs turn key), how much modifications you are willing to do in the wiring. Reason is that even if someone says they can have a full plug and play solution with just two wires (can wires) its impossible. They are some signals for example, on a push button car, that control the power sequence that is not can based. How much modifications to wiring after that point.

So, ECUmaster ive talked to them but no one has confirmed yet if it works. It would still need some physical signals. ive asked them if they have a wiring diagram but they dont. they just said it supports canbus.

So if someone is making a "box" + a wiring harness is usually a easier solution for most people. Similar to what the pure-automotive guys do. I did a system were you replace the old ecu with a solution then rewires everything to the AC1 connector. Helps reduce wiring needed as it uses the stock fuses and relays. But its still limited on what ecu will be running the new engine. Some ecus allow for example Traction control. older ecus might not. etc...
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It doesn't work!! Photomikes garage Photos, Videos, Wallpapers, Gallery Forum 1 03-06-2017 02:23 AM
Another Backup Cam Doesn't Work Thread ChrisJ Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 5 07-01-2016 10:09 PM
Error Code, Nav doesn't work slyphen Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 2 12-04-2015 04:37 PM
Installs, Service, Maintanance, Repairs, Custom work, Tuning, Dyno Database! Infamous Performance Mechanical Maintenance and Tools 521 10-30-2015 11:58 AM
USB port doesn't work brianc901 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 2 08-15-2014 05:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.