follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Xero Limit
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack Specific topics relating to wheels and tires.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-18-2018, 11:20 PM   #1
Tristor
Senior Member
 
Tristor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: 2017 Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 592
Thanks: 2,992
Thanked 520 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Where can you buy OE Subaru TPMS sensors?

Howdy,

I just ordered a set of aftermarket wheels and my intention is to install a new set of TPMS sensors in them. My understanding is that Subaru codes the sensors so you can't just use generic TPMS sensors and that the sensors are vehicle-matched. Unfortunately, I don't see the sensors listed on Subaru's parts website, and I haven't had any luck finding them elsewhere either.

I'm pretty sure I can get them from the dealership... but I'm afraid to find out how much that is going to be.

Anyone know of a good source to purchase these or have information otherwise that I can use normal aftermarket 315mhz sensors?

Thanks!
Tristor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 12:06 AM   #2
GrantedTaken
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Drives: BRZ
Location: The Sun
Posts: 428
Thanks: 30
Thanked 228 Times in 112 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
https://www.subarupartsamerica.com/p...iagram=7610165
https://parts.subaru.com/p/Subaru__/...8103CA001.html

https://www.subarupartsdeal.com/part...8103ca001.html
https://subaruonlineparts.com/subaru...ms-p-3941.html
https://www.subarupartsforyou.com/oe...MTY1NSZyPTI%3D

Looks like $80/ea
28103CA001
GrantedTaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 02:12 AM   #3
Si_Chris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Drives: 2016 ISM BRZ Limited, 2000 Civic SI
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 208
Thanks: 2
Thanked 88 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Rockauto is the cheapest, $41.79 a piece which includes everything.

http://www.rockauto.com/en/moreinfo....353819&jsn=345

I have these for my winter wheels, these are made by Denso which are identical to the OEM ones. These also work well with no issues using the ATEQ TPMS quickset tool, which is around $120 give or take.

If you do get the ATEQ TPMS quickset tool, you should pull your factory TPMS codes first using the tool via the OBD2 port, and then load them into the software program the tool comes with on a laptop or computer. In the program, you can enter your TPMS codes from the new sensors (which are stamped on the sensors themselves), and essentially you will have two sets of codes in the program at this point. The program then allows you to download the codes onto the tool, and you can program which set of codes you want to your car via the OBD2 port.

Last edited by Si_Chris; 02-19-2018 at 02:41 AM.
Si_Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Si_Chris For This Useful Post:
gtengr (02-26-2018), JohnJuan (12-13-2019), ls1ac (02-19-2018)
Old 02-19-2018, 05:53 AM   #4
EndlessAzure
Senior Member
 
EndlessAzure's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Drives: '14 FR-S [37J] | Daily/Track
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 335
Thanks: 49
Thanked 125 Times in 103 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
It's not as easy as getting an extra set of sensors. Originally, I wanted to do what you had in mind.

However under regular circumstances, the car will only be able to recognize one set of 4x sensors at a time: each individual sensor is paired with the ECU.

Of course @GrantedTaken listed the parts and @Si_Chris already mentioned how you can get around that, but it involves getting a 4 more sensors, a TMPS tool, reprogramming, and managing which sensors the ECU actually communicates with every time you swap wheels.

In the end, the expense and extra effort weren't worth it for me. I just took the 4x TPMS on my stock wheels and put them on my aftermarket wheels. I live with the TPMS light when I use the stock wheels.
__________________
EndlessAzure is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:50 AM   #5
Yousend
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Drives: 2014 FR-S
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 124
Thanks: 50
Thanked 98 Times in 65 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndlessAzure View Post
In the end, the expense and extra effort weren't worth it for me. I just took the 4x TPMS on my stock wheels and put them on my aftermarket wheels. I live with the TPMS light when I use the stock wheels.
I've come to the same conclusion, however I decided to keep my TPMS light on my stock wheels and deal with the TPMS light in the summer. It doesn't bother me to check tire pressure in the summer, but I'd rather not check it in the winter unless I feel something is off.
Yousend is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Yousend For This Useful Post:
wparsons (02-01-2019)
Old 02-19-2018, 09:15 AM   #6
guybo
Huge E85 fan!
 
guybo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Drives: 2016 Scion FRS
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 1,856
Thanks: 539
Thanked 1,006 Times in 606 Posts
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Check Craigslist and FB marketplace, there are often people selling OEM rims with sensors for less than the price of the sensors alone
guybo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to guybo For This Useful Post:
Tcoat (02-19-2018)
Old 02-19-2018, 10:17 AM   #7
GrantedTaken
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Drives: BRZ
Location: The Sun
Posts: 428
Thanks: 30
Thanked 228 Times in 112 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Each TPMS has its own code?
So, you have 4 total codes per set of wheels?
GrantedTaken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 04:21 PM   #8
Tristor
Senior Member
 
Tristor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: 2017 Subaru BRZ Limited
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 592
Thanks: 2,992
Thanked 520 Times in 274 Posts
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndlessAzure View Post
In the end, the expense and extra effort weren't worth it for me. I just took the 4x TPMS on my stock wheels and put them on my aftermarket wheels. I live with the TPMS light when I use the stock wheels.
I'm in an area where I will be on summer tires year-round, but my concern was that removing the TPMS sensors from the stock wheels to swap them will likely damage the valvestems. I figured it'd be easier to start with new and then just program them into the car and have done.

I'm intending to sell my stock wheels/tires once I get aftermarkets installed, so I might just be one of those folks selling the wheels for somebody else the harvest the sensors off.

Thanks a ton everyone for the advice in this thread. My wheels are on order and I expect delivery in 8-10 weeks from Japan, so I am going to order the sensors in a few weeks and hopefully I can figure it all out
Tristor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 07:00 PM   #9
Si_Chris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Drives: 2016 ISM BRZ Limited, 2000 Civic SI
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 208
Thanks: 2
Thanked 88 Times in 60 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrantedTaken View Post
Each TPMS has its own code?
So, you have 4 total codes per set of wheels?
Correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tristor View Post
I'm in an area where I will be on summer tires year-round, but my concern was that removing the TPMS sensors from the stock wheels to swap them will likely damage the valvestems. I figured it'd be easier to start with new and then just program them into the car and have done.

I'm intending to sell my stock wheels/tires once I get aftermarkets installed, so I might just be one of those folks selling the wheels for somebody else the harvest the sensors off.

Thanks a ton everyone for the advice in this thread. My wheels are on order and I expect delivery in 8-10 weeks from Japan, so I am going to order the sensors in a few weeks and hopefully I can figure it all out
The TPMS sensors are held in using a nut from the front side of the wheel. Use a deep socket to loosen, and pull the sensor out from the inside barrel (tire has to be broken from the bead around the area where the sensor sits, or tire removed completely).

If anything, you'll just need a TPMS rebuild kit, which are rubber, and metal washers, valve cores, and new nuts to hold the sensors on. These are typically less than $5 a wheel.

If you're planning on selling your stock wheels and tires, pull the sensors, and use them on your new wheels, no need to program anything, just swap the sensors over.
Si_Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 07:55 PM   #10
Marty Bonesaw
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Drives: 17 BRZ W/ PP
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 30
Thanks: 5
Thanked 14 Times in 9 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Iíve never had any issue with Toyota or Subaru with these TPms sensors Set of Two (2) VDO SE10001HP REDI-Sensor 314.9 MHz/315 MHz TPMS Sensor (PACK OF 2 SENSOR) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E4I089G..._mo2IAbF0CQBHX
We use them at work all the time, I have 4 ordered and should be here any day, once they come in I can let you know if they worked


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Marty Bonesaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2018, 06:52 PM   #11
hichamaziz
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: subaru brz
Location: casa
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
thank you Si_Chris
for website
hichamaziz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2018, 07:08 PM   #12
thatfilipinoguy
Senior Member
 
thatfilipinoguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Drives: 87/89 Supra, 13 FRS
Location: Honolulu, CA
Posts: 470
Thanks: 222
Thanked 133 Times in 112 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I have a set from wrx wheels I bought from someone a year ago. LMK if you're interested.
thatfilipinoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2018, 07:31 PM   #13
JMon85
Senior Member
 
JMon85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Drives: 2019 WRX
Location: USA
Posts: 131
Thanks: 419
Thanked 40 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I got mine from Toyota =P
JMon85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 03:56 PM   #14
YamahaR86
JDM Vaping Stance Nation
 
YamahaR86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: 2013 White
Location: FL
Posts: 588
Thanks: 495
Thanked 267 Times in 175 Posts
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Bonesaw
Marty Bonesaw Iíve never had any issue with Toyota or Subaru with these TPms sensors Set of Two (2) VDO SE10001HP REDI-Sensor 314.9 MHz/315 MHz TPMS Sensor (PACK OF 2 SENSOR) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E4I089G..._mo2IAbF0CQBHX
We use them at work all the time, I have 4 ordered and should be here any day, once they come in I can let you know if they worked


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Any updates if these worked?
__________________
Clueless
YamahaR86 is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
brz, subaru, tpms

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Set of TPMS sensors. GT86Dan Wheels and Tires 12 12-04-2016 09:24 PM
TPMS Sensors - What to Buy? Stang70Fastback Wheels | Tires | Spacers | Hub -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack 2 01-31-2016 02:01 PM
OEM TPMS Sensors airwak Wheels and Tires 3 08-16-2015 04:14 PM
Changed to new wheels w/o TPMS, car still thinks I have TPMS sensors? Ahz Issues | Warranty | Recalls / TSB 9 11-06-2012 09:25 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.