follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.

User Tag List

Old 10-13-2013, 06:16 AM   #1
NeoMarine

Drives: Toyota Echo :(
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
BRZ Audio Overhaul - Subwoofer, Amp, Speakers, Head Unit Replacements

[Update]
I found the this very helpful thread... gonna do more research. If you can help, still let me know

Hi guys,

I've been doing some research and I am completely new to modding cars so I actually need a bit of help here, if you guys don't mind...

I have ordered my BRZ a few days ago (was told I'd be getting the 2014 spec but its still the 2013 model) which should get to me in 4 months, which is the general waiting period in Australia at the moment. By then I want to have a pretty good idea what I'll be changing as far as audio goes.

So far my understanding is that to get some sick sound quality I'd need to replace the stock speakers, add an amplifier (under the seat), replace the stock head unit and add a 10" subwoofer in the trunk.

So yeah, could anyone recommend me a hectic setup? I figure a budget of $2000-$3000 should get the job done?

My thoughts so far (I have to do more research... but please help? )

- For the subwoofer I'm guessing that the JL Stealthbox would be more than decent choice.
- Speakers - I have no clue... I am probably going to have to find a shop that will install these for me too, because I got no clue lol
- Amplifier - the JL website have some HD choices although I wouldn't know which one to use for the speakers I would choose and the JL Stealthbox subwoofer