follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Forced Induction

Forced Induction Turbo, Supercharger, Methanol, Nitrous


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2019, 12:55 AM   #8569
86TOYO2k17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 toyota 86
Location: PNW
Posts: 963
Thanks: 69
Thanked 398 Times in 291 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kev0 View Post
Got it. Emailed Sprintex to see what they say. Not sure if they even manufacture spare parts for that. This has been a huge PITA but i'm still looking forward to the car when everything's working.. sigh
Jon bond has all the parts for it if you know how to fix it. Or he may be able to repair it if you ship to him. I believe he also has completely built ones ready to go as well.
86TOYO2k17 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 86TOYO2k17 For This Useful Post:
kev0 (07-19-2019)
Old 07-19-2019, 02:01 AM   #8570
kev0
AUTOMATIC TRANNY
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: 2014 FRS AT
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 353
Thanks: 166
Thanked 58 Times in 44 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
As far as the vacuum actuator goes, does the one from JBP differ from any other one I find with the same part number?

https://jonbondperformance.com/index...roducts_id=146

and

https://www.magnusonsuperchargers.co...-01-31-764.htm
kev0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 03:18 AM   #8571
86TOYO2k17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 toyota 86
Location: PNW
Posts: 963
Thanks: 69
Thanked 398 Times in 291 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kev0 View Post
As far as the vacuum actuator goes, does the one from JBP differ from any other one I find with the same part number?

https://jonbondperformance.com/index...roducts_id=146

and

https://www.magnusonsuperchargers.co...-01-31-764.htm
Not sure. They look to have same part number. Canít tell if that mounting bracket is the same or not Iíd compare it to yours. If magnus looks the same then save 50$ on that one.
86TOYO2k17 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 86TOYO2k17 For This Useful Post:
kev0 (07-19-2019)
Old 07-19-2019, 07:25 PM   #8572
stockysnail
Just the tip
 
stockysnail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: 2013 Lightning Red Subaru BRZ Mt Lt
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 2,680
Thanks: 624
Thanked 976 Times in 648 Posts
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
I had to buy a replacement vacuum actuator years ago as the plastic came loose from the metal bracket. Poor design in my opinion. I got my from Sprintex directly. A little tedious to get it on and the arm thing in the correct position.
stockysnail is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stockysnail For This Useful Post:
kev0 (07-19-2019)
Old 07-19-2019, 09:50 PM   #8573
kev0
AUTOMATIC TRANNY
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: 2014 FRS AT
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 353
Thanks: 166
Thanked 58 Times in 44 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stockysnail View Post
I had to buy a replacement vacuum actuator years ago as the plastic came loose from the metal bracket. Poor design in my opinion. I got my from Sprintex directly. A little tedious to get it on and the arm thing in the correct position.
What were your symptoms with the failing vacuum actuator?
kev0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 08:37 PM   #8574
riboyster
Senior Member
 
riboyster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Drives: 2013 Scion FRS
Location: Maui, HI
Posts: 377
Thanks: 143
Thanked 110 Times in 93 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Anyone got tips for taking those pesky hex screws out on IC install? Considering just removing the whole damn thing

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk
__________________
ScreamingElectron - SnakeShit
riboyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 08:50 PM   #8575
JDM_Import
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: Boosted Toyobaru
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Thanks: 45
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I've had my sprintex supercharger installed and pro tuned for just over 2 months and got a Check Engine Light today after turning the car on. Im still putting the same 94 octane as per the map requires. I dont know what code it is at this moment.
Has anyone experienced this before, what do you recommend doing about this?
JDM_Import is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 09:46 PM   #8576
sroby
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Drives: 2015 Firestorm 08/05/15
Location: Dallas Ga
Posts: 270
Thanks: 237
Thanked 102 Times in 62 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
If you are on Ecutek tune, plug in your dongle spool up the Ecutek tune file you have the ability to read the codes and clear them. Go to Ecutek website . They have great tutorials for diy,s. Google is your best friend.
sroby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 09:48 PM   #8577
jflogerzi
Senior Member
 
jflogerzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2013 Series 10 6MT FR-S
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,489
Thanks: 1,189
Thanked 1,048 Times in 810 Posts
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDM_Import View Post
I've had my sprintex supercharger installed and pro tuned for just over 2 months and got a Check Engine Light today after turning the car on. Im still putting the same 94 octane as per the map requires. I dont know what code it is at this moment.
Has anyone experienced this before, what do you recommend doing about this?
Pull the code.. till you do that you don't know. Is the car running normally. FTs, AFR, temp, idles normally?

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
__________________
2013 Series 10 FRS #553
JDL 4-2-1 EL, Stock FP with Vibrant LN RES, MXP SP CB
RR Wilwood Front/Rear Sport BBK, Motul 600 Fluid
Koing Hypergram 17x8 ET40 SX2 GTs 245/40/17
Sprintek 210+69mm+FF+Tuned by Mike@Xero Limit
jflogerzi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 09:56 PM   #8578
JDM_Import
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Drives: Boosted Toyobaru
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Thanks: 45
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sroby View Post
If you are on Ecutek tune, plug in your dongle spool up the Ecutek tune file you have the ability to read the codes and clear them. Go to Ecutek website . They have great tutorials for diy,s. Google is your best friend.
I do have ECUTEK tune. I paid for licensing and the tune but I never got a dongle or cable. Was this suppose to be given to me when i bought ecutek license?
JDM_Import is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 10:01 PM   #8579
jflogerzi
Senior Member
 
jflogerzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2013 Series 10 6MT FR-S
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,489
Thanks: 1,189
Thanked 1,048 Times in 810 Posts
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDM_Import View Post
I do have ECUTEK tune. I paid for licensing and the tune but I never got a dongle or cable. Was this suppose to be given to me when i bought ecutek license?
Grab any obo2 Bluetooth adapter and get a copy of torque or the iPhone version of you have an iPhone. For 20-25$ good investment. With FI you always want to be able pull cels anytime. So your also not monitoring AFR, fuel trims, etc....

Sent from my GM1915 using Tapatalk
__________________
2013 Series 10 FRS #553
JDL 4-2-1 EL, Stock FP with Vibrant LN RES, MXP SP CB
RR Wilwood Front/Rear Sport BBK, Motul 600 Fluid
Koing Hypergram 17x8 ET40 SX2 GTs 245/40/17
Sprintek 210+69mm+FF+Tuned by Mike@Xero Limit
jflogerzi is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jflogerzi For This Useful Post:
JDM_Import (07-22-2019)
Old 07-21-2019, 11:04 PM   #8580
86TOYO2k17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Drives: 2017 toyota 86
Location: PNW
Posts: 963
Thanks: 69
Thanked 398 Times in 291 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDM_Import View Post
I do have ECUTEK tune. I paid for licensing and the tune but I never got a dongle or cable. Was this suppose to be given to me when i bought ecutek license?
Iím guessing you got an actual dyno tune by a shop and not a e-tune? Cable/Dongle is for loading e-tunes and cost extra.

If iPhone dashcommand
86TOYO2k17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2019, 11:08 PM   #8581
sroby
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Drives: 2015 Firestorm 08/05/15
Location: Dallas Ga
Posts: 270
Thanks: 237
Thanked 102 Times in 62 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
He is correct. They are extra, you can find them for around 200.00 used on the forum.
sroby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 12:50 AM   #8582
stockysnail
Just the tip
 
stockysnail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Drives: 2013 Lightning Red Subaru BRZ Mt Lt
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 2,680
Thanks: 624
Thanked 976 Times in 648 Posts
Mentioned: 174 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by kev0 View Post
What were your symptoms with the failing vacuum actuator?
Something just didn't feel quite the same. It was subtle and hard to explain. I frequently look under the hood and noticed it.
stockysnail is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
2 whp better than n/a e85, 2 whp? you're an idiot., 2screwsbetterthan0screw, 65 whp better than na e85, bspt fittings ftl, hate u all me no have sc, im just here for the tags, inorite!, it's no turbo but, only big numbers matter, screwyou, whine sexier than turbo, whines_more_than_your_gf, wts grey market butthurt.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Innovative ideas to increase interior storage capacity? swift996 Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 0 01-30-2013 11:45 PM
AVO vs Innovative diss7 Forced Induction 32 01-21-2013 07:15 PM
Not another need to drive topic Sargy Mid-Atlantic 5 11-27-2012 01:18 PM
Technical topic sub-forums OrbitalEllipses Site Announcements / Questions / Issues 1 07-17-2012 11:38 PM
Can you close the topic please? Standardsuspension Brakes, Suspension, Chassis 14 06-26-2012 05:14 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.