follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Xero Limit
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine Swaps

Engine Swaps Discussion of engine swaps.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2019, 02:14 PM   #29
Greenbean
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: 2017 series yellow BRZ
Location: Newport News Virginia
Posts: 90
Thanks: 9
Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportsguy83 View Post
ECU from a different post I made yesterday:

Motec is the top tier ECU. On top of CAN integration, it provides plenty many features and advanced customizations like incredibly effective traction control.

You have to sit down and think what things you NEED/WANT. If you need full CAN integration, ease of swap with the wiring figured out with a plug an play harness, go with the Pure Motec package. I have it and can attest to the Motec and plug and play features and can also confirm Pure stands by their product 100% and will be there to support you.

I've seen firsthand Element Tuning "plug and play" package with full CAN integration and it was a nightmare. Wires that did not reach the sensors, open wires that needed to be custom routed and plugs added to have basic features working and not enough inputs for critical stuff like, idle control on a cable throttle.

Yes, the Motec package is expensive. It will just depend on what value you put on almost limitless features, full CAN integration and the advantage of painfree wiring which can become a big task on a swap depending on what other option you decide to go with and how comfortable you/your shop is with wiring.

To me, after going through a swap, the extra cost as well worth it. Of course, some people don't need all the stuff Motec provides (track only car for example) and are comfortable with wiring. In those cases, it's harder to justify.

V160 or CD009 you will need to modify the trans tunnel. I believe either will land pretty close to stock location with the right adapters. You'd need to contact FBM for it. I believe Pure might also sell a conversion kit specific to the FRS?

In general, to keep proper brake bias, you want to got with a brake kit designed for the twins.
I agree that motec is good but itís way more options with emtron and way better for the price, all factory functions can be kept with emtron as well. Motec is a little over rated imo.
__________________
Greenbean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 05:56 PM   #30
Irace86.2.0
Senior Member
 
Irace86.2.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Drives: Q5 + BRZ + M796
Location: Santa Rosa, Ca
Posts: 2,379
Thanks: 1,484
Thanked 1,066 Times in 716 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenbean View Post
I agree that motec is good but itís way more options with emtron and way better for the price, all factory functions can be kept with emtron as well. Motec is a little over rated imo.
^^^ emtron rep? Whatís the deal with the emtron shoutouts on old threads?
__________________
Irace86.2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 08:20 AM   #31
spitfire481
Senior Member
 
spitfire481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: 2JZ FRS
Location: Pure Automotive Performance
Posts: 1,381
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,347 Times in 621 Posts
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
FYI the push button start function did not work properly with Emtron. We were using it on a 2jz swap and after they couldn't work that out we put a Motec in the car to get it done.
__________________
Pure Automotive Performance
MoTeC
Build Thread
@spitfire481
spitfire481 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to spitfire481 For This Useful Post:
wparsons (06-20-2019)
Old 06-17-2019, 09:17 AM   #32
all4spl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 345
Thanks: 55
Thanked 72 Times in 56 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I would assume that since emtron has a plug and play kit available, the ability to utilize the push start button should be available by now.
all4spl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 10:23 AM   #33
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,743
Thanks: 19,971
Thanked 8,293 Times in 4,346 Posts
Mentioned: 437 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenbean View Post
I agree that motec is good but it’s way more options with emtron and way better for the price, all factory functions can be kept with emtron as well. Motec is a little over rated imo.
When I did the swap, I added up the cost of the Emtron plus the custom harness plus the wiring work on the car I was going to need, and it was just a little less than Motec (it was just about $1K difference). I asked around tuners in my area (South FL) and no one knew or was willing to "tune" an Emtron they had no idea about.

At that time, I decided to go with Motec. If memory serves me well, at that time I did the swap, they also didn't have support for push button or they thought they had the code but were still trying to get a car to confirm it worked.

I'm all up for cheaper solutions. There's a CANBUS translator from Australia, that seems badass and promising with all functions working, but it also has been "promised" for three years and still has not been officially released. If that would have been available when I swapped, I would have gone with it, but to this date it is not available and I swapped a year ago (started planing about a year before that).

Last edited by Sportsguy83; 06-17-2019 at 11:01 AM.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sportsguy83 For This Useful Post:
DustinS (06-17-2019)
Old 06-19-2019, 07:34 AM   #34
Greenbean
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Drives: 2017 series yellow BRZ
Location: Newport News Virginia
Posts: 90
Thanks: 9
Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportsguy83 View Post
When I did the swap, I added up the cost of the Emtron plus the custom harness plus the wiring work on the car I was going to need, and it was just a little less than Motec (it was just about $1K difference). I asked around tuners in my area (South FL) and no one knew or was willing to "tune" an Emtron they had no idea about.

At that time, I decided to go with Motec. If memory serves me well, at that time I did the swap, they also didn't have support for push button or they thought they had the code but were still trying to get a car to confirm it worked.

I'm all up for cheaper solutions. There's a CANBUS translator from Australia, that seems badass and promising with all functions working, but it also has been "promised" for three years and still has not been officially released. If that would have been available when I swapped, I would have gone with it, but to this date it is not available and I swapped a year ago (started planing about a year before that).
Yeah i did hear that some time ago Emtron was not as popular and some things were not supported, but they seem to be up and coming and from what my builder/tuner has promised with his custom harness I was impressed to say the least. So many more performance options than Motec. He opened my mind to it lol
__________________
Greenbean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 08:41 AM   #35
all4spl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Drives: 2013 FR-S
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 345
Thanks: 55
Thanked 72 Times in 56 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenbean View Post
Yeah i did hear that some time ago Emtron was not as popular and some things were not supported, but they seem to be up and coming and from what my builder/tuner has promised with his custom harness I was impressed to say the least. So many more performance options than Motec. He opened my mind to it lol


Youíre in the right track with emtron but I wouldnít say more performance options. Itís a very capable unit but motec has been around for a long time with many many options.
all4spl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 10:58 AM   #36
spitfire481
Senior Member
 
spitfire481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drives: 2JZ FRS
Location: Pure Automotive Performance
Posts: 1,381
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,347 Times in 621 Posts
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
It's not a bad ecu at all, I may even be putting one in my Viper. But without being able to write custom firmware like we can with Motec it just didn't work out for our time frame we had
__________________
Pure Automotive Performance
MoTeC
Build Thread
@spitfire481
spitfire481 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to spitfire481 For This Useful Post:
wparsons (06-20-2019)
Old 06-20-2019, 12:16 AM   #37
geraldjust
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Drives: MR2, Sliver BRZ
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 173
Thanks: 1
Thanked 105 Times in 57 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Yeah that true. The General rule of thumb with most translators or devices is that the features that will work depends more on the ECU that your new engine will run. IE if your stock ecu does not support Traction Control most likely the car wont have traction control. If your ECU is old school based like a tach wire and temp wire than those are the features that will be supported. If you get something like motec which can be programmed to support almost very thing then it can be. But not everything is canbus. some signals are also had wired. so those are required to run everything 100% And wiring can vary from Manual vs Auto, and push start vs turn key.
__________________
Always looking to tinker with something..
geraldjust is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to geraldjust For This Useful Post:
Sportsguy83 (06-20-2019)
 
Reply

Tags
2jz, 2jz gte, ecu, engine swap, transmission

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: 2016 Scion FR-S 41,765 senselogic Cars for Sale/Trade 0 01-10-2019 06:22 PM
Looking for some advice and tips on engine swap. SoCal80six Engine Swaps 13 11-12-2015 02:02 AM
Scion steering wheel emblem replacement: any companies planning to make one? fooddude Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 8 05-13-2014 06:20 PM
Anybody done this swap??.Ö need advice thanks FrsT86-671 Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 38 09-20-2013 11:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.