follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.

User Tag List

Old 08-23-2012, 01:06 PM   #1
rmjjensen

Drives: 2013 Subaru BRZ Limited in WRB
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
BRZ Steering Wheel Radio Controls

Not for the faint of heart but I'm an electrical engineer so what do you expect...

I know the radio is within arms reach but I do miss my steering wheel radio controls. So, call me crazy but my intention is to use the cruise control stalk on the steering column to change presets and activate voice command.

The cruise control is a resistor ladder (single wire) whose reference voltage changes based on the switch position. Looks like the ECU reference is 5V but the factory radio is 3.3V. I'm going to build a simple circuit to convert 0-5V reference signals into the appropriate 3.3V signals for the radio.

The circuit will be enabled/disabled based on if the cruise control is on. If the cruise is off, the movements of the cruise control lever will control the radio, if the cruise control is on then the movements will have no affect on the radio. Unfortunately this signal comes from the car's CAN network and I'll have to go after the LED in the cluster ...ugh... I'm not sure if it switches voltage or ground so the "Cruise Control Indicator Light" input -> decoder circuit should be taken with a grain of salt - I have to test at the cluster.

I could simply use an ADC chip (like the ADC0804) but I don't have one. I actually have some various ICs just laying around that I can use for it. They're actually quite common (with the exception of the decoder) so I went ahead and put a circuit together.