follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.

User Tag List

Old 07-08-2018, 04:59 PM   #1
Diamond

Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
UEL Headers by themselves?

Hello! Just bought my 2013 FR-S about 2 weeks ago, already am starting to dislike how quiet the current exhaust setup is, so I want to give it a teeeeeny tiny bit more oomph.

I'm fairly new to modding as well so I had a few questions. I don't really want to dump too much money into the exhaust system so I figured I was just going to get Tomei UEL headers and leave the rest of the exhaust stock for now. Is this recommended? To my knowledge the majority of the performance gains would be coming from the headers anyway, and doing this would bring the subie rumble to life, which would really be sufficient as far as sound goes. Do I need a catback as well to even notice a difference? Thanks in advance!
Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 05:41 PM   #2
churchx

Drives: 2014 GT86
Thanked 2,085 Times in 1,436 Posts
Mentioned: 53 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Do also ecu tune, for more gains out of aftermarket header & to disable cat readiness checks to not throw CEL (as i guess you mentioned header is catless, right?).
churchx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 04:19 AM   #3
JimmyMac

Drives: 2013 FR-S, 2016 Miata Club
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
The Tomei uel header is catless.
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 05:18 AM   #4
CSG Mike

Drives: S2000 CR
Thanked 14,177 Times in 6,835 Posts
Mentioned: 966 Post(s)
Tagged: 14 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond View Post