follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
ACE Headers
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides

DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides For all DIYs.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2015, 06:51 AM   #1
Teclis
Marine Electrician
 
Teclis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: Toyota TRD86, 2014
Location: In the deep forests of Norway!
Posts: 213
Thanks: 274
Thanked 93 Times in 63 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question DIY Request: install Oil Pressure & Temperature gauge

Hi
First off I did but could not find what I'm looking for.

Does anyone have a DIY for where to place the Oil Pressure sensor & Temperature sensor?

Planning to get the mishimoto oil cooler, so I can't use a trd sensor plate.
And for Gauge I'm going with Innovate Oil Pressure & Temperature http://www.ft86speedfactory.com/mtx-...ture-1402.html

Pictures of where you mounted the sensors, and a description of what is needed for the job would be great!
__________________

Last edited by Teclis; 06-28-2015 at 08:42 AM. Reason: Fixed so there wont be any misunderstanding
Teclis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 07:31 AM   #2
Lunatic
Senior Member
 
Lunatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Drives: 2015 Raven FRS
Location: Indio, CA. Just an Old Fart in a Automatic!.
Posts: 1,613
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1,035 Times in 485 Posts
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Here's my gauge pod I made for 2 1/16th inch gauges.
Attached Images
 
Lunatic is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Lunatic For This Useful Post:
8R6 (06-03-2016), GhostOp86 (07-24-2015), hmong337 (07-01-2015), juliog (06-28-2015), Teclis (06-28-2015)
Old 06-28-2015, 08:42 AM   #3
Teclis
Marine Electrician
 
Teclis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: Toyota TRD86, 2014
Location: In the deep forests of Norway!
Posts: 213
Thanks: 274
Thanked 93 Times in 63 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
thanks, but I ment where you mounted the sensors
__________________
Teclis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 09:48 AM   #4
nunonuna
Senior Member
 
nunonuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: FR-S
Location: TN
Posts: 566
Thanks: 133
Thanked 173 Times in 126 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=82414
nunonuna is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nunonuna For This Useful Post:
Teclis (06-28-2015)
Old 06-28-2015, 09:57 AM   #5
armyoffoo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Drives: 2015 Scion FR-S
Location: Houston
Posts: 120
Thanks: 8
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Find a sensor adapter for the oil galley plug on google:

M18x1.5 sensor adapter

Not sure if a Y adapter can fit in there with both sensors, but here's a post showing the plug location:

http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=82414

You can get oil temp through ODB2 port, really only need the pressure sensor.
armyoffoo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to armyoffoo For This Useful Post:
Teclis (06-28-2015)
Old 06-28-2015, 10:20 AM   #6
Teclis
Marine Electrician
 
Teclis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: Toyota TRD86, 2014
Location: In the deep forests of Norway!
Posts: 213
Thanks: 274
Thanked 93 Times in 63 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by armyoffoo View Post
Find a sensor adapter for the oil galley plug on google:

M18x1.5 sensor adapter

Not sure if a Y adapter can fit in there with both sensors, but here's a post showing the plug location:

http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=82414

You can get oil temp through ODB2 port, really only need the pressure sensor.
Yeah but the innovate gauge got both in one gauge
__________________
Teclis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 10:37 AM   #7
nunonuna
Senior Member
 
nunonuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: FR-S
Location: TN
Posts: 566
Thanks: 133
Thanked 173 Times in 126 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teclis View Post
Yeah but the innovate gauge got both in one gauge
You can find extender for bulky sender unit.
nunonuna is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nunonuna For This Useful Post:
Teclis (06-28-2015)
Old 06-28-2015, 12:49 PM   #8
dustmann
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Drives: '14 WRB BRZ Limited
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 46
Thanks: 12
Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
DIY Request: install Oil Pressure & Temperature gauge

I have the exact same gauge mounted in my car. I'm using one of the block8head defrost vent dual pods. See here: http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66333

As for the installation, I used this as a guide: http://www.autometer.com/resources/i...uide_view/id/3

**edit 1/5/16 I had the incorrect part number listed for the autometer adapter... This has been corrected

Note for the innovate pressure sender, you WILL need the autometer adapter (**2269) if you're going to install it in the stock sending location (what I did). I used a galley plug and gasket from rallysport direct, which worked perfectly for the temp sensor. (the innovate temp sensor is threaded for PT, which matches the galley plug at RSD) http://www.rallysportdirect.com/cata...eywords=galley

Last edited by dustmann; 01-06-2016 at 12:03 AM.
dustmann is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dustmann For This Useful Post:
Teclis (06-29-2015)
Old 06-28-2015, 01:04 PM   #9
BRZtoni
Turbo E85
 
BRZtoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: 13 wrb brz
Location: torrance, ca
Posts: 1,101
Thanks: 172
Thanked 555 Times in 349 Posts
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
if your patient give me 2-3 weeks i can make a guide for the install..
i will be using innovate oil temp/pressure gauge which i sort of already installed
but will re-adjust to make fit for my turbo
and a AEM FAIL SAFE gauge as well

I'm using an ATX vent Pod Gauge
and block8head vent defrost gauge
__________________
Flex Fuel Turbo BRZ
BRZtoni is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BRZtoni For This Useful Post:
Teclis (06-28-2015)
Old 06-28-2015, 05:56 PM   #10
Teclis
Marine Electrician
 
Teclis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: Toyota TRD86, 2014
Location: In the deep forests of Norway!
Posts: 213
Thanks: 274
Thanked 93 Times in 63 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRZtoni View Post
if your patient give me 2-3 weeks i can make a guide for the install..
i will be using innovate oil temp/pressure gauge which i sort of already installed
but will re-adjust to make fit for my turbo
and a AEM FAIL SAFE gauge as well

I'm using an ATX vent Pod Gauge
and block8head vent defrost gauge

Sounds awesome! And yeah I got time.. stuck at sea until the end of July

I'm also going to use a block8head defroster pod for my innovate oil temp/pressure gauge
__________________
Teclis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 11:02 PM   #11
lbroskee
Senior Member
 
lbroskee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Ultramarine Scion FR-S (MT)
Location: Coral Springs, SoFlo
Posts: 2,251
Thanks: 1,503
Thanked 532 Times in 429 Posts
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustmann View Post
I have the exact same gauge mounted in my car. I'm using one of the block8head defrost vent dual pods. See here: http://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66333

As for the installation, I used this as a guide: http://www.autometer.com/resources/i...uide_view/id/3

Note for the innovate pressure sender, you WILL need the autometer adapter (2280) if you're going to install it in the stock sending location (what I did). I used a galley plug and gasket from rallysport direct, which worked perfectly for the temp sensor. (the innovate temp sensor is threaded for PT, which matches the galley plug at RSD) http://www.rallysportdirect.com/cata...eywords=galley
but if u install in factory location its rt by the OEM pressure switch which Innovate specifically says NOT TO DO....

that leaves just the galley plug and pressure would go there, but then temp is left out
lbroskee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 11:29 PM   #12
dustmann
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Drives: '14 WRB BRZ Limited
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 46
Thanks: 12
Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
DIY Request: install Oil Pressure & Temperature gauge

The innovate pressure sender is too large to fit in the galley location under the alternator, I didn't have a relocation kit, so I replaced the factory pressure switch with the innovate sender and it's been working fine for the few months I've had it installed.

The manual for the gauge says not to install it next to the oil pump, or to the pressure switch itself. It didn't say anything about replacing the switch
dustmann is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dustmann For This Useful Post:
Teclis (06-29-2015)
Old 06-28-2015, 11:42 PM   #13
lbroskee
Senior Member
 
lbroskee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Ultramarine Scion FR-S (MT)
Location: Coral Springs, SoFlo
Posts: 2,251
Thanks: 1,503
Thanked 532 Times in 429 Posts
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 5 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustmann View Post
The innovate pressure sender is too large to fit in the galley location under the alternator, I didn't have a relocation kit, so I replaced the factory pressure switch with the innovate sender and it's been working fine for the few months I've had it installed.

The manual for the gauge says not to install it next to the oil pump, or to the pressure switch itself. It didn't say anything about replacing the switch
No cel or issues with the OEM light it controls? And what did u do about the connector that plugs into it, just tie it back?
lbroskee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2015, 11:48 PM   #14
dustmann
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Drives: '14 WRB BRZ Limited
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 46
Thanks: 12
Thanked 19 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Yes the switch is normally grounded, so disconnecting it doesn't trigger a CEL or the pressure light on the dash. Note that you will lose that functionality (but it is replaced by your gauge) And yes, i just zip tied it out of the way.
dustmann is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil Pressure and Temp Gauge Install BokChoiTV Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 14 12-29-2015 07:19 PM
Defi Oil Pressure Gauge and Cravenspeed Flexpod Gauge Mount Install and Review Tye300 Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 10 05-22-2015 12:48 PM
DIY request: Gauge install and wire routing mikepaul21 DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides 3 07-05-2014 12:43 PM
Plot your oil pressure vs temperature Gords_zenith Mechanical Maintenance (Oil, Fluids, Break-In, Servicing) 1 04-22-2014 06:09 PM
Temperature Gauge a dummy gauge? bambbrose Subaru BRZ General Forum 40 08-19-2012 04:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.