follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
RR Racing
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides

DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Guides For all DIYs.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2014, 09:44 AM   #71
bren5279
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: series.blurrr
Location: va
Posts: 164
Thanks: 14
Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Does the spectral angles of the LEDs effect it at all?
@DustinS which LEDs did you end up using since it sounds like you changed it for the right lumen rating? Also the display LEDs since it sounds like you changed it?

Last edited by bren5279; 08-28-2014 at 10:11 AM.
bren5279 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 10:39 AM   #72
DustinS
Senior Member
 
DustinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 2,191
Thanked 1,132 Times in 657 Posts
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
All the blue LED's were: Blue LED @ Mouser

I just changed what I wanted Blue. Everything works right, and it is really growing on me. I even found gauges to match:
__________________
DustinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 06:38 PM   #73
bren5279
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: series.blurrr
Location: va
Posts: 164
Thanks: 14
Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
In the interest of picking the right LED's did anyone ever check what voltage was across them? and/or know the OEM led lumen ratings?

Last edited by bren5279; 08-28-2014 at 07:13 PM.
bren5279 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 01:21 PM   #74
Top-Secret
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Drives: FRS monogram
Location: victoria BC
Posts: 184
Thanks: 10
Thanked 139 Times in 42 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
Well thats a piss off. I ordered the wrong LEDs. The ones i got are tiny!
Top-Secret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 02:30 AM   #75
PhoKingCool
Senior Member
 
PhoKingCool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Drives: BRZ
Location: Palos Verdes, Cali
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 43 Times in 21 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinS View Post
Got it somewhat done. The vinyl isn't as nice/is a bit too dark for my liking. So that will most likely be removed. I am going to replace the white LED's for something the same lumins as the Blue so they dim just about the same. I still need to try the shift light. I think it would work better with white needles as the red should make the needles super red. They are going to turn purple now haha. I am also going to change the red warning lights(except oil) to blue, and the amber to white.



This IMO, is the best looking setup so far!
PhoKingCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 02:56 PM   #76
iniguez310
Cool Guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 44
Thanks: 23
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Got this done yesterday and today as i was driving I noticed that the mps needle doesnt move, at idle the RPM guage reads 0 and my gas needle is a little off. I did follow the instructions with marking the position of the needles. Any suggestions on what i can do when reassembling it again?? Going to pop it off during the week.
iniguez310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 11:26 PM   #77
CJBRZ
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: 2015 Series.Blue
Location: FL
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Has anyone tried to change the LEDS on the OEM head unit in the brz? I have a series.blue and I want to change all of the LEDS to blue including the ones in the head unit.
CJBRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 10:18 AM   #78
DustinS
Senior Member
 
DustinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 2,191
Thanked 1,132 Times in 657 Posts
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJBRZ View Post
Has anyone tried to change the LEDS on the OEM head unit in the brz? I have a series.blue and I want to change all of the LEDS to blue including the ones in the head unit.
I know @Acree has changed his over. I haven't had the time to open up the stock headunit yet, but I plan on it.
__________________
DustinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 11:06 PM   #79
CJBRZ
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: 2015 Series.Blue
Location: FL
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinS View Post
I know @Acree has changed his over. I haven't had the time to open up the stock headunit yet, but I plan on it.
Yeah I saw, but I guess he's banned. Do let me know how it goes if you get to it before me, I'll probably do my car in stages depending on how long it takes. I was going to put blue foot well lights in this weekend when I realized it wouldn't look that great with all the red LEDs at night.
CJBRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 12:20 AM   #80
Pwolf
Senior Member
 
Pwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Drives: 2013 GBS BRZ Limited
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 1,967
Thanked 1,374 Times in 555 Posts
Mentioned: 118 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJBRZ View Post
Has anyone tried to change the LEDS on the OEM head unit in the brz? I have a series.blue and I want to change all of the LEDS to blue including the ones in the head unit.
I replaced my headunit so I don't need to do this but I was curious...

It seems pretty simple. There are 10 clips along the sides that hold the plastic face plate and underlying circuits. Be gentle as you take it apart is there is a single ribbon cable the attaches the faceplate boards to the rest of the unit.

You shouldn't have to disconnect this, just place a small towel down on the exposed side of the head unit after you've taken off the face place and then flip the plate over to set it down to work on. This will help protect the screen.

Next there are two main boards. The large one has one single LED in the corner and the smaller board contains the rest of the goodies. The LEDs are pretty small but you might be able to get away with using the PLCC2's.

Here's a picture of the underside of the faceplate:



I've circled the screws that need to be removed. I only took the large board off to take a quick look to see if there was anything else under there. You have to unplug 4 of the ribbon cables and make sure you reconnect them after you're done. These have simple locking actions so you just need to gently release the locks by pushing them away from the base and the ribbon cable will slip out easily. To lock the cable back in, make sure the cable is in as far as it can go and then push the locking piece back towards the base of the connector. A bit of work for one LED but not that bad.

As mentioned, I didn't look at the smaller board. I don't have my smaller screwdriver set readily available but if you want me to take that apart and take a pic, I can do it tomorrow after work.
__________________
Pwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Pwolf For This Useful Post:
DustinS (09-23-2014), murdoc (09-23-2014)
Old 09-23-2014, 12:15 PM   #81
DustinS
Senior Member
 
DustinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 2,191
Thanked 1,132 Times in 657 Posts
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
I'll dig into mine tonight(Hopefully not destroying it) and get some picture up. Thanks for leading the way.
__________________
DustinS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 03:37 PM   #82
CJBRZ
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: 2015 Series.Blue
Location: FL
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Thanks guys that would be very helpful.
CJBRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2014, 03:26 AM   #83
DustinS
Senior Member
 
DustinS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Drives: 2013 Ultramarine FR-S
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 2,191
Thanked 1,132 Times in 657 Posts
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)












Mind you I have an FR-S that is why the board is different. I would not recommend this to anyone that isn't confident in their soldering skills. They are extremely small LED's and very easy to burn up/lose.(Size comparison next to a PLCC-2 which is used in the gauge cluster) You will definitely want to order from somewhere Like Mouser. I found that my ebay LEDs had 2 different blue LEDs packaged together. So The color/intensity isn't dead set. Though it is very, very hard to tell. The amber buttons even came out blue, which I wasn't expecting.

I'll get the size in the morning, typing this from bed and really don't want to get up to check.
__________________

Last edited by DustinS; 02-02-2016 at 12:04 AM.
DustinS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DustinS For This Useful Post:
MaXimus (03-15-2016), Pwolf (09-24-2014)
Old 09-24-2014, 05:54 PM   #84
CJBRZ
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Drives: 2015 Series.Blue
Location: FL
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
@Pwolf are these the same LEDs used in the BRZ nav head unit?
CJBRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gauge Cluster on FRS tonytduc Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 16 07-24-2017 09:56 PM
BRZ cluster gauge swap? InYOHface Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) 31 03-25-2017 06:31 PM
WTB gauge cluster Basti Want-To-Buy Requests 3 04-09-2014 02:54 PM
Gauge cluster mod? kALMIGHTY Scion FR-S / Toyota 86 GT86 General Forum 8 11-27-2013 11:59 PM
Want to try a gauge cluster experiment with me? stockysnail Northwest 2 04-12-2013 10:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.