follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-25-2016, 06:33 AM   #57
rsingh
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Drives: gt 86
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
B-R-Z dude thanks so much for the recommendation of this deck, just installed it today which was really easy and no modifications where required, the unit at first was pretty shit with the stock firmware but after installing the latest android 4.4.4 by malaysk holy shit this this becomes good its sooo much faster really that firmware makes all the difference, I didn't even backup the original firmware I just chucked on those two files on a sd card which i mentioned in my previous post, google maps wouldnt even run on the stock firmware without crashing but on this firmware runs just fine and in fact this unit seems more responsive then my previous pioneer head unit that had android auto/carplay, theres still some things i need to figure out how get music to play from the sd card on the music app that was designed for that firmware, works on the other music apps but not on the stock music app not really an issue still figuring it out, also using voice search on google maps seems a bit hit and miss but obviously searching manually works well, overall im glad i got this over the ca fi one which seems to have many issues, very happy so far with the unit.
rsingh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 06:46 AM   #58
B-R-Z
I love peanut butter
 
B-R-Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Drives: 2013 SWP BRZ Limited
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,521
Thanks: 418
Thanked 536 Times in 327 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Garage
Glad u got it figured out @rsingh. Yes the unit is bad with the factory firmware, the aftermarket stuff really makes a huge difference.

The sd music should work in the music app. When you slide your finger right over the music app, it should display a screen where you may need to select SD card as the source. It should then populate a list with your music
B-R-Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2016, 08:50 AM   #59
rsingh
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Drives: gt 86
Location: Australia
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
oh yeah got that the music thing sorted now, i had the sd card in the gps slot seems to work fine with it in the sd card slot, also even voice search with google maps seems to work although it doesnt quiet down the music as its listening however it still seems to register what i said,
rsingh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 11:35 PM   #60
tofurun
Senior Member
 
tofurun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Drives: 2014 BRZ Limited 6MT
Location: South Georgia
Posts: 324
Thanks: 56
Thanked 88 Times in 63 Posts
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Garage
The first thing that caught my eye was the torque app. This will save me money on gauges if it reads right. Main questions are will the torque app on there read the oil temp and oil pressure levels on screen?
tofurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 11:14 PM   #61
doctorman
Joying-USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Drives: Highlander 08
Location: New York
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tofurun View Post
The first thing that caught my eye was the torque app. This will save me money on gauges if it reads right. Main questions are will the torque app on there read the oil temp and oil pressure levels on screen?
you might want to ask the torque app support that question

if OBD2 in your car can provide that information, torque app can show it
doctorman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loading android phone contacts into radio Roadstercycle Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 8 05-21-2019 12:59 AM
Sony Head unit lets you use your Android phone as a car radio Mad1723 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 4 01-09-2014 07:18 PM
Noticeably low and sharp volume with AM radio stations with stock BRZ radio tracerit Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 0 07-24-2013 02:38 AM
Radio, Iphone?? Radio cuts out when surfing the web Fugazi Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 5 07-30-2012 11:24 AM
Android vs iOS vs BB os...which is best? Raiden Off-Topic Lounge 19 02-02-2011 11:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.