follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Delicious Tuning
Register Garage Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting

Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting What these cars were built for!

User Tag List

Old 04-30-2017, 12:10 AM   #1
UFO

Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S, 2014 Audi S4
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
What do I need to change to fix my problem?

I've tracked various cars over the years: a 2003 Evo VIII, a 2005 Evo VIII, a 2001 Porsche 996 C4, and a 2008 Evo X. I was always faster than everyone else in my run group because, well, 300HP and AWD. I used to think I was a pretty good driver but now realise it's not hard to drive a fast car fast!

I've been driving a local track in the FR-S and next weekend will be my 5th time there. I've gone from a lap time of 2:15 to 2:06 and during that transition all I've changed is track time, brake fluid and pads. I'm mostly stock suspension, just have RCE yellow springs and crash bolts with -2.3 camber up front. Also running Enkei RPF-1s 17X9 +35 with 245/40 Hankook R-S3 V2 tyres.

There are at least 2 corners that I feel I could be flat through but the car pushes too much and I have to modulate the throttle. I feel that I need to change something suspension wise but I don't know what. I see so many suspension options but how do I know which option will fix my problems? Will going to coilovers help? Bushings? More camber? Other adjustable suspension components?

I realize this is an insanely ambiguous question but how do I know which suspension part will fix which issue I'm facing?
UFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2017, 02:44 AM   #2
swarb

Drives: BRZ
Thanked 2,451 Times in 1,271 Posts
Mentioned: 79 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Play with tire pressures.
Try a different line.