follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Drambeenie BRZ/86 Risers
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2013, 01:49 PM   #1
jacobzking
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: White FRS
Location: Dallas
Posts: 182
Thanks: 21
Thanked 49 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
DIY 2014 Navigation unit **FULLY working 6/19** Pandora/Weather/Traffic/ETC...



^^^ENTUNE IS FULLY WORKING... just took a minute to set it up^^^


AS OF 6/19 THE UNIT IS INSTALLED AND FULLY FUNCTIONAL: Nav, traffic, weather, opentable (dinner reservations), movie tickets, bluetooth, iPhone 5, Android, etc, etc...


couple of final notes: the nav antenna i bought on ebay for $17 works GREAT but I had to trim down the connector a little. also, my brackets werent here yet so i just put some double sided tape on the unit and stuck the 2 together and then used some zip ties to wrap around the 2 units.


First off you'll need the following to install this setup:

NAV UNIT pt296-47121 $590
just enables Nav and nothing else that I'm aware of, PRIUS V module. this model has been tested and DOES work in FRS.
-or
NAV UNIT pt296-47130 $1244 ***the one I ordered***
enables Nav AND ENTUNE (pandora, bing, moviefone, weather, traffic, open table, stocks, etc...) this is the newer toyota 4Runner model. this model has been tested and DOES work in FRS, just unsure about Apps, etc.
-or
NAV UNIT pt296-00140 $1244?
enables Nav and BeSpoke. this is the "correct" part for our cars, but if the EnTune apps will work on our cars, I'd much rather have that over the BeSpoke crap.
so I ordered the EnTune kit which comes with the harness that connects to the head unit, the nav module and an additional "bluetooth" cable. i

You'll also need brackets if installing the NAv box:
you need the OEM "C" bracket that just attaches the nav module to your original 2013 stock FRS brackets. PT591-00140 $15
Lastly a GPS antenna:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/320819856679...84.m1439.l2649 $17.99 w/ free shipping
or buy an OEM one ($??)

INSTALL: shouldnt take anyone more than 10-15 minutes to do (with or without the NAV extension box)

1. pop off the long passenger "carbon" panel by prying with your fingers from the bottom (10 seconds).
2. pop off the head unit surround "carbon" panel by prying with your fingers from the bottom corners (10 seconds).
3. remove the 4x 10mm bolts holding the head unit in place and slide radio out(1 minute)
4. unclip the 5 harness plugs; 4 plugs and the grey antenna, remove head unit (1 minute)
5. remove the 4x 8mm screws on each side to remove the brackets, they will be re-used (2 minutes)
6. install brackets on head unit (and nav box which sits directly below the head unit) use the brackets from the bestkits.com kit OR 2014 FRS brackets (not available yet) install the 8mm screws (you will only use 3 per side on reinstall of the new head unit) or use original brackets if not installing nav extension box (2 minutes)
7. reattach 4 bigger harness plugs in to the head unit (and reattach the grey antenna plug to the head unit only if youre NOT going to use Nav, then slide the head unit back in (1 minute)
7b. if you are using the nav box, the 4 big plugs go right back in to the head unit, just like the original head unit. but the grey antenna plug goes in to the extension box, NOT in to the head unit. you'll then use the included harness to join the head unit to the to nav box. nav box has one plug on back. the harness splits off to 2 plugs that are the top 2 middle plugs on the 2014 frs head unit. towards the front of the 2 units is another gray plug on each one, the cable is already attached to the nav box... that cable just plugs right in to the head unit.
8. reinstall the 4x 10mm bolts to hold head unit in place (1 minute)
9. snap the trim panels back on (20 seconds)

...I added that up to a whopping 8 minutes and 40 seconds, and thats if you're taking your time, lol. I only say this because people keep asking, "should the dealer do this for me?" lol, NO!

even without the Nav, i LOVE the head unit. if you have the non bespoke head unit, its a great upgrade. nice and snappy OS on it. nice phone application, speed dial, changeable ring tones (3), call quality is great. the music player is nice. all and all i'm really happy with it. can't wait for nav update!

Hurry and call Toyota of Plano parts if you want one of these head units before they jump up to $1198 or more. 888-255-3154 Part number PT54600140 Don't give em a year/make/model... just the part number.

I figured I'd make this 2nd post about this to include some actual pics of the head unit along with install notes, nav, etc. Thanks Moto_P for the initial info!
Attached Images
      

Last edited by jacobzking; 07-19-2013 at 02:10 PM.
jacobzking is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to jacobzking For This Useful Post:
355rockit (11-02-2013), DAEMANO (07-24-2015), Danny86 (09-30-2013), Lonewolf (06-13-2013), Mandy (06-21-2013), normancw (12-23-2013), NSV (06-20-2013), suaveflooder (06-21-2013)
Old 06-13-2013, 01:50 PM   #2
jacobzking
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: White FRS
Location: Dallas
Posts: 182
Thanks: 21
Thanked 49 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
so I ordered the EnTune kit which comes with the harness that connects to the head unit, the nav module and an additional "bluetooth" cable. if you're installing this in a 2013 FRS you'll need to order a different bracket OR make one (UPDATE, USING BRACKETS FROM BESTKITS.COM BKTOYK996). when you install the 2014 unit into a 2013 FRS it uses 3 of the 4 screws on the bracket because of the shape of the 2014 head unit. the 2014 bracket will be longer than the 2013 one to allow extra holes to attach the plug in nav module. i'll probably just get 2 pieces of sheet metal and jb weld them to the original brackets and drill the extra 2 holes or whatever.
Attached Images
  

Last edited by jacobzking; 06-17-2013 at 05:26 PM.
jacobzking is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jacobzking For This Useful Post:
applekash (06-15-2013)
Old 06-13-2013, 02:58 PM   #3
mdf4uk
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Drives: 13 Firestorm FRS MT & 09 DGM WRX
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 81
Thanks: 24
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
So it looks like the new radio does not have subwoofer pre-out?
mdf4uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 03:02 PM   #4
jacobzking
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: White FRS
Location: Dallas
Posts: 182
Thanks: 21
Thanked 49 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdf4uk View Post
So it looks like the new radio does not have subwoofer pre-out?
unless it is one of the 2 extra plugs. very possible that if there is a factory sub option, they are using a harness as opposed to RCA plugs. especially considering that the layout of the plugs is the same from 2013 to 2014, but where the old RCA plugs were, now there is a harness connection.
jacobzking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 03:18 PM   #5
mdf4uk
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Drives: 13 Firestorm FRS MT & 09 DGM WRX
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 81
Thanks: 24
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
I will probably just keep the stock base since i have already set it up with an alpine sub amp and JL audio CP108LG-W3v3 enclosed sub. This sub and amp combo sounds great in the FRS and takes up very little trunk space.
mdf4uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 03:20 PM   #6
STV3
Seņor Member
 
STV3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: 2013 Scion FR-S
Location: Rockland County NY
Posts: 1,603
Thanks: 1,089
Thanked 1,317 Times in 644 Posts
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 4 Thread(s)
That looks nice. How did you get a hold of this?
STV3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 03:27 PM   #7
jacobzking
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: White FRS
Location: Dallas
Posts: 182
Thanks: 21
Thanked 49 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by STV3 View Post
That looks nice. How did you get a hold of this?
I ordered through Toyota of Plano. Ordered yesterday, picked it up today
jacobzking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 03:54 PM   #8
Calavera
Senior Member
 
Calavera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: Scion FR-S Whiteout
Location: Texas
Posts: 415
Thanks: 92
Thanked 148 Times in 94 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
This is not the $1,200 unit. This will always be $500 something. The $1200 unit is the premium unit and this is the base unit.
Calavera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 03:55 PM   #9
Darryljr11
Sideways and Smiling!
 
Darryljr11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: Scion FR-S
Location: Maryland
Posts: 996
Thanks: 442
Thanked 265 Times in 204 Posts
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobzking View Post
I ordered through Toyota of Plano. Ordered yesterday, picked it up today
how much?
Darryljr11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:01 PM   #10
Mandy
I came from a motorbike
 
Mandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Drives: Firestorm 2013 FR-S 6MT
Location: FL, US
Posts: 447
Thanks: 241
Thanked 390 Times in 124 Posts
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calavera View Post
This is not the $1,200 unit. This will always be $500 something. The $1200 unit is the premium unit and this is the base unit.
Do we know what the actual difference is between the base and the premium?
Mandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:15 PM   #11
Calavera
Senior Member
 
Calavera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: Scion FR-S Whiteout
Location: Texas
Posts: 415
Thanks: 92
Thanked 148 Times in 94 Posts
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandy View Post
Do we know what the actual difference is between the base and the premium?
BESPOKE PREMIUM AUDIO FEATURING AHA
$1,198.00 [4]
Know exactly where you're going, then maximize your enjoyment of the drive. With GPS navigation and a vast array of entertainment and information options at your fingertips, you may even choose to take the long way there.

Voice-activated GPS navigation with touch screen [46]
Features aha, available from Harman on iTunes and Google Play [44]
Access to over 30,000+ Internet radio stations
Personalized music channels
Sports, tech, business and international news
Social media like Facebook, Twitter and Yelp!
Podcasts and audiobooks
Location Based Services to help find local restaurants, coffee, hotels, and weather information or updates, etc.
Calavera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:21 PM   #12
jacobzking
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: White FRS
Location: Dallas
Posts: 182
Thanks: 21
Thanked 49 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
This is the same head unit as the premium, its just missing the GPS module. Same part number as the "premium" version shown here. As stated by Moto-P this is currently half off what it will be once its released with the car. The only questions is how much will the GPS module be. $50 or $500? lol.

http://www.scion.com/BeSpoke/
jacobzking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:26 PM   #13
Re~Mix
Senior Member
 
Re~Mix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 13' Scion FRS MT
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 737
Thanks: 290
Thanked 333 Times in 191 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 3 Thread(s)
How hard was the install? Do you think I could have the dealer take a stab at it, or should I do it myself?
__________________
07' Z4M Coupe | KW Clubsports | AFE Intake | Stromung Mufflers | UUC Shortshifter | Advan RS
15' 228i MSport
13' FR-S | TRD CAI | TRD Catback | UEL Header | OFT Stg 1 | Rota Grid-V | RCE Suspension | Hankook |
Re~Mix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:40 PM   #14
jacobzking
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Drives: White FRS
Location: Dallas
Posts: 182
Thanks: 21
Thanked 49 Times in 38 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Re~Mix View Post
How hard was the install? Do you think I could have the dealer take a stab at it, or should I do it myself?
i'd install it myself. pop off passanger panel (just 6 clips, grab and tug. remove head unit surround, again gran and tug. remove 4 easy to access screws. pull out old head unit. remove harnesses. reverse to reinstall. 5-10 minute procedure.
jacobzking is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jacobzking For This Useful Post:
Re~Mix (06-13-2013)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Scion Standard Radio for 2014 NedVargar Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 45 06-13-2013 09:00 PM
WTB: Pioneer Premium Audio radio/head unit tech4pdx Canada Classifieds 2 04-14-2013 07:31 PM
Sirus Radio on Stock head Unit wtout86 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 3 11-20-2012 03:22 PM
Fitting the radio plug into aftermarket head unit GC GTS Aero Kit Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 1 10-29-2012 05:41 AM
head unit in GTA excited86 Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment 1 06-18-2012 07:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.