follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook.
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
Speed By Design
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Engine, Exhaust, Transmission

Engine, Exhaust, Transmission Discuss the FR-S | 86 | BRZ engine, exhaust and drivetrain.

User Tag List

Old 05-18-2018, 04:03 PM   #1
EdBRZ

Drives: ‘14 Brz
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Clutch became super light after replacement

I just got my clutch + flywheel replaced with the Exedy oem clutch kit and am noticing that my clutch became super light with no resistance or weight to it. Is this normal for an oem clutch replacement? Will it go back to normal after a few drives? I am fairly new to driving manual so I am inexperienced to understand what happened. I’m just hoping there wasn’t an issue with the installation...
EdBRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 04:12 PM   #2
StraightOuttaCanadaEh
Wes

Drives: Artisan Spirits '17 86
Thanked 1,674 Times in 994 Posts
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Happened to me with my last car. I believe the clutch gets heavier as it wears out, but it's gradual so you don't notice the transition until you replace it and see how light a new one is. I remember I stalled 3 times on the new clutch pulling out of the parking lot. It was freakishly light
ermax (05-18-2018)
Old 05-18-2018, 04:36 PM   #3
jcw99

Drives: swp mt '14 brz premium
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)