follow ft86club on our blog, twitter or facebook. Interested in the FT-1? Check out FT1Club
FT86CLUB
Ft86Club
ACE Headers
Register Garage Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   Scion FR-S Forum | Subaru BRZ Forum | Toyota 86 GT 86 Forum | AS1 Forum - FT86CLUB > Technical Topics > Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment

Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment Anything related to in-car electronics, navigation, and infotainment.


User Tag List

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2012, 04:25 PM   #35
SVXdc
Radio wiring harness guru
 
SVXdc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 1996 SVX L AWD
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 129
Thanks: 44
Thanked 69 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You don't need to mess with the ground lead on the 10-pin plug. You can simply connect the HU's parking brake lead to chassis ground -- use a screw on the rear or side of the HU.
__________________
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:17 PM   #36
xcelir8brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ Limited
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 45
Thanked 234 Times in 156 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
You can ground the wire to anything, I just liked to keep it clean on the 10-pin plug. No obstructions for sliding the HU back into the HU frame. A screw on the rear side of the HU may work, I couldn't do it on the side due to clearance issues.
xcelir8brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:20 PM   #37
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,044
Thanks: 18,616
Thanked 7,474 Times in 3,960 Posts
Mentioned: 420 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Ok. THanks for the input. I tried to the pink and didnt work, but nothing bad happened. Thanks for all coming to my rescue LOL...

I will try now to a screw. And report back. I took some pics, will upload later.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 05:25 PM   #38
xcelir8brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ Limited
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 45
Thanked 234 Times in 156 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Pin 7. I think is black off of ten pin harness.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
xcelir8brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 06:03 PM   #39
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,044
Thanks: 18,616
Thanked 7,474 Times in 3,960 Posts
Mentioned: 420 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Name:  IMAG0089.jpg
Views: 7894
Size:  168.1 KB

Name:  IMAG0091.jpg
Views: 4711
Size:  145.1 KB

Name:  IMAG0094.jpg
Views: 4918
Size:  135.6 KB

Name:  IMAG0098.jpg
Views: 4619
Size:  137.9 KB

Name:  IMAG0096.jpg
Views: 4651
Size:  196.9 KB

I tired one of the bolts that holds the Unit, no dice. Still blocks out phone functions like dial pad dialing. Tried that screw on the last picture, no dice either.... The ground on the 10 pin connector, I need to cut it then connect with the gray one?

Last edited by Sportsguy83; 07-04-2012 at 10:41 PM.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Sportsguy83 For This Useful Post:
BRZranger (10-06-2012), SVXdc (07-03-2012)
Old 07-03-2012, 06:19 PM   #40
xcelir8brz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Drives: 2013 BRZ Limited
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,042
Thanks: 45
Thanked 234 Times in 156 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
cut the grey wire. tape the side going to the front of the car. with the grey wire hanging from the connector, add a wire to that grey wire and solder/tape. next, take the end of the new wire and ground it to 10 pin connector, pin 7 (on your car it looks like a pink wire), on my BRZ, I think it was black. you can also tell if the grounding works by going to the diagnostics menu under settings, and watch the screen with (r)everse, (p)ark, etc.

You can also find a screw on the back of the headunit, and ground the grey wire there. It needs Chassis ground. OR add a really long wire and find a nut/bolt on the car somewhere behind a panel and ground it there.

Where you ground it is not chassis ground (left of head unit nut) image 98.jpg.


10-pin power/speaker harness
1 2 - - 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10
(orientation: viewing pins on car's factory plug, wires pointed away from you)

Code:
1 RF+
2 LF+
3 +12V Accessory
4 +12V Battery/Constant
5 RF-
6 LF-
7 Ground
8 Power Antenna (provides power to Subaru's antenna booster amp)
9 [NC] {amp remote turn-on signal on Toyota HUs, not Subaru}
10 Illumination+

Last edited by xcelir8brz; 07-04-2012 at 11:33 AM.
xcelir8brz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 06:31 PM   #41
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,044
Thanks: 18,616
Thanked 7,474 Times in 3,960 Posts
Mentioned: 420 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Ill try later on and keep posted
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 08:20 PM   #42
SVXdc
Radio wiring harness guru
 
SVXdc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 1996 SVX L AWD
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 129
Thanks: 44
Thanked 69 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sportsguy83 View Post
[pictures]

I tired one of the bolts that holds the Unit, no dice. ... Tried that screw on the last picture, no dice either.
Yeah, screws that go into plastic won't work.


Thanks for posting those pictures! Looks like the radio in your BRZ has leads for both power antenna control and amplifier control on the 10-pin harness, and no power antenna wire on the HU's antenna socket.

What is the model number printed on the front of your HU?

Can you take a picture of the top, showing the manufacturer's label? (that will have several model numbers and an FCC ID).
__________________
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:17 PM   #43
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,044
Thanks: 18,616
Thanked 7,474 Times in 3,960 Posts
Mentioned: 420 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
I figured as much on the screws, but I said what the heck, I don't see any close by so I'll use them :-) I'll continue tomorrow and will take the pictures.


Thank you guys for real, and pardon my ignorance
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 11:57 PM   #44
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,044
Thanks: 18,616
Thanked 7,474 Times in 3,960 Posts
Mentioned: 420 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVXdc View Post
Yeah, screws that go into plastic won't work.


Thanks for posting those pictures! Looks like the radio in your BRZ has leads for both power antenna control and amplifier control on the 10-pin harness, and no power antenna wire on the HU's antenna socket.

What is the model number printed on the front of your HU?

Can you take a picture of the top, showing the manufacturer's label? (that will have several model numbers and an FCC ID).
So David, (I'm David too by the way!).

You can confirm that my ground is the pink cable? I will first try to find a ground screw in the area. If not, I'm hooking it up to the ground on the 10 pin. Initially I did not cut the pink cable and connected the gray cable with it, I just put the gray cable on the connector connector and apparently it did not do a good connection. I used to have a multimeter to check the ground location but I misplaced it and have not needed it since. I'll buy one tomorrow.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 04:51 AM   #45
SVXdc
Radio wiring harness guru
 
SVXdc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 1996 SVX L AWD
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 129
Thanks: 44
Thanked 69 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sportsguy83 View Post
You can confirm that my ground is the pink cable?
You're reading the pin numbers mirrored left/right.

The layout in my pin-out post from NASIOC (which xcelir8brz pasted) is looking at the side of the plug with the contact terminals -- the side that plugs into the radio.

Your picture 0091 is looking at the back -- the wires side. Pin 1 is the white wire. Pink is pin 8 (power antenna control). Pin 7 is the ground, black with blue stripe, between the pink and the yellow.

In your picture 0098 there's a nice screw on the top of the HU that should work.
__________________
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 05:47 AM   #46
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,044
Thanks: 18,616
Thanked 7,474 Times in 3,960 Posts
Mentioned: 420 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Thanks again. I'll report back today with pictures and results.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 01:03 PM   #47
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,044
Thanks: 18,616
Thanked 7,474 Times in 3,960 Posts
Mentioned: 420 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Just an update. For the purpose of what I needed, it did not work. Full Phone functions are apparently tied either to the speed sensor or Gps speed. I tried everything including the ground on the other plug unsuccessfully. I will post pictures when I get to a computer later tonight.
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:47 PM   #48
Sportsguy83
I Love custom Turbo kits
 
Sportsguy83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Drives: Limited BRZ
Location: Miami
Posts: 10,044
Thanks: 18,616
Thanked 7,474 Times in 3,960 Posts
Mentioned: 420 Post(s)
Tagged: 12 Thread(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by SVXdc View Post
What is the model number printed on the front of your HU?

Can you take a picture of the top, showing the manufacturer's label? (that will have several model numbers and an FCC ID).
Here are the requested pictures.

Name:  IMAG0102.jpg
Views: 2589
Size:  125.5 KB

Name:  IMAG0106.jpg
Views: 2607
Size:  338.2 KB
Sportsguy83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 03:55 PM   #49
noonanbobby
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Drives: 2012 Subaru STI
Location: Florida
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
VSS switch

Same unit in my '12 STI. So you think this is tied to either the VSS or GPS sensor? I read a post that a guy had a switch installed that bypassed the VSS...which apparently worked:

http://www.iwsti.com/forums/gr-ice-s...ml#post3555270

(it's the 3rd post from the bottom)

Anyways, I'm hoping that someone might have a better understanding of how to do this...I sure as hell didn't.
noonanbobby is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to noonanbobby For This Useful Post:
Sportsguy83 (07-05-2012)
Old 07-05-2012, 05:09 PM   #50
fmsida
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 2013 DGM BRZ
Location: H-town, TX
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Thanked 49 Times in 34 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by noonanbobby View Post
Same unit in my '12 STI. So you think this is tied to either the VSS or GPS sensor? I read a post that a guy had a switch installed that bypassed the VSS...which apparently worked:

http://www.iwsti.com/forums/gr-ice-s...ml#post3555270

(it's the 3rd post from the bottom)

Anyways, I'm hoping that someone might have a better understanding of how to do this...I sure as hell didn't.

They used a diode to send current in one direction but not the other. I am assuming the switch is what "turns on" the diode, which then prevents the Head Unit from receiving a signal that the car is in motion, thus being able to play video while moving faster than 3 mph.

There is more than one type of diode and the person in that posted linked did not mentioned what type of diode the installers used. Our best bet would be to get in touch with that person who got his equipment installed professionally.

Once we know what type of diode was used, then everything gets simpler from there.
fmsida is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fmsida For This Useful Post:
Sportsguy83 (07-05-2012)
Old 07-06-2012, 05:20 AM   #51
SVXdc
Radio wiring harness guru
 
SVXdc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Drives: 1996 SVX L AWD
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 129
Thanks: 44
Thanked 69 Times in 33 Posts
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sportsguy83 View Post
Here are the requested pictures.
...
Thanks!

Model numbers are different, but FCC ID is same as in 2012 Impreza. Means they're using the same BT module with a single FCC approval (not uncommon practice). Unfortunately, that means we won't get any new pictures or documents from the FCC's site for these HUs in other cars.


Quote:
Originally Posted by noonanbobby View Post
Same unit in my '12 STI.
The various Fujitsu Ten nav units (2012-up Impreza, 2012-up Forester, 2013 BRZ, 2013 FR-S) all look very similar, but they all have different model numbers and a few subtle differences when you look close.


Quote:
Originally Posted by fmsida View Post
[The shop who modded the FT nav in a 2012 STi] used a diode to send current in one direction but not the other. I am assuming the switch is what "turns on" the diode, which then prevents the Head Unit from receiving a signal that the car is in motion, thus being able to play video while moving faster than 3 mph.
I'm not sure why you would need a diode. You should be able to just cut the VSS wire going into the HU. If you want a switch, wire that between the cuts.

As I said earlier, we need someone to try simply unplugging the factory 28-pin harness and see if that disables the lockouts.

So is video display the only thing that the parking brake lead disables/enables?
__________________
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SVXdc For This Useful Post:
Sportsguy83 (07-06-2012)
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.