Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Mechanical Maintenance (Oil, Fluids, Break-In, Servicing) (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=41)
-   -   Long-term effects of E85 (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=124769)

supercommode 01-18-2018 03:38 PM

Long-term effects of E85

I recently installed headers and the OFT with a tune for E85. I've read conflicting articles on how E85 is good/bad for your engine. I was wondering if anyone has had any problems with long-term usage of E85 in the FA20 motor. I like the power gain (~15HP) and cheaper price than 93 octane. However, I'm worried that over the long haul I won't get the miles out of my engine. Any input is appreciated.

reeves 01-18-2018 04:57 PM

No problems so far with E85 for me, I've been filling up with E85 8-9 months out of the year for 4 years now. I've ran everything from E60 to E85. I don't track or race, just alot of spirited driving (especially when it rains/snows :D).
I drive between 3K and 5K rpm mostly, and redline at 8K rpm!

I have a custom tune using Ecutek though, don't have any experience with OFT. But if you have a good tune, you're good for years to come. The only maintenance I've done for the engine is oil/filter & spark plugs. Plugs were fine when changed at 69K miles too. Haven't changed the fuel filter yet, but I'm not worried about it.

Grady 01-19-2018 10:46 AM

Long term usage of E85 has been proven to reduce Depression. It will aslo increase Happiness, and well being!

8RZ 01-19-2018 11:03 AM

I doubt it's an issue for modern cars since gas has had small amounts of ethanol in it for years now. Older cars were not designed to run it so I've heard fuel line and pump issues but that's all moot now.

housecat 01-19-2018 11:35 AM