Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tracking / Autocross / HPDE / Drifting (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   New to Autocross - What Class? (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=125989)

RJasonKlein 03-11-2018 12:16 AM

New to Autocross - What Class?

I built a fun warm weather street car, but would finally like to take the plunge and go racing. I have some prior DE track day experience, but have never tried autocrossing and don’t really know where to start - it would be great if some of you experienced gurus could point me in the right direction and tell me how you got started. My car is pretty heavily modified and I’m sure that will kick me into an advanced class, but I’m not looking to wage a season-long campaign and am really only interested in gaining experience, having fun, and meeting some cool people. I won’t go into a whole lot more detail now, but assume that we’ll have some good dialogue as the thread takes shape.

Here’s a list of my current mods - please look them over and let me know your thoughts on the right class for me and provide a few words of sage advice:
  • ACE 4-2-1 Type-A 350 equal length header (ceramic thermal coated)
  • Motiv catted front pipe (ceramic thermal coated)
  • Blitz Nür Spec R stainless steel exhaust
  • EcuTek Pro ECU programming and datalogging kit
  • Delicious Tuning - ECU reflash/stage 2
  • Weir Performance 4.56:1 ring and pinion
  • Velox Motorsports carbon fiber driveshaft
  • OS Giken 1.5-way LSD
  • RAYS Gramlights 57Xtreme 18" x 8.5" +42 wheels
  • RAYS Duralumin black lug nuts
  • Maxxis RC-1 235/40ZR18 tires
  • ARP wheel studs
  • Raceseng cam plate
  • Vorshlag Motorsports camber plates
  • Vorshlag Motorsports rear upper shock mounts with radial bearings
  • MCS 1WNR single adjustable coilovers