Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cosmetic Modification (Interior/Exterior/Lighting) (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   Aftermarket Steering Wheel - Do i need a Boss Hub Kit and a Quick Release? (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=100223)

MDS86 01-18-2016 08:09 PM

Aftermarket Steering Wheel - Do i need a Boss Hub Kit and a Quick Release?

My friend is selling me his Nardi steering wheel and I'm looking at getting a Works Bell Short Boss Hub, but I'm not sure if I need a quick release or not? I'm pretty new to cars but love the look of the Nardi steering wheel, please let me know what the benefits of a quick release are, thanks!

adamg 01-18-2016 09:00 PM

don't need a quick release.

MDS86 01-18-2016 09:02 PM

Thanks for that! Was freaking out because I didn't want to dish out another 350 bucks, but what function does the quick release serve? Would I be better off in the long run with one?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ryoma 01-18-2016 09:04 PM

when will you ever need to take off your steering wheel quickly? lol. only reason I can think of is for a show car to hang off their rear view for that race car look

MDS86 01-18-2016 09:05 PM

That's what I thought but I wasn't sure if there was another reason for it. Thanks for that!

ZOMFGAARON 01-18-2016 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MDS86 (Post 2513758)
Thanks for that! Was freaking out because I didn't want to dish out another 350 bucks, but what function does the quick release serve? Would I be better off in the long run with one?

Makes it easier to get in and out of bucket seats.

MDS86 01-18-2016 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ZOMFGAARON (Post 2513769)
Makes it easier to get in and out of bucket seats.

Is it still going to be an issue with a short hub?

ZOMFGAARON 01-18-2016 09:08 PM