Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Engine, Exhaust, Transmission (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Ceramic Coating on Header? (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=67131)

ELutz04 06-02-2014 11:20 AM

Ceramic Coating on Header?

Hey guys,

So every time I'd look around for a ceramic coating debate, it always turns into people talking about why wrapping your headers are bad because it can start a fire.

I really have no interest in wrapping the headers, but I am about to order FA20Club catted UEL header. I want to know if it is really necessary to get the ceramic coating (for an additional $175 and ~2 weeks delay on shipping). I honestly don't care much for looks, and I don't drive my car all that hard. I am a pretty typical daily driver; I don't race, and I don't go on the track. I do, however, plan on keeping this car for a very long time, so I'd like all the parts to last.

Last question, and this is more ignorance than anything, but what are the gaskets? FA20Club offers gaskets for an additional $20.

Thanks!

Eric

Malt 06-02-2014 11:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ELutz04 (Post 1772920)
Hey guys,

So every time I'd look around for a ceramic coating debate, it always turns into people talking about why wrapping your headers are bad because it can start a fire.

I really have no interest in wrapping the headers, but I am about to order FA20Club catted UEL header. I want to know if it is really necessary to get the ceramic coating (for an additional $175 and ~2 weeks delay on shipping). I honestly don't care much for looks, and I don't drive my car all that hard. I am a pretty typical daily driver; I don't race, and I don't go on the track. I do, however, plan on keeping this car for a very long time, so I'd like all the parts to last.