Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Engine, Exhaust, Transmission (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Cracking Header (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121986)

djghez 09-14-2017 02:04 PM

Cracking Header

1 Attachment(s)
Hello All,
This is my first time posting but I've tried going through all the trends for help but have not found what I'm looking for.
I have a supercharged BRZ and keep getting cracks in my header. First header was a Borla UEL which cracked once, I welded it and then cracked in another spot. I then cracked the stock header and then an Invidia header.
I'm trying to find a better header that has a thicker gage wall, 304 or better stainless steel, TIG welded and back purged but its hard to find info on these headers without just buying and seeing the parts.
Does anyone have recommendations on better headers or a way to prevent cracking? Side Note - I have added panels to protect my header from water but there is just as much airflow so the header can cool properly. I also have not used exhaust wrap.
Any help would be greatly appreciated especially that I'm spending way too much on headers.

celek 09-14-2017 02:16 PM

This is what people get with inexpensive parts.
I am not mocking you BTW just stating a fact.
Yes they are sub $700 headers but you have already had to buy 2 instead of 1 at the same cost

I would recommend Tomei, JDL, ACE, Nameless they are a quality part

CSG Mike 09-14-2017 02:27 PM

How are your EGTs?

djghez 09-14-2017 02:39 PM

celek - Ill definately take a look at the brands you suggested.
CSG Mike - I have not tried measuring the temps.

strat61caster 09-14-2017 04:21 PM

Out of curiosity what are the engine mods?