Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   BRZ First-Gen (2012+) -- General Topics (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   2018 cold shifting (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138823)

konahic 02-02-2020 10:03 PM

2018 cold shifting

Howdy y'all, I have a 2018 BRZ Ts with about 4K miles on it. I got it used with 3K on it. When its cold it really doesn't want to go into 2nd gear. It takes about 15 minutes & 5 miles of driving before it gets easier. I live in Hawaii where its 68 degrees at 6am in January. So, freezing temps aren't an issue. I'm curious if anyone else has experienced this.
Back in the mid 80's when I was a Mercedes technician, we would put Redline MTL Fluid in 300E's to make them shift when it was cold. Anyone try that?
Any help/thoughts are greatly appreciated, Kato

StraightOuttaCanadaEh 02-02-2020 10:31 PM

Yes.

Keep changing trans fluid til the problem goes away. For me 2-3 flushes did it. Tried Redline and Motul. For me personally Redline was better. Motul is best once the car is warmed up but not the best while it’s warming up.

Mr.ac 02-03-2020 12:05 AM

Well I woundn't won't that particular oil weight, but I would put the recommended oil weight from Redline.

It helps, but it's still a few 5-10 minutes from a cold start that the shift feel nocthy at lest 1&2nd are.

JIM THEO 02-03-2020 03:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by konahic (Post 3296273)
Howdy y'all, I have a 2018 BRZ Ts with about 4K miles on it. I got it used with 3K on it. When its cold it really doesn't want to go into 2nd gear. It takes about 15 minutes & 5 miles of driving before it gets easier. I live in Hawaii where its 68 degrees at 6am in January. So, freezing temps aren't an issue. I'm curious if anyone else has experienced this.