Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Electronics | Audio | NAV | Infotainment (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   LoJack and other related security measures (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4006)

Zgrinch 03-03-2012 09:39 AM

LoJack and other related security measures

Given the limited supply of the BRZ, and maybe the FRS (unknown at this point), I think these cars to be a high target for car thieves.

What is your opinion of LoJack or other security solutions you are considering ?

I am a novice in these matters, but from my initial google search on LoJack, it appears to be very effective and is around $700 or so.

Your thoughts........

MannyO 03-03-2012 09:45 AM

I've had LoJack in all my cars so far. I realize its a bit pricey, but the peace of mind is nice.

thermobox 03-03-2012 10:02 AM

A lock is only as good as the thief and will keep an honest man honest. If they want your car, all they need is a flatbed.

neutron256 03-03-2012 11:35 AM

Factory ignition immobilizer is getting to be standard on all new cars and is bery effective. If a thief is sophisticated enough to bypass the immobilizer then ther isn't much else that's going to stop them.

carbonBLUE 03-03-2012 02:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by neutron256 (Post 147768)
Factory ignition immobilizer is getting to be standard on all new cars and is bery effective. If a thief is sophisticated enough to bypass the immobilizer then ther isn't much else that's going to stop them.

or you can rig the car with explosives, if it starts and moves more than a mile from your keyless fob, it blows up...

MannyO 03-03-2012 02:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by carbonBLUE (Post 147875)
or you can rig the car with explosives, if it starts and moves more than a mile from your keyless fob, it blows up...