Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB

Toyota GR86, 86, FR-S and Subaru BRZ Forum & Owners Community - FT86CLUB (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/index.php)
-   Software Tuning (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=88)
-   -   Can I use OFT on *top* of ECUTek? Software guru needed! (https://www.ft86club.com/forums/showthread.php?t=134024)

Scremin@ATS 04-11-2019 11:20 AM

Can I use OFT on *top* of ECUTek? Software guru needed!

Sorry if this is confusing - I've tried to be as detailed as possible. I am brand new to Subaru ECUs but run MOTEC/LINK/APEXI etc in my older Toyotas. I'm trying to learn the jargain and capabilities of these new ECUs.

So I have a 2015 FRS that is/was running an OFT tune.

I just upgraded to a 2017 BRZ and transferred all my mods over to that car. I now need to move the OFT from the FRS to the BRZ ECU.

However, to throw in a twist, the 2017 came preloaded with ECUTek software. The previous owner of the 2017 said he flashed the ECUTek ROM back to stock.

I've read here I can't really unlatch the ECUTek from the 2017 BRZ ECU. Can I load an OFT tune onto it when it already has an ECUTek License/ROM?

How do I "unlatch" the OFT software/hardware from the 2015 FRS ECU? :bonk:

tomm.brz 04-12-2019 01:45 AM

Why don't you take advanced of the ecutek license you already have? since it costs 300 bucks
if you marry OFT and flash with it, you loose ecutek license forever

to unmarry OFT from frs anyway you must flash back stock tune from first slot with it to frs

steve99 04-12-2019 03:25 AM

as above

if the owner flashed back a stock ecutek tune to car then oft will read rom and you can write over it.

flashing stock ecutek tune unlocks ecu but leaves licience in ecu.

If owner left ecutek tune in car then ecu will be locked and oft wont read or write

but your wasting an ecutek licience

might be worth selling you oft unmarried and buying an ecutek cable

DarkPira7e 04-13-2019 09:32 AM